mrhan1982 4th Gear June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 Just to share, 1st servicing .. SE called and: a. suggest auto mirrors closing function for $150 - I took up offer, use $100 from DUOS points b. undercoating - which I declined I think that they pumped the tyres really high pressure, felt very light after the servicing. I'll check later. cheers I'm going for 1k servicing this Thursday morning. Going to do auto fold mirror too. It's a lazy man feature. How to check duo points? I nv receive any letter from them so far in duo membership. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 I'm going for 1k servicing this Thursday morning. Going to do auto fold mirror too. It's a lazy man feature. How to check duo points? I nv receive any letter from them so far in duo membership. And I'm a very lazy man. Have you signed up for an account on the Duo website yet? I think you need an account first in order for your car purchase to be credited in points. Then you bug SE or MI to credit the points. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 And I'm a very lazy man. Have you signed up for an account on the Duo website yet? I think you need an account first in order for your car purchase to be credited in points. Then you bug SE or MI to credit the points. On the day I signed up for the car. My DUO point account already created. I received email same day ask me to log in and create my password. The point was zero till I collected my FXT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 On the day I signed up for the car. My DUO point account already created. I received email same day ask me to log in and create my password. The point was zero till I collected my FXT.Oh yah, you're right, I think MI created one for me too, sorry sorry. Took about a week after collecting car for the points to be credited to my account though. My SE told me to wait at least 7 working days, which was quite zhun. I suspect it depends on your SE settling paperwork properly, but at most kpkb (sorry, I mean request courteously) and get the points credited now lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarion 4th Gear June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 Your FXT can take more punishment than that, cos your Vehicle Stability Control VSC didn't even kick in. Once it kicks it you will hear a beep and the info screen will show the message "VSC activated", that's when you know your forester's safety features really saved you. I won't advise risking it. even AWD with good tyres still may have issue on really big puddles. Michelin PS3 is not good enuf even for such situation, I feel Goodyear AS2 was better but still, without traction control, still not sufficient confidence to go 90 or higher... I now stick to 2nd lane in heavy rain to be safe rather than sorry. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iluvchoco 1st Gear June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 Just getting my forester today. Noticed a few things on the way back. 1. The break is quite responsive. But even when i already slow down to 10km/h and then press to bottom, the car still need to go a bit more before completely stop. I then got a bit worried if god forbid i need a e-break someday. 2. The bonnet seems quite hot even just a short trip from jalan kayu (to hv dinner) to punggol at night. Can anyone advise are these common? Thanks. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SJGDKK8 1st Gear June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 Just getting my forester today. Noticed a few things on the way back. 1. The break is quite responsive. But even when i already slow down to 10km/h and then press to bottom, the car still need to go a bit more before completely stop. I then got a bit worried if god forbid i need a e-break someday. 2. The bonnet seems quite hot even just a short trip from jalan kayu (to hv dinner) to punggol at night. Can anyone advise are these common? Thanks. New brake pads need to burn in. Go find a safe spot and do some hard braking and it should be better there after. That is my own experience, not just with FXT but with other new cars I drove before. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 Just getting my forester today. Noticed a few things on the way back. 1. The break is quite responsive. But even when i already slow down to 10km/h and then press to bottom, the car still need to go a bit more before completely stop. I then got a bit worried if god forbid i need a e-break someday. 2. The bonnet seems quite hot even just a short trip from jalan kayu (to hv dinner) to punggol at night. Can anyone advise are these common? Thanks. As @SJGDKK8 says, you probably need to bed in your pads properly. But don't stomp on them. Brake a bit, then release, then repeat. Do it on an empty road, at moderate speed. Braking too hard for too long at this stage may glaze your pads (too much heat), which would ruin them and make your braking power even worse. Your manual should have advice on bedding your pads properly. My Legacy/Outback manual does. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 8, 2016 Share June 8, 2016 Just getting my forester today. Noticed a few things on the way back. 1. The break is quite responsive. But even when i already slow down to 10km/h and then press to bottom, the car still need to go a bit more before completely stop. I then got a bit worried if god forbid i need a e-break someday. 2. The bonnet seems quite hot even just a short trip from jalan kayu (to hv dinner) to punggol at night. Can anyone advise are these common? Thanks. The brake will take about 500km to break in. It will slowly improve. Don't make last mins braking or follow to close. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redfur 1st Gear June 8, 2016 Share June 8, 2016 I also got auto folding mirrors. But realise after that that auto TILT mirror when reversing would be more useful. Not sure if its available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic June 8, 2016 Share June 8, 2016 ya, starting this year, Forester NA is assembled in Malaysia.. think they had very good promotion price of M$120k+++ But FXR still imported and should cost about M$220k ++ since they are starting the CKD models there, hopefully we can more easily source parts and accessories there to complement what we have here. FNA assembled in malaysia ah? but singapore forester still come from japan right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TurboForest 1st Gear June 8, 2016 Share June 8, 2016 Since its just newly started in Malaysia Segambut plant , will need to see future batches if its from Malaysia or singapore. But then MI already do partially assembly here to keep OMV low, imo probably FNA will still be from Japan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic June 8, 2016 Share June 8, 2016 subaru got local assembly plant??? since when sia? Since its just newly started in Malaysia Segambut plant , will need to see future batches if its from Malaysia or singapore. But then MI already do partially assembly here to keep OMV low, imo probably FNA will still be from Japan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TurboForest 1st Gear June 8, 2016 Share June 8, 2016 http://www.fhi.co.jp/press/news-en/2016_02_26_1930/ there u are... the pricing also dropped by tens of thousands due to CKD... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic June 8, 2016 Share June 8, 2016 http://www.fhi.co.jp/press/news-en/2016_02_26_1930/ there u are... the pricing also dropped by tens of thousands due to CKD... malaysia i know. but you were saying subaru does assembly in singapore is new to me. where you see that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
razor54 3rd Gear June 8, 2016 Share June 8, 2016 I won't advise risking it. even AWD with good tyres still may have issue on really big puddles. Michelin PS3 is not good enuf even for such situation, I feel Goodyear AS2 was better but still, without traction control, still not sufficient confidence to go 90 or higher... I now stick to 2nd lane in heavy rain to be safe rather than sorry. Used Goodyear AS2 for my ex-car and it's very good in the wet. Don't mind trying the latest AS3 next, which was supposedly even superior than AS2, but seems like it will not be coming in the default sizing for our FXT here. Unless up a little to 235/50/R18. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
razor54 3rd Gear June 8, 2016 Share June 8, 2016 Just getting my forester today. Noticed a few things on the way back. 1. The break is quite responsive. But even when i already slow down to 10km/h and then press to bottom, the car still need to go a bit more before completely stop. I then got a bit worried if god forbid i need a e-break someday. 2. The bonnet seems quite hot even just a short trip from jalan kayu (to hv dinner) to punggol at night. Can anyone advise are these common? Thanks. As the others had advised, need breaking in period for your brakes to let the pads 'sit' in with your rotors. You will notice improvement in the braking department by the time you go for your 1st servicing. Bonnet hot quite common (and it stays hot for quite a while too). More important is the engine thermostat temperature. I think it's on one of the gauges on the info screen. But no worries...keep to the servicing schedule and it should be fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged June 8, 2016 Share June 8, 2016 Just getting my forester today. Noticed a few things on the way back. 1. The break is quite responsive. But even when i already slow down to 10km/h and then press to bottom, the car still need to go a bit more before completely stop. I then got a bit worried if god forbid i need a e-break someday. 2. The bonnet seems quite hot even just a short trip from jalan kayu (to hv dinner) to punggol at night. Can anyone advise are these common? Thanks. 1: brakes will get better after 1k mileage, however the brake power is still weaker than expected uf braking hard above 100kmh, not sure if its due to its heavy SUV stature. Practice safe driving as try not to tailgate. 2: probably due to the location of the intercooler which is top mounted and the scoop is routed from the front instead of a hole at the top of the hood. Heat traps within. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...