Mkl22 Supersonic February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Auto stuff is no good for extreme driver, like the start stop function, cut off a/c under hot sun is damn lame device which AD shouldn't be opting for it. yeah, automatic transmission is also no good. back to manual! safer and more reliable. remove also auto tail gate. keyless entry. remove anything that aids and is auto. come on la. move with the times.. autonomous cars are arriving sooner than you think. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_mark 2nd Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 I also do not turn on auto-wipers as it sometime dis-read some random dirt and spread all the dirt like kaya all over the windscreen. For auto-headlights, the only gripe is that it switches on when passing the shaded area below overhead bridges. Other than that, I find it useful and safer in multi-storey carparks. Hello chucky2007. Ur smart ah, not cheapo. Everyday tick tick tak tak on off on off sure up lorry quicker. Haha. I alr turn off auto wiper liao. Will try off auto headlamp n try ti adapt without it ! My fren says he off his fna engine stop start system cos he scared damage the system Thanks for the recap, titaniclexus. I recalled reading the manual on that portion earlier.All these auto this n that and high tech stuff at times also mafan. Zzzzz. Haha.http://www.asiaone.com/malaysia/car-thieves-malaysia-have-gone-high-tech-uses-device-unlock-car-keyless-entry-source Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Everyone has their own likes and dislikes. yeah, automatic transmission is also no good. back to manual! safer and more reliable. remove also auto tail gate. keyless entry. remove anything that aids and is auto. come on la. move with the times.. autonomous cars are arriving sooner than you think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 I also do not turn on auto-wipers as it sometime dis-read some random dirt and spread all the dirt like kaya all over the windscreen. For auto-headlights, the only gripe is that it switches on when passing the shaded area below overhead bridges. Other than that, I find it useful and safer in multi-storey carparks. Auto wiper only ON when it start to rain. Why keep it on in sunny days... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 (edited) Everyone has their own likes and dislikes. Hi Roger, Indeed ... some lazy guy even showed off kick sensor for tailgate ... haha ! Newly available at Japanparts but not sure if anyone tried: https://www.japanparts.com/parts/detail/52791 But seriously, good fun just to share experience and options with perhaps justifications already seen from bros to consider but think no need to follow thru with response if opinion differs and stay sensitive since indeed ... everyone has their own likes and dislikes as well as unique experience and considerations. Cheers. Richard Edited February 13, 2018 by richard_crl032 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Hi Roger, Indeed ... some lazy guy even showed off kick sensor for tailgate ... haha ! But seriously, good fun just to share experience and options with perhaps justifications already seen from bros to consider but think no need to follow thru with response if opinion differs and stay sensitive since indeed ... everyone has their own likes and dislikes. Cheers. Richard I not a rich man .the reason I afraid of such stuff is if it spoil after warranty period , my wallet will have a big hole. Of course this does not apply to rich people lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coktky 2nd Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Hello chucky2007. Ur smart ah, not cheapo. Everyday tick tick tak tak on off on off sure up lorry quicker. Haha. I alr turn off auto wiper liao. Will try off auto headlamp n try ti adapt without it ! My fren says he off his fna engine stop start system cos he scared damage the system Thanks for the recap, titaniclexus. I recalled reading the manual on that portion earlier. All these auto this n that and high tech stuff at times also mafan. Zzzzz. Haha. http://www.asiaone.com/malaysia/car-thieves-malaysia-have-gone-high-tech-uses-device-unlock-car-keyless-entry-source Lol, your friend so funny to scare about the auto stop start system damaged… does he scare about the auto wiper spoil the motor? Or auto seat adjustment spoil the seat adjustment capabilities? Or the auto headlights spoil the bulb... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 (edited) I am not rich, so I like to do things outside AD to save money. A simple aircon filter can be bought at Subaru stock list at $20+. Take 15mins to exchange by myself. AD will charge $80 for a simple aircon filter exchange. My servicing I paid half the price AD charge with more items done than AD. Edited February 13, 2018 by Tohto 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 (edited) Auto stuff is no good for extreme driver, like the start stop function, cut off a/c under hot sun is damn lame device which AD shouldn't be opting for it. Hi Zze121, Indeed for start stop which is BS and I disable it for my 1.2L Qashqai to prevent added 10s of thousand starter operations, strain on battery, stress on engine mount etc. as well as having mentioned cut off a/c at traffic lights on our nice and sunny tropical Singapore with junction every 50-300m in the usual city driving Just marketing for tax purposes and benefit some of the rich ... save the world my foot ! Cheers, Qashqai: 1.2L with start stop: Euro6 · co2 129 g/km Qashqai: 2.0L without start stop: Euro 5 co2 Combined 178 g/km Lol, your friend so funny to scare about the auto stop start system damaged… does he scare about the auto wiper spoil the motor? Or auto seat adjustment spoil the seat adjustment capabilities? Or the auto headlights spoil the bulb... Hi Coktky, Believe stop start is not just itself not working as mentioned earlier .... it is bureaucratic BS imo. Powerful petrol companies and governments need us to keep using petrol or diesel under various disguises ...keke ! Save water campaign for the mass people when more private condos and swimming pools ? I just pay to enjoy it ..... and pretend to be rich .. lol ! Cheers, Richard Edited February 13, 2018 by richard_crl032 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 I am not rich, so I like to do things outside AD to save money. A simple aircon filter can be bought at Subaru stock list at $20+. Take 15mins to exchange by myself. AD will charge $80 for a simple aircon filter exchange. My servicing I paid half the price AD charge with more items done than AD. And can use better engine oil at a good price. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zkcx Neutral Newbie February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Hi All Driving up to KL or rather Malaysia for the first time. Anything to take note or should do? Thanks in advance! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wpy 4th Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Hi All Driving up to KL or rather Malaysia for the first time. Anything to take note or should do? Thanks in advance! Make sure fuel tank is 3/4 full when you leave Singapore checkpoint. Don't hog the right lane Keep lots of sweets handy to stay awake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Standby kopi $. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coktky 2nd Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Hi All Driving up to KL or rather Malaysia for the first time. Anything to take note or should do? Thanks in advance! Msia traffic is more messy than that You used to. When driving on highway. U can only keep on right lane if you really drive fast. At least faster than the car behind. Do not block fast car behind and give way quickly. In Msia highway, ppl like to tailgates even at 150km/hr on fast lane. That is really dangerous! There are many new AES which is the speed camera in Msia. Keep the speed limit if you can. I know sometime can be sleepy. Use Waze to know where is the location. Or follow the car flow to know where is the camera, ppl will not suddenly slow down if the front is clear. I think driving a sg registered car is more stressful than Msia registered car, in Msia. Even you driving a Johor registered car plates (start with J) in KL. Lol. touch and go card is a must in Msia, now no more cash payment tolls. Particular in KL, there are more tolls than in Johor. Drive safe! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Bro, I guessed u might have gotten the Forester or may be gg to get one. Or maybe not I understand your position on AD honouring the warranty of the car over the prescribed period. Fair enough if you go back to MI for your servicing so that the warranty is not void. On the other hand, the bros here also hv their position where they service their scooby at outside pro-scooby workshops. If u worried any warranty, stick to MI. Others will be taking a measured risk for their cars thru servicing via 3rd parties. No point rebuking one other on each other choices. Damn... It is like comparing tt 'my-wife-is-prettier-than-yours' statement. If scooby cars are tt farked up in omv, features, resale values, experience parts, faulty and not lasting OEM parts, I guess your next car option shld not be a scooby. My XC90 also serviced at outside workshop after free servicing ends. Till now (1 yr left) it is still gg strong. Just wear and tear parts to fix up. Major car issues aka Murphy's law will not happened to only Subaru cars. It has happened to my bro Merc, lao peh Datsun, ex gf VW, in laws toyota. Leave and let die, bro. We will hv a longer life He is just straddling across all threads...being skeptical and critical about everything.This is possibly why he was told of by another forumer that posts don't elevate rank,but praises does. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 (edited) I not a rich man .the reason I afraid of such stuff is if it spoil after warranty period , my wallet will have a big hole. Of course this does not apply to rich people lorDon’t worry wouldn’t spoil so easily. The only one auto item that spoils more often for Forester are the aftermarket side mirror folding.. that better do manual. As each side mirror motor coat $300+. Wipers, even the brighter aftermarket Philip headlight bulbs cost $120-250 each pair only So can leave the auto headlights and auto wipers on. Just don’t install side mirror autofolding Hi All Driving up to KL or rather Malaysia for the first time. Anything to take note or should do? Thanks in advance! Don’t tailgate, high beam or horn Malaysia vehicles (lorry/car/van/motorcycle). Lock your car once clearing Singapore checkpoint. Lock your car once stepping out of car, regardless if there are anyone still in car. Put your items in the boot first, before reaching the destination, regardless if it’s soiled clothes in bags or expensive diamonds. Don’t reach destination, open the boot and put things and then lock car and walk away. Don’t park car at dark parking lots, especially those near the alley ways. Edited February 13, 2018 by Chucky2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 Don't talk cock la. Drivers can lock the doors themselves, need auto lock for what? Can brake himself, need collision assist for what? Can step on accelerator himself, need cruise control for what? Can wind down windows himself, need auto windows for what? Can adjust seat himself, need electrical adjustment for what? And so on and so on. If the features are there, just use it. If not there, so be it. I'm just getting sick of your posts everywhere on the forum. No real value add, no personal experience, giving snide remarks or just plain motherhood statements. Will be putting you on my ignore list. A critically acclaimed statement by all.Let him be placed in a milo tin old car with manual everything then he'll feel it when he didn't see due to poor visibility in rain and he slams into a 5 tonner due to no brake assist.Here,you go ,a red coloured pancake is served. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged February 13, 2018 Share February 13, 2018 I am not rich, so I like to do things outside AD to save money. A simple aircon filter can be bought at Subaru stock list at $20+. Take 15mins to exchange by myself. AD will charge $80 for a simple aircon filter exchange. My servicing I paid half the price AD charge with more items done than AD. Bro! $20+??? Come come I help you get for $12 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...