S60 vs Ford Mondeo 2015

Enson

i drove my Ford Mondeo for 10 years till scrap-it was faithful, after 5 years after warranty can service @ outside workshops in Redhill and buy parts from Desker road area got a shop selling it ; Why i didnt buy a Ford again?? When I went around looking for a new car about 2 years back the previous mondeo did not even have rear aircons when many of the 1.6L korean cars were givng that already; and secondly they gave me a lousy trade in when I bought the new car (which is not a Volvo of course);

Word of Caution : My input to you is for a Mondeo which was a model 12 years back ; i don't know if today the same mechanics in Redhill can service or repair the new high tech Mondeo and the last spare part I bought was some plastic water container for the vipers or the radiator ; It must be highly bio degradable (started cracking) and leaking; other than that I never paid more than $500/- per year after the 5th year for maintainence - my $0.02cents of input for you;

Ford suffered image problems in the old days but in Europe/Australia the mondeo is quite popular; I guess now VW is going thru' it reading from todays ST article about highest complaints rate with BMW and Merc trailing behind

i drove my Ford Mondeo for 10 years till scrap-it was faithful, after 5 years after warranty can service @ outside workshops in Redhill and buy parts from Desker road area got a shop selling it ; Why i didnt buy a Ford again?? When I went around looking for a new car about 2 years back the previous mondeo did not even have rear aircons when many of the 1.6L korean cars were givng that already; and secondly they gave me a lousy trade in when I bought the new car (which is not a Volvo of course);

Word of Caution : My input to you is for a Mondeo which was a model 12 years back ; i don't know if today the same mechanics in Redhill can service or repair the new high tech Mondeo and the last spare part I bought was some plastic water container for the vipers or the radiator ; It must be highly bio degradable (started cracking) and leaking; other than that I never paid more than $500/- per year after the 5th year for maintainence - my $0.02cents of input for you;

Ford suffered image problems in the old days but in Europe/Australia the mondeo is quite popular; I guess now VW is going thru' it reading from todays ST article about highest complaints rate with BMW and Merc trailing behind

There are some reviews from the European side that say the new Mondeo is ... sort of like the old one underneath, and the engine is definitely not new as it's been around for a few years. I would expect that those Redhill shops might understand the new car, especially if they only start getting business for it five years down the line (after Regent's warranty expires).

As for not having an updated Mondeo two years ago, well, you might've heard about the factory closing in Ghent, Belgium...

Yes, I agree with the comments here about resale value of Ford. It is very good value if you intend to drive it for the full 10 years but it has low resale. I suffered the fate when I sold my first gen Mondeo in 2001 after 3 years for only 50% of what I paid for.

actually, why people shun event cars??

If the price cut is a lot from the new car price.. ain't it worth it??

how much can these event cars clock anyway?

Which car is more worth it considering the ford mondeo now at 161 with Arf $30k and S60 event car at $180k but arf s21k. Drive wise I think s60 is more responsive at 6.5s 0-100kmh but ford is also similar in bhp but still 6spd vs S60 8spd. I ask Volvo if it is the same as BMW 8Spd they not sure.

The mondeo is very spacious considering with full sun roof for the 5door version.

Looking at all the spec, Ford seem to be a better equip car and more spacious. If you intend to keep for 10 years Ford is the better choice. Ford got very low resale value unlike Volvo the resale value is high. Status wise Volvo is much much higher than Ford. If this is my choice I will buy Volvo. ARF to me is not important. From what I heard Volvo got better Fuel Consumption than Ford.

There are some reviews from the European side that say the new Mondeo is ... sort of like the old one underneath, and the engine is definitely not new as it's been around for a few years. I would expect that those Redhill shops might understand the new car, especially if they only start getting business for it five years down the line (after Regent's warranty expires).

As for not having an updated Mondeo two years ago, well, you might've heard about the factory closing in Ghent, Belgium...

The Mondeo car Model overall when I saw it was good (2 years back) but no rear AC behind don't have its kind of nasty especially in our hot Singapore climate (though air from front will come to the back by the fan speed in front) but when you see almost every other 2L car has rear AC today it kind of puts you off; The SE (act blur blur) said no one requested which i felt was strange- so that put me off

actually, why people shun event cars??

If the price cut is a lot from the new car price.. ain't it worth it??

how much can these event cars clock anyway?

I saw an event car from Audi A6 some time back when I was looking around; they said it will be redone up polished and what not but only thing was that it was in Black colour; so check the colours they are usually limited to Black or White only; As for mileage - it depends on the type of function and duration of the show - can be about 400km quite easily; I was kind of sick with Black as it gets hot easily and you become a slave to it as it stains easily; Black looks nice when new always; gives you the VIP feeling maybe too :D

Yeah.. I mean, if the options and color in the event car is as of what you're looking for.. 400km mileage is not a lot too.. and you can get the car cheaper.. wouldn't that be a steal?

Depends as the car will be delivered to you after the show only and if you don't have any specific time frame in mind you have to "sync" with the Agents delivery schedule only but I remembered it was not really cheap (maybe I did not bargain enuf as I was not so serious yet as I had not zeroed on the make) - That is what they do in the press when they advertise kind of ridiculously low and then when you go down to the showroom ; got this condition- that condition & you can get pissed off

Looking at all the spec, Ford seem to be a better equip car and more spacious. If you intend to keep for 10 years Ford is the better choice. Ford got very low resale value unlike Volvo the resale value is high. Status wise Volvo is much much higher than Ford. If this is my choice I will buy Volvo. ARF to me is not important. From what I heard Volvo got better Fuel Consumption than Ford.

I like the boron steel crash cage that volvo has... [thumbsup] Oh, the 2011+ models will have a slighly worse turning radius than the Ford. The older volvo versions turn like boats. [laugh]

Alternative to event cars are management cars. These are cars where the expats of Audi/BMW are entitled to when they are posted here. When they leave due to either re-structuring or new posting, the cars are sold as used with low mileage and substantial discount from new after only a year or so. I have come across Audi Avant and BMW X5. But as these cars were not on my radar screen, gave them a miss.

I'm wondering which Mondeo you are referring to. I bought mine 3.5 years ago and it comes w rear aircon. Btw, the workshop is now in Sin Min and I go there for non standard job (need to go back to agent due to warranty) such as renewal of gear box oil, brake pad change etc. I do agree the trade in offered by Regent sucks. But since the mark-up is about $10k when I bought my Mondeo, I bite anyway.

Bro, wowo owners buy for badge value meh?

tokking about: Ford vs Wowo lah, obviously Wowo more atas...or at least more expensive [laugh]

I'm wondering which Mondeo you are referring to. I bought mine 3.5 years ago and it comes w rear aircon. Btw, the workshop is now in Sin Min and I go there for non standard job (need to go back to agent due to warranty) such as renewal of gear box oil, brake pad change etc. I do agree the trade in offered by Regent sucks. But since the mark-up is about $10k when I bought my Mondeo, I bite anyway.

Are you talking about Ah Lai and the Indian chap @ SIn Min whom were ex-Bukit Merah workshop chaps ... some A & J outfit or something like that

Strange the Mondeo I saw about 20 months back did not have rear AC and I really asked why why and why until the SE must have given up on me or maybe almost all the rest whom must have seen it

If I'm not wrong. Event car will be registered as the 1st owner to the company and the next buyer will be listed as 2nd owner. So this is something one has to take note if you care about the no of ownership of a car.

Edited by LoverofCar

Bro, wowo owners buy for badge value meh? If look at badge, would have bought tao kay merc or disappearing engine oil bmw liao.

Or...even a very worrisome volkswagen liao

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

If you are in the car market for long, you should know Volvo is also an atas car. Just like an Audi but Volvo not as atas as Mercs and BMW. Resale value also not as good comparing with the rest of the atas cars. And as for VW, sad to say it is not an atas car. It is a common car or B&B car just like Ford, Skoda, Renault etc. Not all ang mo made cars means atas car.

Edited by Renegade777

Interior: S60 winz

Driving feel: Mondeo winz

Badge/Face value: S60 winz

all up to which you feel most shiok with...

I never see a Ford before so I don't know but I will not say the Volvo interior is nice. The s60 I tried in 2012 leather did not age well like a old woman full of winkler . The seat is also very thin.doesn't look like good quality to me

I like the centre stack design of Volvos even though it's been around for a few years, but I do not like the cluster of buttons. It's nice but there are just too many buttons in the same space.

Also Volvo interiors feel a bit dark for my taste unless you request for lighter colors.

In Mondeo's regard all local units have a "medium soft ceramic" color "pure leather" (according to SE) which uplifts the interior, but I feel it's not a match to the rest of the gray interior. Also the beige tone doesn't look like it will stay clean for very long.

As a whole I find the Mondeo's interior nice and minimalistic looking though the climate control buttons could be a bit more 'designer'. But if you want to compare to its closest competitor, namely the Volkswagen Passat, it is way lower in terms of upmarket feel. It is nice, but it is not nice.

Curiously, other markets come with black/dark gray "Vector Cloth" as standard, which imho would be preferrable. But I'm one of those who prefers fabric to leather and I'm a minority in this country.

Anyway, for your reference, here's a rendering from the UK:

resize918xgbr00ryyyr05r3d%28a%29%28a%29r

Volvo's :wub: :

2015-volvo-s60-t6-drive-e-interior.jpg

But imho the true unique point of the Mondeo in the rear. If you want this you need to look elsewhere at a BMW GT/GC or Audi A5 Sportback which are much, much more.

post-157416-0-78804400-1432563119_thumb.png

Edited by 7hm