2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Don't judge based on the % of the accelerator, use the instantaneous FC readout.

This one will tell you if you are wasting fuel at that point of time while you drive, then you adjust accordingly.

low % acceleration may not pull enough power to move the heavy chassis. No momentum will eat fuel more.

Better to step more to get momentum and save more fuel.

Thanks for the info, will switch to this gauge & see if it works.  Anyway, I always think, that if you're always pondering over the fuel consumption, you'll lose the fun of driving a turbo Subaru...like what others say, if you want fuel efficiency, go buy a Toyota instead  [:p] ...

IMHO, don't expect great FC for city driving.

7~8 are consider good FC for subaru car for city driving...

Yup...I'm sure its mainly bcos of my 80% city; 20% highway route that's the main cause...bo pian lah...

As far as I know.. The engine oil is synthetic from the get-go. :)

Ohh...?  I heard the 1st initial oil is mineral...so it'll be great if it's started with synthetic...

Audio shop should have rubber noise insulation seal for the door..

Am trying out this door seal with my installer...will update if there's any improvements...

post-74307-0-58024000-1444961960.jpg

Am also doing sound proofing at the back & at all doors yesterday, during the installation of the current stock sound system, to my previous system in my previous car.  But I will be retaining the current HU, as my previous HU's not suitable for 2-din space.  Here are some pics to share :

post-74307-0-42124600-1444961786_thumb.jpg

post-74307-0-00084300-1444961801_thumb.jpg

post-74307-0-41232100-1444961815.jpg

post-74307-0-85961700-1444961876_thumb.jpg

post-74307-0-91422500-1444962121_thumb.jpg

post-74307-0-14826300-1444962185_thumb.jpg

post-74307-0-54825000-1444961924_thumb.jpg

Will upload more pics progressively...

The default is "I" mode.

Sporty modes are "s" mode and "s#" mode.

There's a debate which mode offers the most balance drive in terms of economy and power. For mostly highway driving s# mode may be better, for mostly city driving i mode is still the way to go.

So what is the different between S and S#?

S# will holder the rpm higher than S before gear change.

S# will change the gear to 8 spd.

S# will holder the rpm higher than S before gear change.

S# will change the gear to 8 spd.

arh... that's why S# is good for highway driving....

Thanx for the feedback.

thanks for clarifying on the different modes.

Am i right to say the different mode will at most affect only the FC but not the longevity of the gearbox? 

hehe should be fun to be in perm S# or at least S mode ? hehe

remember I mode to be abit laggy when i test drive it.

Fuel consumption increased after sound proofing? :)

Am trying out this door seal with my installer...will update if there's any improvements...

attachicon.gifImg_1630.jpg

Am also doing sound proofing at the back & at all doors yesterday, during the installation of the current stock sound system, to my previous system in my previous car.  But I will be retaining the current HU, as my previous HU's not suitable for 2-din space.  Here are some pics to share :

attachicon.gifImg_1635.jpg

attachicon.gifImg_1649.jpg

attachicon.gifImage1.jpg

attachicon.gifImage2.jpg

attachicon.gifImage3.jpg

attachicon.gifImg_1643.jpg

attachicon.gifImage4.jpg

Fuel consumption increased after sound proofing? :)

haha...nope, like I mentioned in my earlier post, I've actually given up on pondering over fuel consumption liao...as what I've did in my previous ride.  I did the sound proofing is b'cos of my sound system, as well as the additional door seal on all doors, to try to reduce wind noise...

Yup, the added weight of the sound proofing materials will add on to the fuel consumption for sure haha...

Edited by Grisson

attachicon.gifImg_1630.jpg

attachicon.gifImage4.jpg

Hmm? Yours sensors factory fitted? When I was considering Forester two months ago, they told me the rear sensors are locally fitted and front sensors optional with a dedicated display mounted on dash.

oops, my bad, I meant locally fitted reverse sensor by MI...

Edited by Grisson

Front sensors are freebies or have to pay?

Unless you can get your SE to provide the front sensors for free.... otherwise have to pay S$220 (2 points) or S$280 (4 points) for the front sensors excluding GST from MI

The default is "I" mode.

Sporty modes are "s" mode and "s#" mode.

There's a debate which mode offers the most balance drive in terms of economy and power. For mostly highway driving s# mode may be better, for mostly city driving i mode is still the way to go.

Hey bro,  for "sport sharp" (S#) on highway driving, gear 8, the rpm is higher by a few hundred as compared to "I" mode with gear 6.  In this instance, S# should be burning more fuel right? 

S# gear 8 and I mode gear 6 same rpm,

but S# gear 6 rpm higher than I mode gear 6

at the time quote me have to pay. I can't remember how much for 2 or 4 points

S# gear 8 and I mode gear 6 same rpm,

but S# gear 6 rpm higher than I mode gear 6

Hi Quantum,  I tried on my way home yesterday evening and yes the rpm remain unchanged. But, during cruise control at about 95km/h on "I" mode at about 1600rpm, the rpm increase to 2,000rpm when I switch to "S#"

Hi Quantum, I tried on my way home yesterday evening and yes the rpm remain unchanged. But, during cruise control at about 95km/h on "I" mode at about 1600rpm, the rpm increase to 2,000rpm when I switch to "S#"

If S# mode @2000rpm, gear should not be at 8, maybe gear 6 or 7

Edited by MQX87511