Discussion for Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class

Dice

Just like why a 3 bedder condo in the same estate is more expensive than a 5 room flat. Different class (pun intended).

Anyway, more material used and more complex construction / setup for the GLC, if you want to hear something more sensible. Huge price gap is also partially because of the high vehicle taxes we are paying here.

actually, I also quite keen to find out, based on current GLC selling at C&C, do they offer MORE SAFETY features as "STANDRD" compared to standard C Klass 200/250? aka lane assist, blind spot, etc

does anyone know?

Just like why a 3 bedder condo in the same estate is more expensive than a 5 room flat. Different class (pun intended).

Anyway, more material used and more complex construction / setup for the GLC, if you want to hear something more sensible. Huge price gap is also partially because of the high vehicle taxes we are paying here.

Product differentiation.

More expensive = better product.

comparing condo vs hdb is more akin to comparing driving a Hyundai vs Mercz (no offense to Hyundai drivers, just for example nia).

The salesguy told me a GLC250 is basically a C class engine + interior transplanted into a SUV body. Unless there are extra features in a GLC, its kind of hard to fork out another $30k++ leh. Any bros can confirm if the GLC has features that are standard as compared to the c class?

As for rear wheel vs 4matic drive, will there be a major difference on Singapore road? 4matic drive also adds to fuel consumption right?

Edited by Hazardous

comparing condo vs hdb is more akin to comparing driving a Hyundai vs Mercz (no offense to Hyundai drivers, just for example nia).

The salesguy told me a GLC250 is basically a C class engine + interior transplanted into a SUV body. Unless there are extra features in a GLC, its kind of hard to fork out another $30k++ leh. Any bros can confirm if the GLC has features that are standard as compared to the c class?

As for rear wheel vs 4matic drive, will there be a major difference on Singapore road? 4matic drive also adds to fuel consumption right?

if do a fair comparison should be

C KLASS 250 ($223,888) vs GLC 250 ($220,888) - from SGCARMART ( I know this is not 100% but just a rough estimate for discussion)

not really fair to use C Klass 180 ($176,888) or C klass 200 ($207,888), different engine size

unless there are MAJOR difference in equipment specs, I think C&C price GLC fair against C KLASS 250

you can go other official MB website, and see how much they charge GLC compare to their sedan, normally it is higher ....

Edited by rickosw

the salesguy want to close you on c class la ... as simple as that ...

nego for a good price lor ... c class (2014) is old model liao ... LOL

The salesguy told me a GLC250 is basically a C class engine + interior transplanted into a SUV body.

Facelift model in the pipeline liao

not really OLD as OLD (end of life model) per se, but definitely due to FACE LIFT next year

CLA also face lift liao ...

but whether C klass face lift have real improvement in BHP / Torque or FC - is still a big unknown

Edited by rickosw

In most carmaker's dictionary when it comes to pricing:

Hatchback cheapest.. followed by sedan/saloon car, then SUV and lastly the sports cars.

But here normally HB more pricey than saloon eg Mz3, VW Golf/Jetta?

bro if you buy Mazda - hatchback is more expensive hor

i think subaru also

But here normally HB more pricey than saloon eg Mz3, VW Golf/Jetta?

MB: A class < B Class < C class < E class < GLC / GLE

Audi: A1 < A3 / A4 < Q5 < Q7

I am talking about the different models in the same brand. Of course not all carmakers follow this.

bro if you buy Mazda - hatchback is more expensive hor

i think subaru also

Not all the same mah..

VW Audi charge you lesser if you take the coupe version of the saloon.

But BMW / Merc charge you more for lesser doors.

Nonetheless, SUV usually more premium than hatchback / saloon.

Edited by Audi2016

Hi Guys,

I know it is not a good guide, but least some reference to look at for discussion

I remember clearly a few months back MB SUV really was selling much more than normal sedan (4 door) but i guess "senior management at Daimler" has change of direction for price

http://www.mbusa.com/mercedes/vehicles

right now same ! aka CLA = GLA, C CLASS = GLC !!!! (in terms of price in USD)

except for GLE selling just a tad lower than E CLASS

which brings me to the next big question? 

how will GLC COUPE be priced? i really dun know, but if looking at US website, GLE Coupe is selling at CLS COUPE price range...

too bad we dun have a CLC COUPE to cross reference to make a good calculated guess 

2 cents

if do a fair comparison should be

C KLASS 250 ($223,888) vs GLC 250 ($220,888) - from SGCARMART ( I know this is not 100% but just a rough estimate for discussion)

not really fair to use C Klass 180 ($176,888) or C klass 200 ($207,888), different engine size

unless there are MAJOR difference in equipment specs, I think C&C price GLC fair against C KLASS 250

you can go other official MB website, and see how much they charge GLC compare to their sedan, normally it is higher ....

Interestingly.. a little birdy once told me the c class engine is all the same, 180,200,250 is just the difference in tuning. Makes sense actually, can't expect MB to have a different production engine for each of their cars. Of course buying a 180 and tuning it to 250 would make c&c laugh at you when you try sending it in for servicing.

Edited by Hazardous

Interestingly.. a little birdy once told me the c class engine is all the same, 180,200,250 is just the difference in tuning. Makes sense actually, can't expect MB to have a different production engine for each of their cars. Of course buying a 180 and tuning it to 250 would make c&c laugh at you when you try sending it in for servicing.

Not sure about 200 and 250. But 180 is 1.6l engine while 200 and 250 is 2l engine.

Not too sure if tuning can increase engine cc......

Not sure about 200 and 250. But 180 is 1.6l engine while 200 and 250 is 2l engine.

haha, sounds like the little birdy pulled a fast one on me.  [:p]

Haha..

If can, please help me to tune V6 engine to V12 one...  :grin:  :grin:

some W204 C180 have 1.8L engine like the W204 C200 and C250

last time my 320i ... i put a ///M sticker straightaway soup up a puny IL4 to V8 ... :grin:

Haha..

If can, please help me to tune V6 engine to V12 one...  :grin:  :grin: