Adrianli Hypersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:26 AM, Sp4wn said: if you tell me you never search ... you must be Pinocchio ! lmao first time i heard of sata cant read ssd. very strange. cant be connector worn out also since old hdd can support. power also cant be, since ssd uses less power than traditional. @adrianli the ssd can work with usb? what if you received a dud ssd? The SSD is working. I used it to clone the laptop HDD liao. I used my other laptop, also can read the SSD and see the files inside. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 22, 2015 Author Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:32 AM, Adrianli said: The SSD is working. I used it to clone the laptop HDD liao. I used my other laptop, also can read the SSD and see the files inside. common problem bro...check this http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1875012/ssd-showing-computer.html https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Lenovo-P-Y-and-Z-series/Y560-Can-t-See-SSD-Drives/td-p/829941 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:31 AM, RadX said: hmmm...check the overall connectivity? Sth not right Connectivity should be working. Cos to install the SSD into the laptop, there are securing screws to hold it in place. The holes line up and screwed down when I did the swaps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:35 AM, Adrianli said: Connectivity should be working. Cos to install the SSD into the laptop, there are securing screws to hold it in place. The holes line up and screwed down when I did the swaps. instead of cloning, wipe the hard disk to a clean state and try again (you dont have anything to lose) and see if that fixes it? (though i doubt it, but its probably the only thing you havent tried yet) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 22, 2015 Author Share June 22, 2015 http://www.pcworld.com/article/2048120/benchmarks-dont-lie-ssd-upgrades-deliver-huge-performance-gains.html On 6/22/2015 at 7:38 AM, Sp4wn said: instead of cloning, wipe the hard disk to a clean state and try again (you dont have anything to lose) and see if that fixes it? (though i doubt it, but its probably the only thing you havent tried yet) doubt will work. From what i gather, MB needs a hard reset from the lenovo folks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:33 AM, RadX said: common problem bro...check this http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1875012/ssd-showing-computer.html https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Lenovo-P-Y-and-Z-series/Y560-Can-t-See-SSD-Drives/td-p/829941 Looks like old Lenovo no like SATA III SSD. But Samsung say their EVO 850 is backward compatible to SATA and SATA II. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:18 AM, Adrianli said: Ya. I googled Phoenix Bios and it brought me to them. And their software scan detected a bios update is available. The other bro recommended Lenovo Utilities. It did not detect bios update available. Lets just see how long this eSupport guys get back to me. If paying $42 help me solve the bios issue and detect my SSD, i think worth it. Otherwise treat it as a lesson learned. Could be Samsung SSD not seated properly ? Check out this post http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/295102-32-dell-inspiron-bios-recognize-samsung Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 22, 2015 Author Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:41 AM, Adrianli said: Looks like old Lenovo no like SATA III SSD. But Samsung say their EVO 850 is backward compatible to SATA and SATA II. if u wan i hv a couple of crucials lying arnd. M4s, and even the old 1st gen... u can take and try. but seriously, this is how i learnt bro...the trials and configurations make you an excellent troiuble shooter to be able in the future to do a diagnosis and find the issues. I learnt all the way back from 286 days...can trouble shoot for 18 hrs....wah lieu... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:06 AM, Adrianli said: I asked my IT fren for advise. He told me to cut my losses and just dump that stupid laptop. The bios upgrade might not read the SSD. As there might be no further update to my old bios. So far I spent $159 for the SSD. $29 for the USB-SATA enclosure. $42 for the bios. KNN. I would say the same too. There's no point spending so much time on the thing anymore. Getting a 2nd hand laptop from Amazon like what @radx said is definitely better. He got the T410 for $180 and I got the T420 for $209. Add in a bit for shipping and still cheap. Well worth it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 22, 2015 Author Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:43 AM, Vid said: I would say the same too. There's no point spending so much time on the thing anymore. Getting a 2nd hand laptop from Amazon like what @radx said is definitely better. He got the T410 for $180 and I got the T420 for $209. Add in a bit for shipping and still cheap. Well worth it. urs come aldy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:44 AM, RadX said: urs come aldy? Yes. Got it last week. Changed to SSD but haven't upgrade RAM yet. Seems like need to dismantle quite a lot to reach the ram slot under the keyboard. Will do that when I'm free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 22, 2015 Author Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:46 AM, Vid said: Yes. Got it last week. Changed to SSD but haven't upgrade RAM yet. Seems like need to dismantle quite a lot to reach the ram slot under the keyboard. Will do that when I'm free. eh no lah...just a slot behind leh. I did that for my T420 too. Easy NO 4/6. ONE OF THM is BT modyule, the other is RAM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:43 AM, Vid said: I would say the same too. There's no point spending so much time on the thing anymore. Getting a 2nd hand laptop from Amazon like what @radx said is definitely better. He got the T410 for $180 and I got the T420 for $209. Add in a bit for shipping and still cheap. Well worth it. T800 got or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 22, 2015 Author Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:50 AM, Sp4wn said: T800 got or not? u eat corn ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 (edited) On 6/22/2015 at 7:52 AM, RadX said: u eat corn ah simi eat corn?? this week terminator genisys coming out ma. must spread the gospel of the terminator. Edited June 22, 2015 by Sp4wn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:49 AM, RadX said: eh no lah...just a slot behind leh. I did that for my T420 too. Easy NO 4/6. ONE OF THM is BT modyule, the other is RAM t420reR.jpg Got 2 slots. Mine all used up and only got 2x 2gb. I plan to upgrade to 2x 4gb so need to access the one under the keyboard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 22, 2015 Author Share June 22, 2015 On 6/22/2015 at 7:56 AM, Vid said: Got 2 slots. Mine all used up and only got 2x 2gb. I plan to upgrade to 2x 4gb so need to access the one under the keyboard. Har? Mine on board 4gb Add 1 more 8gb stik become 12gb Mine t420s Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged June 22, 2015 Share June 22, 2015 (edited) On 6/22/2015 at 8:15 AM, RadX said: Har? Mine on board 4gb Add 1 more 8gb stik become 12gb Mine t420s Mine also.. Originally 2x4GB.. i change 1 to 8GB.. total 12GB So now the bottleneck is on the HDD side.. Once SSD is in, it should fly!!! Edited June 22, 2015 by Shull ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...