Liverpool 2015/16 Part 1&2: A new hope with Klopp

Ktglfc

frankly ward did not impress me.

Danny Ward still far far better than Adam Bogdan. Player confidence is the key factor.

More importantly is he powerful. Which i don't think he is.

Sui jiak fellas we got a lot. Coutinho, lallana. They aren't fast but they do run a lot.

LOL

I have to say sakho is at fault for the 2nd goal totally but he did redeem himself cos twice his tackle stopped a high chance of goal. The one aubemayang was in a perfect position but sakho changed the trajectory of the cross.

Origi was the best player to me for LFC again last night.

His diagonal runs.

Reus seems good. Very efficient and clinical on the ball.

His assist and his goal were both good.

Agree with you on the size part. I have been comparing joe allen vs matic for a while. Don't talk about bulk, but height-wise is 1.67 vs 1.95 m i think… if got that type of height and maybe Wanyama's bulk, speed like Walcott, reading of game like Mascherno… huat arrhh…  [laugh]

I think it's just becos i hope we can get back to the stingy level of hyppia/henchoz or hyppia/carragher days that I was finding fault with sakho. He does look like he has the potential on some days, but he needs to be alert to other happenings around him all the time when defending. The third goal when Reus ran past Clyne and through towards goal was possible only becos Sakho was not high up enough, allowing Reus to start running far ahead before the angle of the pass became possible. If line was higher up, Reus at best could only be slightly ahead of Clyne (as Reus couldn't have had such a big headstart), and maybe Lovren might have a chance to cover...

Our defense has been poor for seasons, and they're probably still trying to get the basics right - so will need time to perfect the tactics and make our defense watertight...

But, yes, Reus is class

LFC have scored the same amount of Premier League goals already this season (52) compared to the whole of last season.There's still 6 games left, shows how poor we were in attack last season. 44 out of LFC's 52 goals have come during Jurgen Klopp's 24 matches in charge at an average of 1.83 goals per game. With Brendan Rodgers at the start of the season LFC had scored 8 goals from 8 games.

alamak… you forgot: the last mechanic said he got no right tools mah…  [smash]

oh, solly solly… did i say mechanic? i meant manager…  :grin:

Agree with you on the size part. I have been comparing joe allen vs matic for a while. Don't talk about bulk, but height-wise is 1.67 vs 1.95 m i think⦠if got that type of height and maybe Wanyama's bulk, speed like Walcott, reading of game like Mascherno⦠huat arrhh⦠[laugh]

I think it's just becos i hope we can get back to the stingy level of hyppia/henchoz or hyppia/carragher days that I was finding fault with sakho. He does look like he has the potential on some days, but he needs to be alert to other happenings around him all the time when defending. The third goal when Reus ran past Clyne and through towards goal was possible only becos Sakho was not high up enough, allowing Reus to start running far ahead before the angle of the pass became possible. If line was higher up, Reus at best could only be slightly ahead of Clyne (as Reus couldn't have had such a big headstart), and maybe Lovren might have a chance to cover...

Our defense has been poor for seasons, and they're probably still trying to get the basics right - so will need time to perfect the tactics and make our defense watertight...

But, yes, Reus is class

Eerr masch reading of the game isnt good. Evident is on the high number of last min tackle.

Job done tonight (technically last night since it's after midnight now). Not a great match, but thanks to BM who didn't play with much intensity till the end, we had it easy, even though we didn't play particularly well.

I think this is the first match I've seen Lucas captaining the side, and the team finished as winners  [thumbsup]

He made one or two mistakes but otherwise was good and commanding - a good sign!

Think Lucas was playing out of his usual position in a near sweeper role, but his lack of speed is worrisome. Overall, though not a shabby results for the team considering that there were 10 changes from the Dortmund game.

I was worried when I saw Klopp's experimental lineup in yesterday's game. There is still mathematically an opportunity to qualify for next season's CL or Europa via the normal route should the 4 teams above us fumble and we win all the games. To otherwise assume we would qualify for CL by virute of winning this season's Europa Cup is too premature.

Think Lucas was playing out of his usual position in a near sweeper role, but his lack of speed is worrisome. Overall, though not a shabby results for the team considering that there were 10 changes from the Dortmund game.

I was worried when I saw Klopp's experimental lineup in yesterday's game. There is still mathematically an opportunity to qualify for next season's CL or Europa via the normal route should the 4 teams above us fumble and we win all the games. To otherwise assume we would qualify for CL by virute of winning this season's Europa Cup is too premature.

Mathematics unfortunately won't get us to TOP 4 this year. Chances are better the other route..

Eerr masch reading of the game isnt good. Evident is on the high number of last min tackle.

ok, then modify it to the way masch destroys/stops attacks with his tackles.

In terms of reading of the game… who is good? The one midfielder i have a deep impression of is Dunga. In the year he captained Brazil to WC victory, for a slow player like him, he like won every ball whenever i watched… knew exactly how to neutralize opponents.

I think the 1st team players are knackered. Good to give them a break. Firmino was taken off so he's still fit to join in.

Even Milner says the hardest part of his assist was actually running the 50 yards to join the attack.

Based on current epl table, it's very clear Klopp has to go for the Europa route for a CL place because there is a good mathematical chance over 2 games with Villareal and then the final game at Basel if Liverpool qualifies. Same pragmatism as Rafa Benitez who won the CL final in 2005

Like every pool player on the pitch last night, he had a mixed performance.

His back heel was class - it was rather accurate and decently powerful too. He managed to find himself into good space on at least 3 occasions, and carved out go openings. With a bit more accuracy and luck, he would have had 3-4 goals.

But otherwise, he was quite lazy as usual, and frankly didn't fit into the pressing game that Klopp wants.

Consider it is a mixed of a few experience players + fringe young players the patchy performance was expected. I was actually quite pleased because we can see in some other matches even with the first team players they may not work and try as hard. Of course Bournemouth is not playing for their lives and already half way on holiday mood Liao. As for Sturridge the jury is still out on him able to perform as well on European stage. I hope he proves me wrong in the next 2 semi final matches against Villarreal. But I feel klopp will still start with origi.

So I suspect origi will start against Everton, then Sturridge will start against Newcastle. Benteke will start all the matches on the stand nursing his injury on his leg and pride [laugh]

Yup, when i saw the line-up, i was like… jialat liao. Ask a right-legged lucas to play left CB… Ok, he pulled it off decently in the 2-3 matches previously incl. vs. West Ham in our cup loss, but surely shouldn't push it...

Lucas has always depended on his reading of the game and positioning. His speed gone long ago liao. If he doesn't get the headstart he needs when chasing (which he usually can get by due to his anticipation and smart movements), then activate Plan B lor - a little touch on the opponent's body or leg and give away a free kick and take a yellow if necessary. He does all the dirty job for the team.

Really good to see him captaining a winning team. He deserves it.

Consider it is a mixed of a few experience players + fringe young players the patchy performance was expected. I was actually quite pleased because we can see in some other matches even with the first team players they may not work and try as hard. Of course Bournemouth is not playing for their lives and already half way on holiday mood Liao. As for Sturridge the jury is still out on him able to perform as well on European stage. I hope he proves me wrong in the next 2 semi final matches against Villarreal. But I feel klopp will still start with origi.

So I suspect origi will start against Everton, then Sturridge will start against Newcastle. Benteke will start all the matches on the stand nursing his injury on his leg and pride [laugh]

Will not be really surprised that Benteke will be sold next season. He does not fit into the Gegenpressing style of play which Klopp is introducing at Liverpool. Benteke would probably do well elsewhere, but clearly not during Klopp's reign.

Yup, when i saw the line-up, i was like⦠jialat liao. Ask a right-legged lucas to play left CB⦠Ok, he pulled it off decently in the 2-3 matches previously incl. vs. West Ham in our cup loss, but surely shouldn't push it...

Lucas has always depended on his reading of the game and positioning. His speed gone long ago liao. If he doesn't get the headstart he needs when chasing (which he usually can get by due to his anticipation and smart movements), then activate Plan B lor - a little touch on the opponent's body or leg and give away a free kick and take a yellow if necessary. He does all the dirty job for the team.

Really good to see him captaining a winning team. He deserves it.

Starting him at cb is really removing the reading aspect of the game. Maybe his presence thre is more for his leadershop towards the younger playee.

Anyway lucas never have speed even before injury. He does have good stamina though

Will not be really surprised that Benteke will be sold next season. He does not fit into the Gegenpressing style of play which Klopp is introducing at Liverpool. Benteke would probably do well elsewhere, but clearly not during Klopp's reign.

His interview during international break spell his doom.

ok, then modify it to the way masch destroys/stops attacks with his tackles.

In terms of reading of the game⦠who is good? The one midfielder i have a deep impression of is Dunga. In the year he captained Brazil to WC victory, for a slow player like him, he like won every ball whenever i watched⦠knew exactly how to neutralize opponents.

Makelele lor

He doesnt even suit death by football also. So we have to ask the previous reign why sign him in the first place. Dont tell me it is the transfer committee that force the signing?  [laugh] Sell Andy Carroll and then buy another big guy for what? 

There is only one word, clueless. What death by football, 180 page shit, using media to push his agenda and hurt liverpool, play political games by dropping players sign and recommended by transfer committee or playing them out of position. And still have time to hook up an anfield staff. This kind of manager who does not put Liverpool's interest first should be condemned permanently and erase off Liverpool's history.  :yuush:

Edited by Bismarck

He doesnt even suit death by football also. So we have to ask the previous reign why sign him in the first place. Dont tell me it is the transfer committee that force the signing? [laugh] Sell Andy Carroll and then buy another big guy for what?

There is only one word, clueless. What death by football, 180 page shit, using media to push his agenda and hurt liverpool, play political games by dropping players sign and recommended by transfer committee or playing them out of position. And still have time to hook up an anfield staff. This kind of manager who does not put Liverpool's interest first should be condemned permanently and erase off Liverpool's history. :yuush:

Erased !

Time to look at present and future ... In Klopp for Kop :))