Many CPF investors get their fingers burnt

Don't trust Insurance Agent...

They prolly push funds which give them the biggest commission.

My DIY fund investment has done very well.

Avoid Insurer's fund! Most are feeder funds anyway and the fees add up very substantially.

Must well you DIY at FSM. Follow the annual recommendations, chances of making $$$ higher.

I used to invest in funds through FSM biut they increased their costs so moved over to Dollardex like many FSM investors.

I bought my whole life policy 25 years ago, the simulated breakeven year is 10. But, after 25 years, still cannot breakeven. :XD:

I see the insurer's statement every year, I feel so lousy.

Now I prefer to see my CPF annual statement. :grin:

Yeah man!!!!

I stupid go and buy some cpf funds from prudential

All lose money

Puiz

Now even got donno what fund kena delisted from cpf

Ask me want to transfer to other funds or not

I tell to get lost

Puiizzzzzz!!!!!! [thumbsdown]

Should have just left the money to earn the 4%

Knnbccb!!!!!!!!!!!! Arghhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!

[mad]

hahahahaha .... me too that's why I dun bother to read the report [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop] [laugh]

I stupid go and buy some cpf funds from prudential

All lose money

Puiz

Now even got donno what fund kena delisted from cpf

Ask me want to transfer to other funds or not

I tell to get lost

Puiizzzzzz!!!!!! [thumbsdown]

Should have just left the money to earn the 4%

Knnbccb!!!!!!!!!!!! Arghhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!

[mad]

Before i bought my current flat. I took around 20k out as contingency funds and put under investment. After around 4 years, found out the returns is less than OA rates. Did not make any losses but decide to put back to OA. I very ks one. Every 6 months will check the status. Initially lost around 2k, change the investment market and percent and manage to recover. All in all, i think put in oa or sa better. At least a peace of mind.

I never trust Unit Trust or funds. If anyone going to lose my money, it's going to be Mr Lim Peh. Only one person to be blamed.

I have been lucky, used CPF to buy several stocks. I have never sold but some companies were acquired and money auto returned to CPF. So far more money has been returned than taken out, but I still have a couple of counters unsold.

Wah.

Seems like you have a knack for choosing counters that are going to be acquired....

I bought some insurance, (Growth and Harvest) from NTUC, using CPF

They were the safest returns, although I had to surrender them prematurely bcuz I needed the money.

I didn't really check the figures, but roughly about 20 yrs, I got about double what I put in.

If it had sat in CPF acct, I'm not sure it will move that much.

If you're thinking about what to do with your CPF, I would recommend buying some form of insurance.

When you play with shares, even those so-called "blue-chips", you can also lose money.

Unless you're some sort of expert at playing shares.

I bought some insurance, (Growth and Harvest) from NTUC, using CPF

They were the safest returns, although I had to surrender them prematurely bcuz I needed the money.

I didn't really check the figures, but roughly about 20 yrs, I got about double what I put in.

If it had sat in CPF acct, I'm not sure it will move that much.

If you're thinking about what to do with your CPF, I would recommend buying some form of insurance.

When you play with shares, even those so-called "blue-chips", you can also lose money.

Unless you're some sort of expert at playing shares.

What you are saying is all ma hou pao.

Just because you made 1x your return doesn't mean that there is no risk of losing money as @mustank can attest. Unless you are telling me that your "insurance" returns is all guaranteed returns? Btw, I put it in "" because this is not insurance. It is an investment policy being sold by insurance companies under the guise that it is insurance.

So if we've established that it isn't risk free, then you should not compare it with the returns that you could have had from stocks over that same twenty years. I do not think a simple basket of 50-50 still etf and Dow etf would have done any worse over the same time period.

Same goes for CPF. Whatever you get is risk free so the returns cannot be compared with risky investments directly(at least not without accounting for risk). I'm also sure the actual returns on your cpf exceeded 100% over the same twenty years (it just didn't go into your account).

Tldr: don't buy "insurance" unless you are looking to bed your agent.

I bought my whole life policy 25 years ago, the simulated breakeven year is 10. But, after 25 years, still cannot breakeven. :XD:

I see the insurer's statement every year, I feel so lousy.

Now I prefer to see my CPF annual statement. :grin:

See lah, don't heed the advice of Lim swee say

Go and listen to insurance agent

What you are saying is all ma hou pao.

Just because you made 1x your return doesn't mean that there is no risk of losing money as @mustank can attest. Unless you are telling me that your "insurance" returns is all guaranteed returns? Btw, I put it in "" because this is not insurance. It is an investment policy being sold by insurance companies under the guise that it is insurance.

So if we've established that it isn't risk free, then you should not compare it with the returns that you could have had from stocks over that same twenty years. I do not think a simple basket of 50-50 still etf and Dow etf would have done any worse over the same time period.

Same goes for CPF. Whatever you get is risk free so the returns cannot be compared with risky investments directly(at least not without accounting for risk). I'm also sure the actual returns on your cpf exceeded 100% over the same twenty years (it just didn't go into your account).

Tldr: don't buy "insurance" unless you are looking to bed your agent.

I think the gripe ppl have with the risk free cpf return is that we are lending it at low cost to the state for very risky investments

Try asking banks if they would lend U money at 4% to go play UBS stocks

I think the gripe ppl have with the risk free cpf return is that we are lending it at low cost to the state for very risky investments

Try asking banks if they would lend U money at 4% to go play UBS stocks ðð

Should have listen to the Govt

And not Insurance Agent some where :(

Puiiiizzzzz

Should have listen to the Govt

And not Insurance Agent some where :(

Puiiiizzzzz

Not insurance agent then who? Those bank officers who harass old uncle and auntie when they come in to make a deposit? My MIL kanna before!~

Now my wife and I have to accompany her to the bank every single time she needs to change FD or whatever.

Wah lau, you accountant still kanna cheated like this? What hope do those bo tak chey non-professional fellows like me have?

Try asking banks if they would lend U money at 4% to go play UBS stocks

Edited by Kusje

Not insurance agent then who? Those bank officers who harass old uncle and auntie when they come in to make a deposit? My MIL kanna before!~

Now my wife and I have to accompany her to the bank every single time she needs to change FD or whatever.

Wah lau, you accountant still kanna cheated like this? What hope do those bo tak chey non-professional fellows like me have?

It's risk free to you lor.

Whether they lose money or not, they will still pay you right? At most print more and devalue the currency hehe.

Really is dman fed up with this shit

Wasted my money :(

Really should have trusted the Govt

CPF money is CPF money.

Just leave it there. Dont Play with it

I am so happy to leave it there.

CPF is one of the best things for Singaporeans.

I LoVE CPF.

Edited by Throttle2

actually it seems like most folks here have rather low risk appetite.

why never go for the govt savings bond?

very safe. and returns are decent.

Take risk elsewhere, not with CPF money

How many million dollars u spend on property le ð³

only bought 1 peasant hdb from govt