Duty free at Changi Airport

Sweeney

From experience, unfortunately kena carrot before, hopefully bros don't get "fooled" too.

Do remember that exchange rates influence the bargain (more so if you use credit card). The best bargains are in places with weak local currency as compared with where you're going or coming from.

Case in point: I remember sometime ago when the Thai Baht dropped like no tomorrow, many flew to the land of thousand smiles to buy Rolex and other expensive stuff.

So do bear in mind, the currency you are comparing and you are using to pay. This could mean addition saving or wiping out your bargain.

Lastly, just because it is cheap, does it necessitate a buy, it may become a white elephant in the home. I have a friend who have been traveling and keeps buying alcohol bottles after bottles because it is cheap. He goes to supermarket and was happy because he saw the huge amount of difference in price and thought of cashing in. Call the number in classified ads about high price for your liquor, he was so turned off, they want to buy from him a 1L XO for $45-50 per bottle. Now don't know what to do with it.

Hope this helps.

Lastly, just because it is cheap, does it necessitate a buy, it may become a white elephant in the home. I have a friend who have been traveling and keeps buying alcohol bottles after bottles because it is cheap. He goes to supermarket and was happy because he saw the huge amount of difference in price and thought of cashing in. Call the number in classified ads about high price for your liquor, he was so turned off, they want to buy from him a 1L XO for $45-50 per bottle. Now don't know what to do with it.

Haha quite true. My parents used to buy martell vsop or cognac. But now they older liao, they never drink so become white elephant.

I just stick to buying wine (for gifts) or champagne which we drink every CNY.

I used to drink whiskey etc, now uncle liao, don't want to touch hard liquor lol.

From experience, unfortunately kena carrot before, hopefully bros don't get "fooled" too.

Do remember that exchange rates influence the bargain (more so if you use credit card). The best bargains are in places with weak local currency as compared with where you're going or coming from.

Case in point: I remember sometime ago when the Thai Baht dropped like no tomorrow, many flew to the land of thousand smiles to buy Rolex and other expensive stuff.

So do bear in mind, the currency you are comparing and you are using to pay. This could mean addition saving or wiping out your bargain.

Hope this helps.

2 perspectives of buying alcohol in overseas.

1. Personal consumption. If one drinks regularly and the price is much cheaper as compared to Singapore, why not miss this opportunity. Let me quote a website from Auchan (a supermarket in France) on the price of wine from the region Sainte Estephe. http://www.auchan.fr/vin/vins-de-bordeaux/saint-estephe/c-9355301. It is impossible to get such prices in Singapore

2. Limited edition. Some liquors are highly sought after with limited quantity for export. Hence, it is worthwhile to buy. But if one buys XO because it is cheap and with the intention of cashing in, he is better off buying a Hermes or Rolex to flip. ROI is higher and flip is almost guarantee.

Ask your friend to sell in MCF.

Edited by Rayleigh

Strictly speaking alcohol drinks bought duty free cannot be resold whether be it for profit or at a loss.

Yes its illegal to sell duty free alcohol.

Why give money to the gov if caught?

Anyone that bought too much and don't know what to do,

just to pass to MCF bros and we will help you drink it.

Premium beer such as Erdinger can get from DFS. Don't bother with cheap beer and wines at DFS.

Good liqor of course buy to drink, want to get rich buying DFS ?? Siao boh ??

Let me give you a personal experience. Many many years ago, the custom department of Singapore, used to sell confiscated liquor from immigration points and bars / restaurant / etc (who never pay duty). We use to buy them in lots and resold to bars and restaurant at a huge profit. I don't think you can do it nowadays. Last time I don't think they are so strict or have the manpower to check.

In the case, of DFS still can but not in countries where there is no or little tax on liquor. Actually, you buy duty free and sell it to these small bars, they will buy from you. I understand they refill their old bottle and save money. I believe there are people who still do it.

I learn that if there is a way to make money, there will be people who will try to do it. But for the average joe, not worth trying.

as per legal age to buy alcohol/ciggy.

Stupid question. Can children passport be used to buy duty free liquor? Haha

Nope. Only adults ... And yours not stupid question, I also asked before :D

Haha is it. I'm running out of wine bottles for house warming or party gift so wondering if I can buy more to stock up for my next holiday

Just saw it this morning, the $2 Tiger beer..

I find that generally Changi is the cheapest although you might if lucky find a cheaper option on something elsewhere.

But usually not worth looking elsewhere.

What does surprise me is the cost of Tiger in the UK.

Look at this:

http://www.tesco.com/groceries/product/details/?id=250917731I

It is brewed in the UK though.

Sorry, Tiger beer finished liao. Cannot see the link. [laugh]

I find that generally Changi is the cheapest although you might if lucky find a cheaper option on something elsewhere.

Look at this:

Mustafa sells perfume cheapest in SGP, cheaper than changi ap

Changi DFS wine also generally not great savings from retail.

Frankly i also dunno. but Changi DFS is the only place i ever bother to shop for alcohol  [laugh]

I buy champagne for CNY dinner and some wines for gift when need to visit someone's place.

Mustafa sells perfume cheapest in SGP, cheaper than changi ap

Only during Deepavali promotions. I bought my Davidoff 120ml at $50 for two bottles during the Deepavali promotion!!!

Just went last Sat, it is now selling at $45 per bottle for 120ml.

Only during Deepavali promotions. I bought my Davidoff 120ml at $50 for two bottles during the Deepavali promotion!!!

Just went last Sat, it is now selling at $45 per bottle for 120ml.

120ml  x 2 = $ 50 , means $25 per bt

now 120 ml = $45 per bt

No deepavali wat .....

anyway Changi Airport is not cheap as claim 40% less than town prices.

Mustafas perfumes are not fake, also supplies by local suppliers...luxasia etc..... they will be fined if counterfeits

120ml  x 2 = $ 50 , means $25 per bt

now 120 ml = $45 per bt

No deepavali wat .....

anyway Changi Airport is not cheap as claim 40% less than town prices.

Mustafas perfumes are not fake, also supplies by local suppliers...luxasia etc..... they will be fined if counterfeits

btw, I am not indian to support Mustafa....its 24hrs, always there ....LOL