Discussion for Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class

Dice

I went with the heart despite my brain and pocket screaming in protest.

the GLC :D.

on contrary no.....sometimes it is the overall package that seals the deal.. and in this case the GLC is a better overall package that speaks to me.

or maybe I am pissed that BM only offer me 1k more for a current lexus owner and that they low ball even their own lexus car trade in.... [:p]

[wave] lexus

oic, congrats! Did you wait more than 8 mths?

In my friend's case, Lexus offered a great trade in order to sweeten the deal. Year end liao, they need to chiong number so it's a good time to squeeze for more freebies.

Merc only offered just enough to cover outstanding loan, since the car will only come in May and they don't need to chiong for registration.

Same for me, Lexus gave me a much higher trade in compared to Subaru. It's not overtrade.

Whatever leather that the car comes in, just make sure they come fitted from factory. Locally fitted stuff are just not the same...

very very true. not only the quality of the leather but the fitment too.

only very very few shops take pride to do it well.

Waited 3 months till date...if my butt feel is right, there should be another 3-4mths to go given that MB started a second factory line dedicated to GLC production outside of Bremen, Germany starting 2017. That is why the waiting time has shorten gradually from the 1 yr initially.

Only consolation for the wait is that I get to option in the pano roof and amg line (the standard CnC exterior trim is the outdoor package trim with too much chrome front and back). Current buyers have to pick and choose from the models CnC pre-configured and on order from the factory, that explains the even shorter wait time.

Lexus NX the actual sale price has always been about 15-20K lower than GLC. BM can package this discount in various way, such as higher trade in or absolute discount from the listed price. When I was seriously considering NX before I test drove the GLC, I told the SE to give me the absolute final discounted price assuming I don't trade in my car. 

Cnc style is to put an absolute black and white figure on the OT and play around with lowballing your trade in price.

BM style is they tell you they don't do overtrades, but they will give you a trade in offer that is slightly above the other 2nd hand dealers' offer. To me it is just OT in disguise, just how you present it.

My advice for your friend (if he is still on the fence) will be to consider both cars on their own merits based on the final price and not to be confabulated by all the trade in/OT.

My final decision was easy when I ask myself this question: Will I be driving my NX/GLC and when I see another GLC/NX on the road, I will let go a sigh of regret?

oic, congrats! Did you wait more than 8 mths?

In my friend's case, Lexus offered a great trade in order to sweeten the deal. Year end liao, they need to chiong number so it's a good time to squeeze for more freebies.

Merc only offered just enough to cover outstanding loan, since the car will only come in May and they don't need to chiong for registration.

Same for me, Lexus gave me a much higher trade in compared to Subaru. It's not overtrade.

Thanks bro! can't praise you again so I'll give you 500 points here.

It's Pretty spot on. Was at both C&C and BM just yesterday so I remember the differences.

As a Lexus owner myself, I prefer the NX for its luxury and high specs which contribute to the overall luxurious feel. Looks wise, it's ok but will be great if it's wider.

The GLC looks damn good from the outside in AMG kit trim, which makes me continuously want to look at it. The interior is not bad, but doesn't feel as much luxurious. Artico is a let down. The glossy console is a fingerprint magnet. But the badge and current exclusivity makes it a worthwhile proposition too, along with potential resale.

Anyway it's my friend who is shortlisting this two. Will copy and paste ur post for him to read.

Oh ya, so I suppose u chose the NX?

He din like the female part front of the NX HAAAA

Hey! I din say that!

I like that part....just not that much... and in that application..... :D  :a-happy:

He din like the female part front of the NX HAAAA

Hey! I din say that!

I like that part....just not that much... and in that application..... :D:a-happy:

Lol

Waited 3 months till date...if my butt feel is right, there should be another 3-4mths to go given that MB started a second factory line dedicated to GLC production outside of Bremen, Germany starting 2017. That is why the waiting time has shorten gradually from the 1 yr initially.

Only consolation for the wait is that I get to option in the pano roof and amg line (the standard CnC exterior trim is the outdoor package trim with too much chrome front and back). Current buyers have to pick and choose from the models CnC pre-configured and on order from the factory, that explains the even shorter wait time.

Lexus NX the actual sale price has always been about 15-20K lower than GLC. BM can package this discount in various way, such as higher trade in or absolute discount from the listed price. When I was seriously considering NX before I test drove the GLC, I told the SE to give me the absolute final discounted price assuming I don't trade in my car.

Cnc style is to put an absolute black and white figure on the OT and play around with lowballing your trade in price.

BM style is they tell you they don't do overtrades, but they will give you a trade in offer that is slightly above the other 2nd hand dealers' offer. To me it is just OT in disguise, just how you present it.

My advice for your friend (if he is still on the fence) will be to consider both cars on their own merits based on the final price and not to be confabulated by all the trade in/OT.

My final decision was easy when I ask myself this question: Will I be driving my NX/GLC and when I see another GLC/NX on the road, I will let go a sigh of regret?

Yes like for like, one is gonna be spending a couple of 10Ks more on the GLC compared w NX but that's completely normal as the omv is higher, branding and such..but they are all good cars tbh, it's where yr heart leads u.

For me, after doing all homework n calculations, I'm glad I didn't go for the NX bcos upon seeing the GLC Coupe in real life, it gave me an astounding "IT'S ME" and fact is I don't like to wait so having an ex stock puts the stamp on the deal.

Trust me, Nx200t luxury is much cheaper... Talk to BM SE and you will get the actual selling price. You actually get more standard equipment in nx than the glc. To spec glc up to nx level... You can easily add another 15-20k on top of the base glc price. So not really a no brainer. Ultimately, the buyer will have to decide if he is willing to pay the premium for glc when nx makes more money sense.

Not for or against real leather but I can show you the state of the driver seat real factory leather from a 7yr old Lexus... Not pretty.

Synthetic leather has come a long way and maintenance has been proven to be much less demanding than genuine leather.

To me, I am ambivalent about real vs synthetic leather so not a real consideration when car shopping. Whatever leather that the car comes in, just make sure they come fitted from factory. Locally fitted stuff are just not the same...

I guess I'm peasant class, to me synthetic leather is good enough (locally/factory). Haha not say i sitting on my seat with a naked butt  [laugh]

More important is the cushioning of the seat.

synthetic leather last longer and easy to maintain compare to real leather - also depends what level of quality

the big question and hard to swallow is the price tag

let's say you buy a rolex and it uses ETA movement (sibei stable, sibei accurate, sibei cheap to repair/replace) but would you want? yes - then it's Tudor price not Rolex price

i dont mind synthetic leather. beside my wife know shit about leather. when there is good smell and no cumble she says wah the leather sibei tok kong ... lol

to me, I can find a better supported and cushioned driving position with the GLC seats than the NX seats, that is individual preference I guess........and I too like to drive with my pants on.... :D

I guess I'm peasant class, to me synthetic leather is good enough (locally/factory). Haha not say i sitting on my seat with a naked butt  [laugh]

synthetic leather last longer and easy to maintain compare to real leather - also depends what level of quality

let's say you buy a rolex and it uses ETA movement (sibei stable, sibei accurate, sibei cheap to repair/replace) but would you want? yes - then it's Tudor price not Rolex price

i dont mind synthetic leather. beside my wife know shit about leather. when there is good smell and no cumble she says wah the leather sibei tok kong ... lol

synthetic leather in our climate is actually better. the real leather cannot tahan the heat and humidity.

Based on my experiences, merc and bmw real leather is pretty thick and lasting, doesn't degrade much and retains its suppleness even after more than 5 years. Audi one cmi, thin and crumple very easily. 

GLC Coupe vs GLC ... which one? [confused]

it's a no brainer decision ehh? [laugh]

I'm short, and I don't ferry tall folks often. GLC Coupe is my choice based on looks alone :D

I guess I'm peasant class, to me synthetic leather is good enough (locally/factory). Haha not say i sitting on my seat with a naked butt [laugh]

Synthetic leather to me is ok for those parts where I don't sit on. "Half leather" as they call it.

The locally fitted real leather on my Alfa is still nice after 6 years cos I see the car often. The Volvo's leather also in excellent condition after 6 years.

To me, Volvo has the best seats among the contis in its class.

It's true. I don't mind if it's on bread and butter cars. Some synthetic leather is actually quite soft.

But synthetic leather on a luxury car, status tak match leh.

It's like putting zirconia on a rolex instead of real diamonds.

Today went down to V*ncar to check out the GLC &GLC coupe..

My dad like the glc250d coupe amg premium plus very much.. however still want to go down to c&c first to check out the price n promo. Downside is no test drive.. so wont knw how it really feels behind the wheels.

Warranty is by MBM Wheelpower.. i know they do servicing for alot of sports cars but since mercs is using a new 9-G gearbox, abit hesitant to go PI way.

Oh we also tested the lexus rx 2.0 turbo.. all i can say.. disappointed.

The car was lazy to move off (underpowered). Interior thou looks luxurious (alot of leather-stitched panels all around) but dont really give a luxury car feel (still lose to european makes in the "ohm" feeling..

Was sitting in the rear.. didnt feel like "oh dammit i want this car!" Dad also didnt like the drive.. the light weighted steering wheel just didnt feel right after driving a bmw for years

The conti (bmw/mercs) makes got ambience lighting at the doors, dashboard etc to make the car a more comfortable place to be in.

Too little time to try our makes since it started raining heavily..might see Volvo xc90 next.

Anyway dads f10 trade in price is quite sickening low.. so.. all these will need further consideration haha

Edited by Rayoflight

Today went down to V*ncar to check out the GLC &GLC coupe..

My dad like the glc250d coupe amg premium plus very much.. however still want to go down to c&c first to check out the price n promo. Downside is no test drive.. so wont knw how it really feels behind the wheels.

Warranty is by MBM Wheelpower.. i know they do servicing for alot of sports cars but since mercs is using a new 9-G gearbox, abit hesitant to go PI way.

Oh we also tested the lexus rx 2.0 turbo.. all i can say.. disappointed.

The car was lazy to move off (underpowered). Interior thou looks luxurious (alot of leather-stitched panels all around) but dont really give a luxury car feel (still lose to european makes in the "ohm" feeling..

Was sitting in the rear.. didnt feel like "oh dammit i want this car!" Dad also didnt like the drive.. the light weighted steering wheel just didnt feel right after driving a bmw for years

The conti (bmw/mercs) makes got ambience lighting at the doors, dashboard etc to make the car a more comfortable place to be in.

Too little time to try our makes since it started raining heavily..might see Volvo xc90 next.

Anyway dads f10 trade in price is quite sickening low.. so.. all these will need further consideration haha

C&C also no test drive. My take is if a car is available at AD, buy AD. warranty aside, if there's any recall in future, the AD car is covered.