AHBA 2nd Gear June 15, 2016 Share June 15, 2016 The title is How to prevent car from being stolen. My contribution is simple, pull out the MAF connector. It is the Achille heel of all modern petrol car (Not sure about Diesel). It is going to be as dead as a door nail. Next time your car is as dead as a door nail, try jerk the connector a bit. It could be the problem. I dun think there will be any issue for the car to run without the MAF connected ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
alphard96 6th Gear June 18, 2016 Share June 18, 2016 IMO, besides all those good pointers mentioned above - try to park within eye contact as far as possible. - park within view of CCTV - pay a few RM to the security guard/parking warden/valet to park at VIP/reserved lots (usually at main entrance next to flashy expensive cars/datok/YB etc) but never never pass your car key to them. - if another person with you (or family), split 2 directions upon leaving the car (as heard thieves work in teams - one try to steal, the other look out for driver returning to car). Good to walk around the carpark to look out for suspicious persons (besides standing smoking/play with hp, can be on bikes or siting waiting inside another car). Difficult to identify but if feel unsafe from sixth sense, will drive off. - do not frequently return back to your car to load barang2/shopping items etc as it allow the potential car thief to recognise/identify the car owner. BTW, just heard that one Malaysian plate proton waja had its battery stolen - not sure why.....owner suspect the thief access the engine bay through the front tyre mudguard area and pulling a cable.. Why battery, perhaps desperate thief just need to get RM20 or 50 by selling it. Of course the usual double din DVD head unit is a favourite one, window smashed, cant do much except perhaps cover the head unit with something eg front windscreen sun shade. And do not display smart tag, cash card (make it obviously empty - remove or open the cash card cover, bags/shopping items (even though not much value inside) Lets hope parking in MY will be safer in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
alphard96 6th Gear June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 This is scarry... http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/06/153037/luxury-car-theft-syndicate-used-master-key-deactivate-vehicles-security-system reported in the new paper today too. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 This is scarry... http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/06/153037/luxury-car-theft-syndicate-used-master-key-deactivate-vehicles-security-system reported in the new paper today too. What's so scary?.. such cases are there since my grand father time....can we have something new?.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 20, 2016 Share June 20, 2016 This is scarry... http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/06/153037/luxury-car-theft-syndicate-used-master-key-deactivate-vehicles-security-system reported in the new paper today too. Nothing new. All the tools required can be found on ebay or taobao easily. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raychay 6th Gear June 20, 2016 Share June 20, 2016 Will this work? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 20, 2016 Share June 20, 2016 Learn from Mr Bean. Used quick release steering wheel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic June 20, 2016 Share June 20, 2016 Was in JB for a 4 day trip recently, just to update on what I observe over there (Puteri/Legoland/Bukit Indah/Outlet) - only 25% of Singaporean cars have some steering lock device - <5% of Malaysian cars have steering lock device - most park head in - not many turn their front steering wheel full lock Everytime I park, still practice parking head in towards a wall, full steering lock to one side, steering lock device, remove GPS from dash to be kept out of sight....... very leh chey but what to do? Kia see. I myself drive a saab stationwagon over there, rarer than a ferrari/lambo over there, so I guess that helps as much. Maybe the thieves also worry about the wear and tear and repair cost of a defunct manufacturer car 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
alphard96 6th Gear June 22, 2016 Share June 22, 2016 What's so scary?.. such cases are there since my grand father time....can we have something new?.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged June 22, 2016 Share June 22, 2016 someone told me that a person with a master key can open the car door easily and placed illegal items in the car, then retrieved it back latter when parked in SG. If its illegal drugs, if caught at checkpoint, driver potentially can be charged (death sentence if beyond a certain amount). ps: maybe car label indicating residence (eg condo) etc may not be wise. Good idea... then I wonder why some stupid smuggler carry in themselves? Why risk when it's that easy to make use of sg car to help bring in hor?... and can smuggle guns, TNT, counterfeit , etc ... just go eBay buy a master key and the kingpin can smuggle as many stuff as he likes... we have many sg go in and out daily... why they didn't think of that?.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged June 23, 2016 Share June 23, 2016 (edited) Good idea... then I wonder why some stupid smuggler carry in themselves? Why risk when it's that easy to make use of sg car to help bring in hor?... and can smuggle guns, TNT, counterfeit , etc ... just go eBay buy a master key and the kingpin can smuggle as many stuff as he likes... we have many sg go in and out daily... why they didn't think of that?..ðððindianexpress.com/article/world/indians-abroad/singapore-indian-man-acquitted-of-drug-charges/ This might be a reason why carpooling across a border should be regulated. Anyway, to answer your question directly, yes, it actually is easy. I have heard stories where the drugs are stuck under the car so there no need even to break into the car. Just stick on the undercarriage. It is very easy to remove when your car stops at traffic light or when you have parked your vehicle. And if they want to bring more drugs, they will tip off customs that this car is carrying drugs and follow behind. So the customs is focussed on looking for this particular car and when the car is caught, all attention is focussed there and other cars with more drugs get through. How certain am I of this stories? Anecdotal. I don't know. But yea I do realise the risks. That is why at customs I always obey lawful instructions by the ICA. Hopefully of suay suay duo dai Ji, it will help in proving my innocence (joking, never tested before). Edited June 23, 2016 by Philipkee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
rickosw 3rd Gear June 23, 2016 Share June 23, 2016 Will this work? does anyone know if SG got sell ? price and location of shop thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged June 23, 2016 Share June 23, 2016 buy from taobao or aliexpress. .....i think less than S$20 I bought 1 set...but i use DURO lock instead of the china lock. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear June 23, 2016 Share June 23, 2016 Mind you, a girl was raped three times within one hour along River Valley Road. Bad news travels a thousand miles in split second but good news nobody knows. Isnt it true in your working space? Hence, petty crimes are everywhere, just need to be vigilant. Only Singapore and a few countries are "unique" but dun expect the world to revolve around us. I would wish everyone to think like you, then i can enjoy lelong airfare to everywhere in the world that is deem to have "plague" like to you described.His cokc must be Super hard ! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear June 23, 2016 Share June 23, 2016 Dont understand why Sporeans still wanna risk theor car being stolen by driving into Malaysia. The government there honestly doesnt look like they give a shi* to whats going on. Please dont be penny wise and pound foolish. Until they clear up the mess in their backyard (aka the security issues and crimerate) , I urge everyone to avoid that country like a plague. THE MOST DANGEROUS PLACE IS ALSO THE SAFEST PLACE... (NOT I SAY ONE, EVERYONE SAY ONE) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged June 23, 2016 Share June 23, 2016 20160524_142104.jpg Yours $20 nia and i spend $140 to fix this..ð² I had that on my vios, 1st car but the thought of it on top of my leg all the time scares me.... Always worry if in an accident, that solid shaft might break my leg into half... I no longer fix it on my subsequence ride... Hehe 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 23, 2016 Share June 23, 2016 If someone is in urgent need of SAAB parts, your car may be target also. Was in JB for a 4 day trip recently, just to update on what I observe over there (Puteri/Legoland/Bukit Indah/Outlet) - only 25% of Singaporean cars have some steering lock device - <5% of Malaysian cars have steering lock device - most park head in - not many turn their front steering wheel full lock Everytime I park, still practice parking head in towards a wall, full steering lock to one side, steering lock device, remove GPS from dash to be kept out of sight....... very leh chey but what to do? Kia see. I myself drive a saab stationwagon over there, rarer than a ferrari/lambo over there, so I guess that helps as much. Maybe the thieves also worry about the wear and tear and repair cost of a defunct manufacturer car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 24, 2016 Share June 24, 2016 If someone is in urgent need of SAAB parts, your car may be target also. That one is really suay already lo. I never see malaysian registered SAAB before. Lol. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...