MarkLoh_166156 1st Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Very nice video for Outback/ Forester/XV fans Http://youtu.be/Sar-Z7qciYA Paiseh if this has been posted. Didn't go through all 107 pages of posts ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jg2000 4th Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Very nice video for Outback/ Forester/XV fans Http://youtu.be/Sar-Z7qciYA Paiseh if this has been posted. Didn't go through all 107 pages of posts Nice video - have not seen it before. Shows off the Subaru SUV's strengths - too bad we don't have such space in Singapore to fully make use of them this way (unless anyone know of any kampong dirt track still left in Singapore that civilian can use? military sure got plenty but we can't use). One part of the video shows a bit of drifting which I think has to be specially arranged because the default Vehicle Dynamic stability Control setting plus the All Wheel Drive will prevent normal drivers from trying to do dangerous Fast and Furious drifts on their own. There are ways to minimise the VDC (beyond what the so-called VDC "off" button can do - the "off" button does not really off it - it still will control against drifting). If you search the US forums, they explain how to by-pass the VDC more fully if you are pro enough to know how to do off-road rallying correctly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deepblue06 Neutral Newbie January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 (edited) Found the Jap Forester ad on youtube https://youtu.be/nSKadYowlPE https://youtu.be/co3frZdO1UI Edited January 4, 2016 by Deepblue06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sunnymonk 1st Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 (edited) Hi All, I'm a longtime lurker but 1st time to post. Currently driving a 01/09 Impreza 1.5L and I've been test driving a number of cars because my family has outgrown the hatchback. Cars tested are CX5, X Trail, HRV, Outlander, Forester XT and Outback. The Forester XT is my current favourite even though I had told myself years ago I will not buy another Subaru(due mostly to lack of power and hence my heavy foot resulting in 9km/L FC on my 1.5L ) Anyway I went down to Leng Kee today to talk to the SE who served me in TPY when I drove both the XT and the Outback. Reason for going there was mainly to see the new facelift. Well, the FL is mostly cosmetic as I can see but since the model I saw is the NA version, I can't pass comment until I see the FL XT although I suspect there isn't much difference besides rims. I like the new lights and also the handle when we close the door. In a bid to close out the last remaining stocks of the XT, the SE offered me a pretty decent deal but I didn't bite because I prefer to wait for the Motorshow and check out the cars. Baring any last min changes, I think I will be getting the XT soon. Edited January 4, 2016 by sunnymonk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Anyone got any idea whats the price of the new forester? Seems like alot of new features added and that might add to omv and ultimately increase in selling price.. I think with all the goodies, it might compete with Xtrail's pricing around 135k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sunnymonk 1st Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Anyone got any idea whats the price of the new forester? Seems like alot of new features added and that might add to omv and ultimately increase in selling price.. I think with all the goodies, it might compete with Xtrail's pricing around 135k The SE I spoke to today said the FL is mostly cosmetic and they are still trying to keep OMV low. Hence I think a lot of the changes listed above will hardly show up. Changes confirmed are the lights and the interior refresh + rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 (edited) Headache man.. Thinking whether to change to a 7seater suv like Xtrail or a performance suv like Forester XT. Haha Kia sorento diesel also in my list but thats $164k now Edited January 4, 2016 by Rayoflight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spirited 1st Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Do any of you guys know if the face lift would include GPS? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sunnymonk 1st Gear January 5, 2016 Share January 5, 2016 Headache man.. Thinking whether to change to a 7seater suv like Xtrail or a performance suv like Forester XT. Haha Kia sorento diesel also in my list but thats $164k now I'm also in the same situation. These 2 cars are in my shortlist with the FXT on top due to the power. However, the XT has 2 emergency seats should I need(it's not a true 7 seater as the rear seats are terrible) , slightly better equipment level(dvd, gps, all view cam) and probable cheaper maintenance and better fc. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redfur 1st Gear January 5, 2016 Share January 5, 2016 Unlikely to get GPS. It was my concern as well initially. But realise getting an external unit has its perks too. 1. The voice navigation won't interrupt your songs or radio and you can use the function of the centre console for other purpose. 2. Can double up as a screen for front camera in case you need to park head it. Its likely to be using the same clarion head unit as current model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redfur 1st Gear January 5, 2016 Share January 5, 2016 I'm also in the same situation. These 2 cars are in my shortlist with the FXT on top due to the power. However, the XT has 2 emergency seats should I need(it's not a true 7 seater as the rear seats are terrible) , slightly better equipment level(dvd, gps, all view cam) and probable cheaper maintenance and better fc. My consideration was outback or X trail initially. My mind all set on outback initially. But i set on getting forester xt now. I test drove both outback and x trail. Outback is way much enjoyable to drive then X trail. Dun consider the X trail for the 2 additional seats as its far too dangerous to sit there if there is rear collision. And its really uncomfortable. X trail is way too sluggish and clumsy for my likely coming from a lancer ex 1.5 which is not exactly powerful. And the turning radius sucks. It has better equipment i must agree though. All those 360 view camera and GPS can be added aftermarket into forester if really such a concern. There is no maintenance difference unless its FC. Its 100,000km or 5 years warranty. I take the price difference between outback or x trail and the road tax as rebate for my increased fuel consumption to get the FXT. In exchange, i get to drive a nice powerful car than i know i will enjoy getting into everyday. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic January 5, 2016 Share January 5, 2016 I'm also in the same situation. These 2 cars are in my shortlist with the FXT on top due to the power. However, the XT has 2 emergency seats should I need(it's not a true 7 seater as the rear seats are terrible) , slightly better equipment level(dvd, gps, all view cam) and probable cheaper maintenance and better fc. seems like a lot of people looking at the same cars. qashqai also not bad if you don't need 7 seats. the 1.2T seems damm value for money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
siausin Neutral Newbie January 5, 2016 Share January 5, 2016 (edited) Finally booked an XT after a couple of months of internal meeting with wife boss. She really likes cashcai 2.0 interiors and look but as much as I like cashcai I like XT even more for its more manly look and performance and cheaper price too. I prevail. Edited January 5, 2016 by siausin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redfur 1st Gear January 5, 2016 Share January 5, 2016 Finally booked an XT after a couple of months of internal meeting with wife boss. She really likes cashcai 2.0 interiors and look but as much as I like cashcai I like XT even more for its more manly look and performance and cheaper price too. I prevail. Congratulations! Mind sharing your deal with us? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear January 5, 2016 Share January 5, 2016 (edited) I'm also in the same situation. These 2 cars are in my shortlist with the FXT on top due to the power. However, the XT has 2 emergency seats should I need(it's not a true 7 seater as the rear seats are terrible) , slightly better equipment level(dvd, gps, all view cam) and probable cheaper maintenance and better fc. My mileage per year is about 25k so im also thinking of the turbo diesel option.. The savings from buying a Xtrail/FXT compared to buying a Sorento is already quite substantial. 124k vs 134k vs 164k Currently driving BMW 316i: 25,000km.. each pump avg 650km so i will pump about 38 times a year and each time full tank is $100 after discount = $3900 a year on petrol Sorento 2.2D - 2.2L Diesel road tax = $2200 per year Diesel per litre after discount is about $1 Assuming 60L full tank, $60 each pump, 38 pumps per year : =$2280 $2200+$2280= $4480 per year 10years = $44,800 XTRAIL/ FXT 2.0L petrol 2L road tax - $1200 per year Petrol (95) per litre after discount is avg $1.85 (this is more volatile than stock mkt) Assuming 60L full tank, avg $110 full tank 38 pumps per year : $4180 $1200 + $4180 = $5380 10 years = $53,800 So there's about savings of $9,000 over 10years (900 per year) however Sorento is 30k-40k more expensive. I hope my calculation is correct.. actually like that calculate like not much savings also.. $900 per year nia. Of course, just assumption only. Somemore petrol price is very volatile. I think ultimately i like the option of having a 7seater.. i have a 7mths old now.. probably incoming another one in 2017.. so sometimes with in laws, really need the extra seats. Having driven a subaru autowrx before, i really like how powerful and firm subaru cars are.. Another option will be Citroen Grand Picasso diesel Edited January 5, 2016 by Rayoflight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear January 5, 2016 Share January 5, 2016 (edited) My consideration was outback or X trail initially. My mind all set on outback initially. But i set on getting forester xt now. I test drove both outback and x trail. Outback is way much enjoyable to drive then X trail. Dun consider the X trail for the 2 additional seats as its far too dangerous to sit there if there is rear collision. And its really uncomfortable. X trail is way too sluggish and clumsy for my likely coming from a lancer ex 1.5 which is not exactly powerful. And the turning radius sucks. It has better equipment i must agree though. All those 360 view camera and GPS can be added aftermarket into forester if really such a concern. There is no maintenance difference unless its FC. Its 100,000km or 5 years warranty. I take the price difference between outback or x trail and the road tax as rebate for my increased fuel consumption to get the FXT. In exchange, i get to drive a nice powerful car than i know i will enjoy getting into everyday. After driving a turbocharged car, very unlikely to head back to NA.. haha i just watched this and they mentioned the boot is made of plastic to save weight.. wah like that... no really safe leh Will cross out Xtrail from my buylist liao.. is it true it's 2 airbags only? Edited January 5, 2016 by Rayoflight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged January 5, 2016 Share January 5, 2016 (edited) After driving a turbocharged car, very unlikely to head back to NA.. haha i just watched this and they mentioned the boot is made of plastic to save weight.. wah like that... no really safe leh Will cross out Xtrail from my buylist liao.. is it true it's 2 airbags only? Think local abit different. I remember local got more airbags. Local also got sunroof. Also, most trims are plastic anyway, it's the internal structure that counts. I believe the Xtrail is still very safe. Edited January 5, 2016 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redfur 1st Gear January 5, 2016 Share January 5, 2016 (edited) Malaysia X trail is assembled in Malaysia and is half the price of the forester in malaysia. (i think..if not close to half). Our sg version is from japan. Cannot take the MY version to compare in terms of specs and safety. Edited January 5, 2016 by Redfur ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...