2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Usually all these comparisons not apple to apple.

You can equally see other videos where all the other car brands lose to Subaru for snow slope climb.

The truth is usually a combination of both.

What type of tires are used and driver skill etc all play a part - not just the car by itself.

Whether slope worn smooth by earlier cars etc.

Slight difference in run up speed etc.

Generally, reputation of Subaru in snow is very good. That's why it is considered half-jokingly as the official state car in many of the Northern US states which have snow for many months of the year and where Subaru form a high % of the cars bought in those states and an even higher percentage of those cars that can still run around when the snow is bad.

It's a pity we dun get snow in spore else it will be a hell lot of fun driving our foresters in snow conditions.

So far, during heavy rains, the fxt has been a superb performer. Full confidence driving in various rainy conditions and slight ponding on roads. I drive as if it's a normal sunny day. Makes no difference to me. The sound of rain water swooshing on the wheels and wheel screen feels good actually..

Carousell has lots of gems

Cool find: SUBARU engine air filter, Aircon Filter, Front & Rear Wiper , Bulb, Accessories for S$7

http://carousell.com/p/85963127

Wa. Thanks bro. Looks cheap. Feel like replacing the front wipers. Getting a bit noisy after 23k km.. the recent heavy rains also wearing them out quicker...

I also prefer to replace the cabin Aircon filter myself every 5-10k as it's way cheaper.

Cool find: SUBARU engine air filter, Aircon Filter, Front & Rear Wiper , Bulb, Accessories for S$7

Thanks.  The handrest center console box looks interestng with so many USB connections (front & back).  Don't need to lift up the handrest to plug in the USB.

Booked the XT in Dec and missed the last 3 COE. Got a call last Thursday from the SE, who said he has a Cat E available. Weighed the pros and cons and decided to go for it. Car was registered on 31st Jan.

The bunch of cosmetic accessories still on the way from Taobao. But I did receive the DIY PPS today. Will try it and post a review.

Bro, what's the PPS ? I am blur . Thanks for elaborate abit

after 10KM, anyone try to bring own engine oil to Subaru workshop for servicing? what is it like?

Allowed... if you're willing to sign engine indemnity waiver. I have it in writing from MI.

It's a pity we dun get snow in spore else it will be a hell lot of fun driving our foresters in snow conditions.

So far, during heavy rains, the fxt has been a superb performer. Full confidence driving in various rainy conditions and slight ponding on roads. I drive as if it's a normal sunny day. Makes no difference to me. The sound of rain water swooshing on the wheels and wheel screen feels good actually..

Danger is being over-confident.

Subaru AWD is good but still need to obey law of physics.

There are still limits, which if exceeded, will still cause accidents.

Also, the AWD is good only in non-foot-braking situations - if moving under accelerator or just coasting (i.e. engine braking), the AWD is better than FWD as there is power or engine braking on all 4 wheels.  

But once slam the foot brakes, the AWD is similar to FWD as FWD also has brakes on all 4 wheels (the engine braking still contributes a bit to the AWD but it is minor compared to the foot-braking power).

Allowed... if you're willing to sign engine indemnity waiver. I have it in writing from MI.

If like that, might as well go to BMS / BKS or other external workshop specialising in Subaru for cheaper and likely more competent job?

Though I admit, MI environment more attractive to bring car to for servicing.

Also, I suppose if it is only engine warranty affected but transmission still under warranty, perhaps not so bad to continue with MI.

Edited by jg2000

If like that, might as well go to BMS / BKS or other external workshop specialising in Subaru for cheaper and likely more competent job?

Also, I suppose if it is only engine warranty affected but transmission still under warranty, perhaps not so bad to continue with MI.

Exactly. Cheaper, better oil and, because done in front of you, likely to be more competent.

Attractiveness is a matter of priorities. Free kopi and aircon are definitely nice, but then again they are a necessity when MI servicing can take up to a full day. External workshops can sometimes finish servicing within the hour, all the while under your watchful eye. To me, being able to watch the work is extremely attractive.

MI's higher servicing premiums pay for your warranty coverage. When less of your car is covered by warranty, MI's prices become harder for owners to justify. Pros and cons. It's a personal financial decision, I guess.

Edited by Muser

Good find!

but bluff children one~ non of the items are actually $7.. hahaa

I may be mistaken, but the seller probably get all his supplies from taobao. Not necessarily a bad thing, but you can get them for yourself, at a cheaper price too. :)

Good for folks who dun want all the drama with taobao buying. :D

Also, the AWD is good only in non-foot-braking situations - if moving under accelerator or just coasting (i.e. engine braking), the AWD is better than FWD as there is power or engine braking on all 4 wheels.  

But once slam the foot brakes, the AWD is similar to FWD as FWD also has brakes on all 4 wheels (the engine braking still contributes a bit to the AWD but it is minor compared to the foot-braking power).

Thanks for the reminder. Reminded me of this vid...

Driver was lucky to survive to tell the tale. He's been sharing it to remind others too :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5i_s6F8rjlY

Good find!

but bluff children one~ non of the items are actually $7.. hahaa

I may be mistaken, but the seller probably get all his supplies from taobao. Not necessarily a bad thing, but you can get them for yourself, at a cheaper price too. :)

Good for folks who dun want all the drama with taobao buying. :D

really ah? i admit i just did a search and posted, that's it.

i used to buy the aircon cabin filter from carousell too, but for volvo.

i can't go taobao because i can't read chinese very well and i don't understand the complicated mechanics of shipping. i heard you need some middleman or something.

really ah? i admit i just did a search and posted, that's it.

i used to buy the aircon cabin filter from carousell too, but for volvo.

i can't go taobao because i can't read chinese very well and i don't understand the complicated mechanics of shipping. i heard you need some middleman or something.

Yea, it's not the easiest site to navigate if reading chinese is a challenge... With my rusty chinese, it's also somewhat challenging. But i found it gets easier as you browse. hahaa

Anyway, these days they have direct shipping options, and can use credit card (with a small fee). You know the cost of shipping to your doorstep from the get-go. However, there's still a size/length limitation (think it's nothing longer than 1m), but most replacements parts are within limitations. You get the item abt 1week after you order. :)

Dun worry la. I'm the kind of driver that can achieve 11+km/L on my fxt. U think how fast I drive on a sunny day... haa

Although I don't quite understand the technicalities of what you've said, but as someone who has owned fwd, rwd, and awd cars ranging from 1.5L Na to 2.5L v6, I think i know the limits of various types of cars after driving it for a while. Once again, thanks for your concern on safety :)

Exactly. Cheaper, better oil and, because done in front of you, likely to be more competent.

Attractiveness is a matter of priorities. Free kopi and aircon are definitely nice, but then again they are a necessity when MI servicing can take up to a full day. External workshops can sometimes finish servicing within the hour, all the while under your watchful eye. To me, being able to watch the work is extremely attractive.

MI's higher servicing premiums pay for your warranty coverage. When less of your car is covered by warranty, MI's prices become harder for owners to justify. Pros and cons. It's a personal financial decision, I guess.

Talking about Mi workshop attractiveness, I feel that the Nissan customer lounge is a lot better at LK side. I actually went over to relax while waiting for mi to service my car. Free wifi, Kopi, bread and newspaper. Heh. Try the 2 brown recliners. They are damn shiok. Lol

May I ask anyone here replace the stock rims and swop over the tpms? Would it still work?

I change out my rims and I don't know why my tpms light keeps prompting and stays on.

Possible the guy at tire shop didn't even took out the tpms and switch over to my new rims? I asked the shop guy he told me he did.

Anyway to verify?