Cheesey74 Supercharged June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 "The last time an earthquake occurred in Sabah was in Sandakan in February this year with a magnitude of 5.6 on the Richter scale." http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/sabah-quake-strongest-to-hit-malaysia-since-1976 So??? U know every year how many peeps go Japan??? 1 of the most earthquakes prone country in the world. If by your logic, stay at home in Singapore is the best remedy to avoid suayness of the natural kind... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 "The last time an earthquake occurred in Sabah was in Sandakan in February this year with a magnitude of 5.6 on the Richter scale." http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/sabah-quake-strongest-to-hit-malaysia-since-1976 Oh...I didn't know about this....guess I am really ignorant because I was surprised by the news of an earthquake there Now still got 8 kids and 2 teachers unaccounted for Really hope they can be found quickly Now priority for those parents, MOE staff and counsellors are to find the rest and hope the counsellors can really do a good job to provide support to the families of missing persons Nobody wish this to happen and I think the questioning can wait until later for those who disagree with such trips It's a difficult time for the families now and we should focus on supporting them in our well wishes 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 So??? U know every year how many peeps go Japan??? 1 of the most earthquakes prone country in the world. If by your logic, stay at home in Singapore is the best remedy to avoid suayness of the natural kind... If by the previous post here, singapore is in the ring of fire region. If shit happen here, blame the gahment again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 If by your logic, stay at home in Singapore is the best remedy to avoid suayness of the natural kind... exactly! it is simply unnecessary for primary schools to organise these kind of trips. i dunno how to tok sense to foolhardy gungho pple that think primary school kids dying on school trips is acceptable losses all in the name of "learning experience" and for fear of becoming "strawberries". rather risk be "strawberries" than dead berries; easy for you to tok when it's not ur child. like how PAP likes to argue: "you dun wan Foreign Talents? who is going to clear ur rubbish/build ur house?" not caring that the latter are Foreigh Workers. like now, when pple saying "dun take unnecessary non-age-appropriate risks", the gungho pple will say: "then dun take ANY risk at all lah, stay in bed lah!" i give up on these jokers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 (edited) My heart goes out to their parents, personally i feel nothing wrong with the trip, it was just very unfortunate that disaster strikes an area that lies outside the pacific ring of fire. So to say no where is really safe from mother earth fury. Edited June 6, 2015 by Xers007 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 exactly! it is simply unnecessary for primary schools to organise these kind of trips. i dunno how to tok sense to foolhardy gungho pple that think primary school kids dying on school trips is acceptable losses all in the name of "learning experience" and for fear of becoming "strawberries". rather risk be "strawberries" than dead berries; easy for you to tok when it's not ur child. like how PAP likes to argue: "you dun wan Foreign Talents? who is going to clear ur rubbish/build ur house?" not caring that the latter are Foreigh Workers. like now, when pple saying "dun take unnecessary non-age-appropriate risks", the gungho pple will say: "then dun take ANY risk at all lah, stay in bed lah!" i give up on these jokers... Err chill. Don't over-react. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 "Nature, red in tooth and claw". Mother nature is nice and refreshing, especially for city-dwellers. But we forget how dangerous it can be. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 exactly! it is simply unnecessary for primary schools to organise these kind of trips. i dunno how to tok sense to foolhardy gungho pple that think primary school kids dying on school trips is acceptable losses all in the name of "learning experience" and for fear of becoming "strawberries". rather risk be "strawberries" than dead berries; easy for you to tok when it's not ur child. like how PAP likes to argue: "you dun wan Foreign Talents? who is going to clear ur rubbish/build ur house?" not caring that the latter are Foreigh Workers. like now, when pple saying "dun take unnecessary non-age-appropriate risks", the gungho pple will say: "then dun take ANY risk at all lah, stay in bed lah!" i give up on these jokers... I agree with you. I always discourage my bro from allowing this type of activities for his kids. Like the cambodian charity, we only need to look locally and we can find poor people to help. I think it is more for the schools benefits and score card than that of the children. Funny how they say kids needs to be exposed to the outside world yet return to the school with security and fenced perimeters. One accident and the kid is gone or maimed. of course there will be people who will disagree and that is why there is still activities like these. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 (edited) If by the previous post here, singapore is in the ring of fire region. If shit happen here, blame the gahment again. singapore is not in the pacific ring of fire, but close enough to be affected if a really huge earthquake strikes. Edited June 6, 2015 by Xers007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bruisedlee 5th Gear June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 Polis clarify identities of victims http://sg.news.yahoo.com/sabah-quake-police-clarify-identities-victims-022200373.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 Let not go down that line who is at fault. Who to be blame type of thread. i hate this type of thread especially we are not the immediate family's member. You won't be here surfing mcf. Is a natural disaster. A child life already lost. We should be more positive garner supports to all those affected families. 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 Sad for the missing teachers. They were just supposed to do their jobs - teaching - well. Sheperding kids to climb a mountain overseas should never have been part of the job description... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 Polis clarify identities of victims http://sg.news.yahoo.com/sabah-quake-police-clarify-identities-victims-022200373.html Rip to both victims. Sad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 (edited) want to blame, blame God lor goodness sake, this is earthquake lah. Just unlucky to be at wrong place at wrong time. Really hope casualties can be kept to minimum. Edited June 6, 2015 by Othello 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 I agree with you. I always discourage my bro from allowing this type of activities for his kids. Like the cambodian charity, we only need to look locally and we can find poor people to help. I think it is more for the schools benefits and score card than that of the children. Funny how they say kids needs to be exposed to the outside world yet return to the school with security and fenced perimeters. One accident and the kid is gone or maimed. of course there will be people who will disagree and that is why there is still activities like these. There's always differing views on everything but we will always wish for the best for the victims. I may say why organize this kind of trips for P6 now but some may say I am a strawberry farmer, well they are not wrong to point this out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda2gal 5th Gear June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 Not only local school. Some international schools on Singapore arrange these trips for their students too. Some pri 5 already go. Nowadays the key phrase is 'holistic' development, while I do agree that cultivating values and soft skills like resilience, communication skills, teamwork etc is extremely important and a correct shift in edn, I have my reservations about bringing young students overseas. Many kids need a lot of supervision, when parents are not there, all responsibilities lie on the teachers. How do parents know if the teachers are equipped to manage and look after the kids overseas? Are the teachers themselves matured enough to handle such a task? When I first heard a group of pri school students and teachers missing, my thought was 'what are they doing there? Why bring pri school kids to climb that mountain? ' Call me overprotective or kiasi, I do not think it is appropriate for pri school kids to climb that mountain. There are countless other ways to cultivate leadership if the programme is planned properly. If I'm a teacher tasked to bring pri school kids for mountain climbing, I'll rather risk being blackmarked by rejecting, than risk the lives of the students because I know I can't handle the responsibility. But I'm sure there are many who don't dare to say NO to their bosses. And how did the school prepare the stds for such challenging activity? Did they climb other less challenging mountains before? With this incident, Moe is going to scrutinize the document called RAMS that's supposed to be done prior to the trip, to assess the risks involved for this learning journey. I wonder if all the accompanying teachers are well qualified to bring the students mountain climbing. Of course what happened this time is due to natural disaster, and some people say, act of God. But the society should relook at the effectiveness and suitability of the school programmes, especially overseas ones. It has become a KPI for school to organize overseas learning journeys so much so that schools organize for the sake of organizing. Activities that can be carried out locally are being done in Malaysia or Indonesia simply because funds are allocated for overseas LJs. As parents, you are the ones to give consent for school to bring your kids overseas, so ultimately it's also your responsibility to assess whether it is safe for your kids to go. Scrutinize the accompanying trs, the programme, ask questions, if in doubt, you should know better than to consent. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 Guys the trip is not compulsory, parents sign consent form, unfortunate events happen so dun blame and be too hard on what you believed in. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 exactly! it is simply unnecessary for primary schools to organise these kind of trips. i dunno how to tok sense to foolhardy gungho pple that think primary school kids dying on school trips is acceptable losses all in the name of "learning experience" and for fear of becoming "strawberries". rather risk be "strawberries" than dead berries; easy for you to tok when it's not ur child. like how PAP likes to argue: "you dun wan Foreign Talents? who is going to clear ur rubbish/build ur house?" not caring that the latter are Foreigh Workers. like now, when pple saying "dun take unnecessary non-age-appropriate risks", the gungho pple will say: "then dun take ANY risk at all lah, stay in bed lah!" i give up on these jokers... This kind of unfortunate event also blame govt??? power la. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...