Brass 6th Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Donât worry wouldnât spoil so easily. The only one auto item that spoils more often for Forester are the aftermarket side mirror folding.. that better do manual. As each side mirror motor coat $300+. Wipers, even the brighter aftermarket Philip headlight bulbs cost $120-250 each pair only So can leave the auto headlights and auto wipers on. Just donât install side mirror autofolding Donât tailgate, high beam or horn Malaysia vehicles (lorry/car/van/motorcycle). Lock your car once clearing Singapore checkpoint. Lock your car once stepping out of car, regardless if there are anyone still in car. Put your items in the boot first, before reaching the destination, regardless if itâs soiled clothes in bags or expensive diamonds. Donât reach destination, open the boot and put things and then lock car and walk away. Donât park car at dark parking lots, especially those near the alley ways. Does the door mirror spoil that easily? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 (edited) Donât worry wouldnât spoil so easily. The only one auto item that spoils more often for Forester are the aftermarket side mirror folding.. that better do manual. As each side mirror motor coat $300+. Wipers, even the brighter aftermarket Philip headlight bulbs cost $120-250 each pair only So can leave the auto headlights and auto wipers on. Just donât install side mirror autofolding Donât tailgate, high beam or horn Malaysia vehicles (lorry/car/van/motorcycle). Lock your car once clearing Singapore checkpoint. Lock your car once stepping out of car, regardless if there are anyone still in car. Put your items in the boot first, before reaching the destination, regardless if itâs soiled clothes in bags or expensive diamonds. Donât reach destination, open the boot and put things and then lock car and walk away. Donât park car at dark parking lots, especially those near the alley ways. Does the door mirror spoil that easily? Edited February 13, 2018 by Brass 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 I had a relatively new Toyota wish for replacement car in October last year.. other than the FC is better than the forester... everything else it’s just Toyota... don’t feel like driving much of it when have free time 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoobyfxt 3rd Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Coktky, i reckon richard had given his thots about the engine stop start system ! I hv nothing to add. Anyway diff pple hv diff concerns abt smart systems. We can leave it as that. Hehe Richard's enhancement works could be by far the most adventurous and functional ones i have came across ! On driving in malaysia, just wanna add that from jb to KL do pay attention to aes speed cam near pagoh r&r along nsh. Likewise at ard the same spot otw back from kl to jb. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7eNhGjNe3SY Personally, if kena ticket, i will just take it. Pay or not later is another matter. If u wish to, can pay via axs here too. If u drive past midnite esp on NSH, beware of mat rempit bike convoy. Mostly youngsters. Some will taunt u. Stay calm, stay in yr lane and do not respond. After awhile, they usually lose interest and leave u alone. Day time their tp fav speed trap is usually ard ayer keroh. I lock all doors at all times once enter msia. Take extra care during fuel stops. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 (edited) I had a relatively new Toyota wish for replacement car in October last year.. other than the FC is better than the forester... everything else itâs just Toyota... donât feel like driving much of it when have free timeAgree on the just another toyota thingy. But sometimes, reality sets in and one got to be pragmatic about the choice of car in SG. Someone who needs a 7 seater and has only about 100k + as a budget for a car might just settle for a Wish, mazda 5, or sienta, freed which are around that price point. If no 7 seater needs, most would not touch an MPV. Forester turbo is definite a nice drive with the power and 4 wheel drive stability. Edited February 13, 2018 by Hosaybo 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoobyfxt 3rd Gear February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 Toyotas are gd cars in their own right. Largely reliable, practical and frugal on fc. Affordable to most to own n maintain too. However most will not see them as "drivers' car". There is no perfect car anyway. To me, the xt is best in class suv at its price range (sub 120 to 130k back then). Fc of 9 km per lit plus is a bonus ! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
titaniclexus 3rd Gear February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 Hi All Driving up to KL or rather Malaysia for the first time. Anything to take note or should do? Thanks in advance! Suggest you drive all the way on left lane, overtake when you see the right lane is clear. Don't be stubborn to stay on right lane and think of how good or powerful of your ride . If you did it, anyone who overtake you will suddenly jam break and play against you if they are not happy on you. Don't be surprise maybe you will see not Msia car is our SG car did so.... Most important, lock your car all the time. Drive safe. ... Cheers! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear February 14, 2018 Share February 14, 2018 Coktky, i reckon richard had given his thots about the engine stop start system ! I hv nothing to add. Anyway diff pple hv diff concerns abt smart systems. We can leave it as that. Hehe Richard's enhancement works could be by far the most adventurous and functional ones i have came across ! On driving in malaysia, just wanna add that from jb to KL do pay attention to aes speed cam near pagoh r&r along nsh. Likewise at ard the same spot otw back from kl to jb. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7eNhGjNe3SY Personally, if kena ticket, i will just take it. Pay or not later is another matter. If u wish to, can pay via axs here too. If u drive past midnite esp on NSH, beware of mat rempit bike convoy. Mostly youngsters. Some will taunt u. Stay calm, stay in yr lane and do not respond. After awhile, they usually lose interest and leave u alone. Day time their tp fav speed trap is usually ard ayer keroh. I lock all doors at all times once enter msia. Take extra care during fuel stops. Hi Scoobyfxt, Thanks for the kind words and yes, I really like rear aircon, kick sensor, deleted roof rack, deblack exterior, blacken A-D pillars, 3-4 layer soundproofing, autofoam, android headunit, BSM, bbk, rims/tyres etc. but many are not exactly functional like kick sensor or cosmetic changes to my own preference .. lol ! Ride comfort and handling had improved with the various cusco bars, sti flexible subframe, steering damper, BBK, rims/tyres etc. and added weight from especially soundproofing+autofoam+ICE installed ... had sold off my Bilstein B6 on concern on harsh ride but it is still not a conti ride for sure but I think much better than stock which I did not enjoy. Also ditched the high quality Taiwanese scoop bonnet dream and lelong that off as I may have gotten carried away as a 55 yr old uncle as well as concern on mismatch color needing respray and going beyond CO's tolerance to find stock bonnet under our bed ...keke !! Still at getting ICE set-up in place ... how to get pure DSD playback to speakers for my 4 way set up via Android headunit with optical output and USB audio out with possible the Sony DSD media player .... fun but also frustrating and hope to enjoy the next 3-4 months after CNY. Cheers, Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
stealthviper79 1st Gear February 15, 2018 Share February 15, 2018 (edited) Booked a FNA last Sunday from MI Toa Payoh. 97.8k non gauranteed COE, after trade in, insurance etc rebates. Was given 1k accessories credit. But after telling SE about my expertise with TaoBao... Put it this way, makes better sense to capitalise on my expertise lah. Ended up just opted for Blackvue front back camera at 350. Balance 650 deducted from car price. Fingers crossed for next week's COE bidding ! Edited February 15, 2018 by stealthviper79 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mann123 4th Gear February 15, 2018 Share February 15, 2018 Is there tuning available for FNA to give it more pickup power (0-100) mark? i am not sure about insurance if we tune Car engine in Singapore. Any thought guys? Would love to go for FNA at the current price but lack of pickup power hold me back. (XT over my budget at the moment :P) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Empire 1st Gear February 15, 2018 Share February 15, 2018 Anyone can advise on the FC for the forestor for urban drive? 6.5/100 as what ads? thanks. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shox87 4th Gear February 15, 2018 Share February 15, 2018 Anyone can advise on the FC for the forestor for urban drive? 6.5/100 as what ads? thanks. If FNA, around 11 to 12km/L is normal If FXT, I am getting around 10.4km/L. No complaints for the AWD/Weight/Power of the car. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notknow11 1st Gear February 15, 2018 Share February 15, 2018 Is there tuning available for FNA to give it more pickup power (0-100) mark? i am not sure about insurance if we tune Car engine in Singapore. Any thought guys? Would love to go for FNA at the current price but lack of pickup power hold me back. (XT over my budget at the moment :P) Have you test drive other similar category car? You will learn to appreciate the forester pickup better 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoseyboh Twincharged February 15, 2018 Share February 15, 2018 Is there tuning available for FNA to give it more pickup power (0-100) mark? i am not sure about insurance if we tune Car engine in Singapore. Any thought guys? Would love to go for FNA at the current price but lack of pickup power hold me back. (XT over my budget at the moment :P) You loot one turbo inside lah..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loudexhaust 1st Gear February 15, 2018 Share February 15, 2018 Is there tuning available for FNA to give it more pickup power (0-100) mark? i am not sure about insurance if we tune Car engine in Singapore. Any thought guys? Would love to go for FNA at the current price but lack of pickup power hold me back. (XT over my budget at the moment :P) Interested to find out about this as well. So far seems like the only option is to install the obd rc-1. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Empire 1st Gear February 16, 2018 Share February 16, 2018 (edited) hi thanks for the information. indeed FC is the best economical price such a car in this cat. the additional $3k feature seems very attract to go for which is the sport kit and alcantra leather seat. Happy Chinese New year. Edited February 16, 2018 by Empire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic February 16, 2018 Share February 16, 2018 Just remember the sports kit will increase your FC and alcantara leather is synthetic .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 16, 2018 Share February 16, 2018 hi thanks for the information. indeed FC is the best economical price such a car in this cat. the additional $3k feature seems very attract to go for which is the sport kit and alcantra leather seat. Happy Chinese New year. Seriously it's not worth the 3k ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...