SSD upgrades other PC/laptop issues interest thread

I get the reply from eSupport. A WTF answer!!!

Thank you for using BIOSAgentPlus. The BIOS update experts since 1990.

BIOSAgentPlus located a BIOS update for a similar model of your computer. However, upon further review, our BIOS update team has determined that the BIOS version currently installed on your PC is the most up to date BIOS available.

As a BIOSAgentPlus subscriber, your computer is now scheduled for update notices. When a BIOS update is available, you will be notified. You can also check back from time to time for free BIOS updates.

They tricked me into subscribing their software and now tell me my BIOS installed is the most updated one!!! :omg:

KNN should have trusted Lenovo Utiliies whom scanned and reported no BIOS update. There goes my $42 for nothing. My IT fren is right. [bigcry]

On 6/22/2015 at 7:06 AM, Adrianli said:

I asked my IT fren for advise. He told me to cut my losses and just dump that stupid laptop.

The bios upgrade might not read the SSD. As there might be no further update to my old bios.

So far I spent $159 for the SSD. $29 for the USB-SATA enclosure. $42 for the bios. KNN. [knife][bigcry]

sell me the ssd? provided it works on mine! Ha!

  On 6/22/2015 at 8:28 AM, Adrianli said:

They tricked me into subscribing their software and now tell me my BIOS installed is the most updated one!!! :omg:

KNN should have trusted Lenovo Utiliies whom scanned and reported no BIOS update. There goes my $42 for nothing. My IT fren is right. [bigcry]

http://biosagentplus.com/support/refund

say the result did not match and ask for your $ back.

On 6/22/2015 at 8:29 AM, Wildfaye29 said:

sell me the ssd? provided it works on mine! Ha!

Selling as a set.

SSD - $159

USB-SATA enclosure - $29

BIOSAgentPlus one year subscription - $42

Total - $230 no split sales.

You interested, PM me.

I am done with SSD upgrade on my old laptop. :a-no:

  On 6/22/2015 at 8:35 AM, Adrianli said:

Selling as a set.

SSD - $159

USB-SATA enclosure - $29

BIOSAgentPlus one year subscription - $42

Total - $230 no split sales.

You interested, PM me.

I am done with SSD upgrade on my old laptop. :a-no:

Have you tried reinserting the SSD ?

Look carefully, for there might be some pins or clips or something not holding it firmly to the connector.

On 6/22/2015 at 8:39 AM, Shull said:

Nope. My Lenovo Y300 is not stated inside.

On 6/22/2015 at 8:41 AM, Kb27 said:

Have you tried reinserting the SSD ?

Look carefully, for there might be some pins or clips or something not holding it firmly to the connector.

Friday, in-out three times.

Saturday, in-out four times.

Sunday, in-out four times.

Today, not yet in-out.

The HDD slot is idiot proof. There is only one way in or out and there are securing screws to tighten to ensure it seats in place. There is no pins, just two rows of connectors.

  On 6/22/2015 at 8:15 AM, RadX said:

Har? Mine on board 4gb

Add 1 more 8gb stik become 12gb

Mine t420s

Dunno leh... The tech spec for T420 said max 8GB so I'm not sure it will support anything more than that. If can... I'll shoot it up to 16GB :grin:

  On 6/22/2015 at 7:56 AM, Vid said:

Got 2 slots. Mine all used up and only got 2x 2gb. I plan to upgrade to 2x 4gb so need to access the one under the keyboard.

me too looking at this ram for my T410...

http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-1333mhz-PC3-10666-204-pin-CMSO8GX3M2A1333C9/dp/B002YUF8ZG/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1434963183&sr=8-3&keywords=corsair+PC3-8500+sodimm

  On 6/22/2015 at 9:01 AM, Vid said:

I was checking out this one from HP. Cheap cheap... just need to buy 2.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0030L3B8E?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_1&smid=A3LKWIQ3PBTNT2

wah.. so cheap... dont know leh... i learn from my younger days when i build my own computer and overclocked, i trusted corsair ram only ..hehehe.... maybe corsair is overkill for my old T410 hor.... [laugh]

  On 6/22/2015 at 9:04 AM, Blackyv said:

wah.. so cheap... dont know leh... i learn from my younger days when i build my own computer and overclocked, i trusted corsair ram only ..hehehe.... maybe corsair is overkill for my old T410 hor.... [laugh]

Old laptop no need so good stuff lah. Cheap cheap will do. My PC will use corsair and all other good parts :D

On 6/22/2015 at 2:08 AM, Lala81 said:

2007 may not be able.

Most laptops with 15" screens and more powerful graphics card need a big adaptor.

Quite common with all gaming laptops.

True... but it needn't be that big. The laptop I got immediately after that Fujitsu was a Toshiba Satellite Pro that came with an even more powerful GPU... running a 15" screen but with even better resolution... and it came with a smaller power adapter...

  On 6/22/2015 at 8:28 AM, Adrianli said:

Sorry to hear about your troubles... I too have lost crazy weekends trying to fix a computer about something small and it ends up with a complete wipe and reinstall...

Regarding your subscription... I see a couple of big issues... first things first...

- If you paid by credit card... I would be greatly worried about how it will be misused... don't think about the $42/-... think about the credit limit... call the credit card company and cover your arse

- letting some random company install a backdoor to scan my computer is a big no no... you have no idea what they can do now.

If you can install your HDD... install it... and wipe that software from your machine. If you can't get into cos the windows profile is fcked up... than see if you can create another admin user and than wipe that POS from your machine.

You said you already cloned your HDD to SSD. So your files are safe... as you said you can access them using the enclosure... USB -> SATA

Edited by ins1dious

  On 6/22/2015 at 9:24 AM, ins1dious said:

True... but it needn't be that big. The laptop I got immediately after that Fujitsu was a Toshiba Satellite Pro that came with an even more powerful GPU... running a 15" screen but with even better resolution... and it came with a smaller power adapter...

This is the size of my laptop power adaptor, compared to the size of a 2.5" Portable HDD.

Specs for laptop is i7-4710HQ and GTX 850M..

post-15577-0-70860300-1434965502_thumb.jpg

On 6/22/2015 at 9:33 AM, Shull said:

This is the size of my laptop power adaptor, compared to the size of a 2.5" Portable HDD.

Around there. The higher end GPUs all need big power bricks.

On 6/22/2015 at 9:33 AM, Shull said:

That pic and complaint was from a laptop purchased in early-2003... things are a lot smaller nowadays :)