2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

i would feel 14k premium for the extra oomph in turbo kick is worth the top up. It will make the drive up to penang/msia more enjoyable when you feel the need to overtake.

[:p]

then again, who will complain that power is too much?  [smash]

in terms of maintenance and reliability, do they differ much?

You might be able to answer your doubt by test drive yourself as "beauty is in the eye on the beholder".

Report back after your test drive. [thumbsup]

Forget to add, do activate the Sport Sharp Mode in XT k [:p]

yeah i intend to...just hope to hear more feedback before heading down...

is the current promo a good price? 110,800 / 124,800

White smoke or White vapour.

White mean good and complete combustion .......by product is water vapour.

Naughty motor image, making this additive ride very tempting again. :p

Well.. is depend on how much the smoke generated.. 

Mine is those type I can seem the smoke while I sitting on the driver sit through my driver side mirror at night, while I stopped at the traffic light and with behind  vehicle headlight shine on........our exhaust pipe outlet for FNA is at the left passenger side.

yeah i intend to...just hope to hear more feedback before heading down...

is the current promo a good price? 110,800 / 124,800

i had colleague who commented that when full loaded his FNA seem struggling but not FXT when he recently sit on a FXT thus the comparison. since u do travel long distance and if with full load that it might worth the extra. hope that help

Hi all...

can anyone advise if its worth paying extra $14k for the XT version?

intend to drive all the way to penang 4-5 times a year....

btw when will the next gen forester be launched in SG?

If willing to stretch budget a little more, go for XT. Otherwise, after you got NA you will always wonder how XT :)

in terms of maintenance and reliability, do they differ much?

Subaru has been making turbo-charged cars for a long time. So reliability issues shouldn't be a problem.

Maintenance for Motor Image is 1k, 5k, 10k free servicing. After that you would need to pay. I would say FXT,  powerwise and bang for buck, no other car comes close. 

Eh people looking @ Forester , dun buy la

dated interior and exterior,

handling not better than salon,

tyre so ex,

jiak you like lim jiu,

maintenance cost so high,

go pick up charbor not satki,

behind no aircon,

not much resale value

buy for what?

dun buy la.

don't cho luan forester price la..... [bigcry]

Edited by shutterbox
  • Dislike 2

Mine was actually the opposite i.e. >5k my fuel consumption is high but it slowly improve until 10k then it become stable and constant!

Btw, it is not advisable to drive long distance during a new car run in or below 5k:-). May be can ask for the expert opinions i.e. the mechanic in MI in your next service:-)

Was told during the new owner session, run in is not required. Not even the 1k run in.

This is from the online owner's manual for the US market. Ours should have the cautionary note also. I would follow probably follow the manufacturer's guide vs the info from the particular session. Just delay the urge to chiong till a little later. :)

post-17751-0-05045300-1485325055.png

eh, to whom dislike me.

not that i can for these points, but your(who choose to remain anonymous? not happy my post just say la. not like i chase you down with chopper right?) reasons are :

1) Anonymous : 5 Dislikes for 2015 Forester 2.0

Comment:
You are the only one which have negative comment on this, than what you recommend for the same price range

- eh, you can't tell what comments are jokes meh? ok maybe my humour is not common humour. if want recommendation then ask la!

2) Anonymous : 5 Dislikes for 2015 Forester 2.0

Comment:
Spam

- Spam ki lan la! what do I spam for? NTUC voucher ah?

[shakehead]

This is from the online owner's manual for the US market. Ours should have the cautionary note also. I would follow probably follow the manufacturer's guide vs the info from the particular session. Just delay the urge to chiong till a little later. :)

I've never rev engines pass 4k rpm.

What I'm more concern is to warm up time after ignition.

for turbo engine cars like FXT, as long as no hard revs past 2500rpm, can just start car and drive off without waiting for EO to reach optimum temp?

I've never rev engines pass 4k rpm.

What I'm more concern is to warm up time after ignition.

for turbo engine cars like FXT, as long as no hard revs past 2500rpm, can just start car and drive off without waiting for EO to reach optimum temp?

Conventional wisdom around here says that if you dun rev pass 2.5k before the blue lights go off, you should be fine. The car also has some inbuilt feature to protect itself... Notice that we cannot switch to S/S# before the blue lights go off.

So yes, can start and go, as long as don't whack the throttle. :)

btw, dun get too work up about the points, ownself happy can liao. Give you some point back~ :D

Thanks. Actually i went Cameron highlands after my 1k service. So, unless should also before 5k, my problem not due to run in, rights?

Hi all...

Tough to answer for u...

While saving 14k.. max speed you can do on FNA is probably 180-190kmh vs 210-240kmh for the turbo version.

Quite shiok to have motorised tailgate

Quite nice to be able to speed up quite instantly.

FC wise maybe different of 1km per Litre if drive normally instead of like a mad man.

With this.. you decide for the next 10 years is it worth spending 14k lesser for these lesser items

Tough to answer for u...

While saving 14k.. max speed you can do on FNA is probably 180-190kmh vs 210-240kmh for the turbo version.

Quite shiok to have motorised tailgate

Quite nice to be able to speed up quite instantly.

FC wise maybe different of 1km per Litre if drive normally instead of like a mad man.

With this.. you decide for the next 10 years is it worth spending 14k lesser for these lesser items

+1 for FXT: Memory Seats

On maintenance:

FXT comes with 18-in vs FNA 17in.

I noticed MI charges the same for preventive maintenance, i.e. 288 or 398 per svc.

Doesn't FXT has additional parts to replace/service? 

On financing:

Depending on SIN-YEN exchange rates,  FXT OMV if cross 20K affects loan quantum.

BTW, I got the FNA. Of course if $$ is not a concern, I would have gone for FXT.

Hi all...

I'll like to flip the situation here.

Is it worth to spend 14k less and give up

1) considerable amount of power from a new engine and much faster acceleration for ease of driving

2) convenience of motorised tailgate with memory

3) nicer wheels

4) the symmetrical look with only 1 exhaust

5) memory seats and trying to find the right position of others or workshop mechanic is driving

6) a premium sounding Harman Kardon system?

Any other tips during the session worth sharing?

S mode is more fuel efficient than I mode, whether highway or city drive as S mode less carbon deposit.

Petrol 95 is good enough. Don't need 98.

If got jump start, remember to connect the negative to ground via any metal part.

They are testing an alarm system. To be released soon. So those looking for the traditional alarm system, it is coming.

That's all I can remember off hand.

S mode is more fuel efficient than I mode, whether highway or city drive as S mode less carbon deposit.

Petrol 95 is good enough. Don't need 98.

If got jump start, remember to connect the negative to ground via any metal part.

They are testing an alarm system. To be released soon. So those looking for the traditional alarm system, it is coming.

That's all I can remember off hand.

That is very good information. Will have praise if I am able to.

When you said about alarm system, it is the auto locking thing right?

Can't wait to have that. At their release, how do we get the information that it is released?

I saw this obd attachment from ezbuy that will make the car autolock at 40 kmph.

Any brother tried already?