2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Speaking of tyres for xt still no other good replacement for stock?

Go for 235/50/18. There are a lot of choice.

It will fit the stock rim.

Yep, a small puddle of water has no kick on its awd system. Its awd didnt even twitch, let alone trouble VSC to kick in. Even on curvy bends, this car sticks to the road like super glue, of course u can still feel that body roll because of the tall height. really amazing technology. Drove a CX 5 for about 7 months before. It did felt like it has a tight body with better handling, but I realized that it couldn't go pretty fast. (maybe that's y i got the feel that it has good body control and handling) On my XT, sometimes, i got to really check my speedo to realize that i'm actually going quite fast. just a light tap on the throttle and it moves fast without breaking a sweat. As a result, it delivers pretty good FC.

Hmm, always tot that mark x shared same body (platform as GS3000). hence the same interior space (with the big hump behind), but it uses the same engine and gearbox as IS250. Anyway, these types of cars are not meant to be driven fast. They are too comfortable for fast driving. [laugh]

Ok lah, to be fair, the CX5 does have exceptional handling for a SUV. Just that the 2.0 engine didn't do much justice to delivery it. Although I never drive one but I heard the 2.5 version does balance the car out in terms of power and handling. Pretty much like what the Mazda 3 2.0 did to the chassis.

Too bad our tax system favor the smaller engine versions.

In Japan the 2 top SUVs are the Harrier and CX5. Foresters are not that common :( partly due to the pricing.

Edited by Pocus

Ok lah, to be fair, the CX5 does have exceptional handling for a SUV. Just that the 2.0 engine didn't do much justice to delivery it. Although I never drive one but I heard the 2.5 version does balance the car out in terms of power and handling. Pretty much like what the Mazda 3 2.0 did to the chassis.

In Japan the 2 top SUVs are the Harrier and CX5. Foresters are not that common :( partly due to the pricing.

Actually in many part of the world the Forester are selling at a more higher price than others Japanese SUV.

One of my China office colleague is in Singapore now, he just bought a CX5 in China. He mention that the Forester are a lot more expensive there compared to others Japanese SUV so it is not so popular. 

Actually the 2.5L cx5 felt heavy when loaded with 4 adults. The 2.5L one is already 100kg heavier than the 2.0. Both versions have noisy engines, especially during initial acceleration. Initially acceleration is good but it kinda loses steam quickly past 70-80kmph. The 6 speed auto box is very geared towards fuel efficiency. It didn't feel quite planted to the road above 100kmph. Car starts to feel floaty like a typical Jap sedan. Handling is considered good at Low speeds (20-60) around town when traveling with just 1 passenger. When fully loaded, handling feels a bit unbalanced and it loses the fun part.

Just to share, 1st servicing .. SE called and:

a. suggest auto mirrors closing function for $150 - I took up offer, use $100 from DUOS points

b. undercoating - which I declined

I think that they pumped the tyres really high pressure, felt very light after the servicing. I'll check later.

cheers

In JB also :a-fun: , harrier very very very popular!!!!!! :ninja:

Malaysia top 3 SUV is:

1. CRV

2. CX5

3. Harrier/RAV4

very rare to see Forester leh :shy:

Malaysia top 3 SUV is:

1. CRV

2. CX5

3. Harrier/RAV4

next time u drive up north park next to the CRV,CX5,Harrier,Rav 4...

you will be safe :a-fun:

Malaysia top 3 SUV is:

1. CRV

2. CX5

3. Harrier/RAV4

Malaysia local has factory to assemble CRV/CX5/RAV4/Harrier, but Forester is imported from Japan, therefore the price is dramatically different about RM80k, lets say CRV/CX5/RAV4/Harrier/X-Trail only RM140k around, but Forester XT up to RM220k close to Conti SUVs price liao, definitely no market lah :D

Just to share, 1st servicing .. SE called and:

a. suggest auto mirrors closing function for $150 - I took up offer, use $100 from DUOS points

b. undercoating - which I declined

I think that they pumped the tyres really high pressure, felt very light after the servicing. I'll check later.

cheers

Same here bro. 1,000 km servicing today. SA Kelvin asked if I wanna install auto fold gadget using DUO points to offset some cost. That's all he asked.

Cheers!

Yes bro. Even my wife was impressed by him. She's in customer service line for many years and is very particular about this. He's quite careful with freebies but gives good service which is what I like.

Bro. Can PM his name n contact ? Thanks

Malaysia local has factory to assemble CRV/CX5/RAV4/Harrier, but Forester is imported from Japan, therefore the price is dramatically different about RM80k, lets say CRV/CX5/RAV4/Harrier/X-Trail only RM140k around, but Forester XT up to RM220k close to Conti SUVs price liao, definitely no market lah :D

RAV4/Harrier comes from Japan.  These car are mostly imported as used/recon car. 

2015 Harrier price is around RM 200 - 240k

Forester NA is assembled in Malaysia.

CRV/CX5/Forester NA/XV has price within the range of RM 150k - 160k

Same here bro. 1,000 km servicing today. SA Kelvin asked if I wanna install auto fold gadget using DUO points to offset some cost. That's all he asked.

Cheers!

Is the side mirror auto fold really useful? There is already a button to fold the mirror in right?

I was hoping to have a gadget to auto lock the car when i press the brakes or drive off. LOL

Cheers!

You lucky Forester folks. I recall offering to pay to add auto-folding mirrors to my Legacy and being told that it wasn't possible. Pay money leh, also cannot. Who are both of your SAs, please? Maybe I can politely inquire if they can help me out. Thanks in advance.

His name is Kelvin

Is the side mirror auto fold really useful? There is already a button to fold the mirror in right?

I was hoping to have a gadget to auto lock the car when i press the brakes or drive off. LOL

At least it folds when you lock the doors and forget to fold it via pressing the button

Yah, would think an auto lock car when driving off will be good.

ya, starting this year, Forester NA is assembled in Malaysia.. think they had very good promotion price of M$120k+++

But FXR still imported and should cost about M$220k ++

since they are starting the CKD models there, hopefully we can more easily  source parts and accessories there to complement what we have here.