2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

I'm having windy noise from engine bay at low speed approx 20km and below. Any FNA owner having the same issue? Is this normal on Subaru engine?

yes..  mine also.. I have highlight to during my servicing and was told is from the CVT , it happen during slowing down or sliding and they cant do anything about it. Recommend me to do sound proofing.

yes.. mine also.. I have highlight to during my servicing and was told is from the CVT , it happen during slowing down or sliding and they cant do anything about it. Recommend me to do sound proofing.

Noted. Thanks for the info. But how can sound proofing helps since the sound is internal? Quite irritating when slow down...especially in carpark.

I yet to try it, that is why I am asking other bro here for their comments.

my frd told me his ASX is quieter than mine..   haha..  fainted

Its normal. I checked with MI and its actually the CVT gearbox unloading, not the engine. My friend and I both have FNA and both experience same sound...

Weird... fxt dun have this sound. Construction of fna and fxt should be very similar. Can't be fxt has better sound proofing to block out cvt noise??

I yet to try it, that is why I am asking other bro here for their comments.

my frd told me his ASX is quieter than mine.. haha.. fainted

MIT and Honda cars sound insulation are phenomenal... he should be right. There must be something wrong with our ears.

Anyway, all are b&b Jap cars. Nuttin much to compare about.

Haha...didn't notice until I saw this post...lol...maybe I always on the music and never pay attention...

Btw, wish to join the fb group also..anyone can pm the group name? Thanks!

They just reduce the sound entering the passenger cell lor... the sound from the gearbox unloading will travel through the empty spaces in your car chassis like a echo chamber and also vibrate through the materials that connect the gearbox and your passenger cell. If they apply sound deadening materials, the vibrational transmissions will be cut off or reduced, so you will find the cabin slightly quieter. This type tends to cut high frequency noise... for low frequency noise, much harder to cut down... simply apply sound-proofing materials won't reduce these low frequency noises... it has to be designed ground up and the appropriate materials placed at strategic spots within the chassis to significantly reduce it. Which is also why many Continental cars are much heavier than Japanese counterparts... cos sound-proofing materials are really heavy...

I'd add that the soundproofing materials that dampen low frequency noise are the heaviest of all. Those that dampen high frequencies are relatively light.

Noted. Thanks for the info. But how can sound proofing helps since the sound is internal? 

teomingern is correct (post #7064) that the dampening will help in reducing the higher frequency vibration. To reduce the  noise that comes form the engine compartment, sound proofing need to be added to the firewall - that is the separation between the engine bay and the passenger cabin. This is very difficult to do and I don't think it is cost effective.

Edited by kermitfm

My Forester 2.0 L just reached 1 year and weeks. The blackvue 650 come with the car don't have enough power to operate after engine is power off (referring to the parking mode). Worst when the car started the next morning the camera didn't wake up at all. However I noticed the GPS LED light is enabled.

I got to remove the power cable from the camera and plug back after few seconds in order for it to work.

I suspect the car battery is below 11.8v!

The car is installed with the old battery model that need to add battery water. Not sure if adding the battery water will help to improve the battery strength.

Hope bros can advice.

Thanks.

My Forester 2.0 L just reached 1 year and weeks. The blackvue 650 come with the car don't have enough power to operate after engine is power off (referring to the parking mode). Worst when the car started the next morning the camera didn't wake up at all. However I noticed the GPS LED light is enabled.

I got to remove the power cable from the camera and plug back after few seconds in order for it to work.

I suspect the car battery is below 11.8v!

The car is installed with the old battery model that need to add battery water. Not sure if adding the battery water will help to improve the battery strength.

Hope bros can advice.

Thanks.

If CEVS surcharge is $5000 does this mean after 10 years, scrap value of $7,500 needs to deduct $5,000 ? Means the owner is left with $2,500 after paying $114k and all that interest on loan and taxes? This is what ASX salesperson said that their car is $0 CEVS...

only CEVS rebate (not surcharge) is deducted from Parf (scrap) value after ten years.

Either he say wrong or you hear wrong.

PARF deduction only happen for cars with CEVS rebates (eg. Vezel). Our car surcharge liao so PARF is safe.

Edited by Pocus

You already paid the $5k surcharge when you buy the car.

At 10yr, you will get the exact scrap value.