2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

It become quite boring to open up to see message posing about FC and comparing this and that. In the first place its already stated in the SPECS what shit you getting into.

My plans for my future servicing would be to get my own geniune replacement parts which i already sourced at a cheap price and get it done at pro shops. Parts like brake pads, oil, aircon, air filters.

Its the community spirit and people just goof around to destress mah. Not every post must be new info, share lobang etc mah...in case you missed there was a "bad mouthing" Forester effort by owners to prevent a "Vezel" proliferation of the Forester that sparked the comparisons :-) Chill bro. Edited by Rachdanom

Hearing the comments lately makes me keen to try a 2L turbo non CVT to see how the acceleration from stop differs...and see if it is less sluggish. Actually why not just always drive on S# mode haha

Can try Tiguan 2.0T... It's a 2.0 turbo non CVT.. Try it and u will understand... Cost 50k more I think.

We r collecting our car this week, not sure if we Shd sign up the servicing package. Any suggestions for workshops great in handling Subaru Forester?

BKS, BMS, Edge Tuning are some of the workshops familiar with Subaru cars. Do note that u need to service your car at MI to retain the warranty

Warranty is for 5 years but the car comes with only 3 FOC servicing... Advisable to stick to MI or just go to reputable 3rd party workshops after 3rd servicing??

My friend bought forester early last year and got 5 years FOC servicing...

Edited by dklove

By the way, for those who are using the nomad mat given free by MI (I believe those 3a brand), had read a lot of bad reviews about the mat like torn within few months or bad rubber smell, are the mats really that bad?

My car 1 year liao, no issues, not a single hint of smell. Maybe those who complain are uber driver and drop off passengers frequently.

Warranty is for 5 years but the car comes with only 3 FOC servicing... Advisable to stick to MI or just go to reputable 3rd party workshops after 3rd servicing??

My friend bought forester early last year and got 5 years FOC servicing...

It's really a personal choice..got $$$ can do anywhere la. My Friend who bought early last year with 5 yrs FOC will gladly pay the current price of the Forester albeit without the 5 yr.

So all relative la..

By the way, for those who are using the nomad mat given free by MI (I believe those 3a brand), had read a lot of bad reviews about the mat like torn within few months or bad rubber smell, are the mats really that bad?

The rubber base where the velcro is attached is quite soft. When I pulled on the mat to remove and clean, the rubber base tore around the velcro instead of the velcro detaching itself. Anyway you dont need the velcro to keep the mats in place.

The new mat smell is quite strong at first but after a week or so it was not noticeable.

I know that CVT actually had no gear.

But if you compare the X3 28i, which is almost same power/weight as FXT. X3 28i is 1sec faster on spec. But the X3 is double the price.

So FXT is still better. Paying $1k++ can push the power to 280hp already [drivingcar][drivingcar]

I'm not sure about x3 28i actual timing. But fxt actual 0-100 is definitely more than 7.5secs.. at least when I test it with mine..

Dun worry. Even bmw's 320i actual timing also > 7.3secs even in sport sharp mode as tested by a Friend. Those 0-100 timings are tested under some controlled environment. My fxt has additional weights such as door sound proofing and undercarriage sound proofing materials As well. Plus, I'm a heavy driver. Lol.

Btw for 0-100 timings I heard can achieve close to 7.5 if in sports mode. Apparently sport sharp can only hit 8 sec

The rubber base where the velcro is attached is quite soft. When I pulled on the mat to remove and clean, the rubber base tore around the velcro instead of the velcro detaching itself. Anyway you dont need the velcro to keep the mats in place.

The new mat smell is quite strong at first but after a week or so it was not noticeable.

When SE passed mat to me, recommended me to air for a few days. But after day 2, all the heavy rubber smell all gone. So if you straight put into car without good ventilation, definitely will not smell great.

Dear Forester Owners,

I am thinking of getting a new Forester XT but have some reservations after reading online reviews about the followings issues:

1. Excessive oil consumption issue - https://www.cars.com/articles/2011-15-subaru-oil-consumption-update-1420683845519/;    - http://www.torquenews.com/1084/subaru-settles-oil-consumption-lawsuit ;

2. Head Gasket Engine Issues in the past models. - http://www.licmotorsports.com/blog/2014/01/30/dreaded-subaru-head-gasket-issue

Are the above issues still plaguing your new FXT? Have you guys experienced the above in your ride ? What are some of the other problems that you face with your ride if any?

By the way, is it also true that all four tyres had to be replaced for Subaru AWD vehicles if one of the tyres punctured? What is also the typical FC like so far? 

Sorry if the questions above had been asked before as there are 300+ threads and it is difficult to read through all. Appreciate your kind advice

Thank you very much !!

Anyone feel that xt when starting from cold (overnight) the engine is a bit rough and the knockings can be felt in the 1st min or 2 before subsiding ?

Yes get that too, but not consistent, some days worse that others.

Tonight realised reverse sensor not beeping. Collected car back from servicing at MI yesterday. Not sure if the mechanic switched it off while doing some repair work on my rear bumper.

Any FXT owners here know if there is some switch at the beeper speaker? I can't seem to find it after looking through the boot and rear side window areas.

Can I purchase Subaru's merchandise such as laser shade using Duo points? If so, which voucher should I redeem? Full service voucher?

You can use the DUO points for almost anything at MI, including servicing packages. The counter at MI will advise you on the deduction and what is best value for the points.

Yes, I guess it should be nothing to worry about. It's starting cold and need some time to warm up with all the lubricants waking up to their respective points.

Mine even can feel slight rocking from the boxer engine during cold starts. Just don't ram the engine immediately and all will be good.