Picnic 1st Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 With the recent spate of car theft in M'sia for cars with keyless entry (apparently), I'm wondering if we lock the car with the key remote, does the car still emit radio waves to sense the presence of the key nearby? Or worst case, use the mechanical key. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Mr Bean method is the best though it looks stupiak. But, in light of modern ease of hijacking your car through radio waves, he ain't stupiak. With the recent spate of car theft in M'sia for cars with keyless entry (apparently), I'm wondering if we lock the car with the key remote, does the car still emit radio waves to sense the presence of the key nearby? Or worst case, use the mechanical key. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lao_Ah_Di Neutral Newbie August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 My bid was successful. Will be seeing the car in 1-2 weeks time :) Officially a subbie oldboy. Next is to find out what kinda mods won't void the warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitemondeo 1st Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Just collected. All seems good. First thing I noticed is the solar film. Quite weak compared for my older car, can feel the sun burning the skin. Looks like going to change soon. congrat to your new ride. Any chance to meet up for coffee? Got my ride today :> Some surprise to me when collect the car 1. Battery is maintenance type, not maintenance free battery. 2. Car if need to install alarm have to do it at MI 3. Car can unlock without key, only using pin :) Enjoy your new ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Got my ride today :> Some surprise to me when collect the car 1. Battery is maintenance type, not maintenance free battery. 2. Car if need to install alarm have to do it at MI 3. Car can unlock without key, only using pin :) really? never noticed it's not maintenance free battery my battery one and half year already, never check lah My bid was successful. Will be seeing the car in 1-2 weeks time :) Officially a subbie oldboy. Next is to find out what kinda mods won't void the warranty. outside WS can tune the engine to 306bhp/400Nm to reach Forester STi performance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Only following is legal. 1. Weight Mod of Driver 2. Stickers 3. Decal The rest all illegal . My bid was successful. Will be seeing the car in 1-2 weeks time :)Officially a subbie oldboy.Next is to find out what kinda mods won't void the warranty. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JustGoodTrades 4th Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Only following is legal. 1. Weight Mod of Driver 2. Stickers 3. Decal The rest all illegal . Hahaha.... Mod (1) every year is increasing and hence power keeps reducing... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 With the recent spate of car theft in M'sia for cars with keyless entry (apparently), I'm wondering if we lock the car with the key remote, does the car still emit radio waves to sense the presence of the key nearby? Or worst case, use the mechanical key. According to manual keyless entry can be disabled. Can rely solely on remote locking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lao_Ah_Di Neutral Newbie August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 (edited) Only following is legal. 1. Weight Mod of Driver 2. Stickers 3. Decal The rest all illegal . This is bad lol. Anyways brakes, rims, exhaust, suspensions are the mods I am looking at. But I read that rims might void the warranty and Exhaust won't, to be confirmed. Edited August 20, 2015 by Lao_Ah_Di Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cantina 3rd Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 This is bad lol. Anyways brakes, rims, exhaust, suspensions are the mods I am looking at. But I read that rims might void the warranty and Exhaust won't, to be confirmed. STI rims from motorimage won't. But they come with a price.... but have to check if they are at least 7.5 x 18j. No point if they are stil 7x 18j Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goman888 1st Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Got my ride today :> Some surprise to me when collect the car 1. Battery is maintenance type, not maintenance free battery. 2. Car if need to install alarm have to do it at MI 3. Car can unlock without key, only using pin :) I just checked with one of mi friend who got the forester last year from MI and his car battery is those maintenance free type. Anyway not sure if we can get MI to replace the battery water type to the maintenance free type ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 (edited) really? never noticed it's not maintenance free battery my battery one and half year already, never check lah outside WS can tune the engine to 306bhp/400Nm to reach Forester STi performance 306bhp/400nm shiok shiok sia.. miss that pullback feeling on my autorex.... first change air filter, then upsize intercooler, open up exhaust then go tune.. after that change to lowering springs/coilover and lower to MPV stance.. can go cek taxis liao Edited August 20, 2015 by Rayoflight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Got my ride today :> Some surprise to me when collect the car 1. Battery is maintenance type, not maintenance free battery. 2. Car if need to install alarm have to do it at MI 3. Car can unlock without key, only using pin :) I take non maintenance free anytime... Lesser leakage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
foreput Neutral Newbie August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Just wonder does paint protector really work and able to last for 3 years. Any advise? Just wonder does paint protector really work and able to last for 3 years. Any advise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 (edited) Just wonder does paint protector really work and able to last for 3 years. Any advise? Just wonder does paint protector really work and able to last for 3 years. Any advise? It really works! Washing is so much easier as the water beads away very fast. Shine is still looking great after many many washes. Of course, you still need to take care of the car.. like wash regularly etc. Whether it last for 3years, not really sure.. but i think probably 1year once, i will do it.. same as signing those wax packages which cost above $1k but some people say.. might as well go respray after 3years hahaha Edited August 20, 2015 by Rayoflight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picnic 1st Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Without touching on the driving, the immediate things I frowl upon is: - No Auto central locking. You have to central lock the car yourself. - No Auto unlock when You open your door, you have to press "unlock" first then open the door - No Auto mirror folding, you have to press the button to fold manually. - No Auto window up/down for passenger windows. you have to press and hold the button to wind up and down their windows. Any idea where can we install the auto central locking when driving off? I'm used to the car locking after driving off, I'm sure I'll forget to lock it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cmdsea 3rd Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Ouch.. http://www.autoguide.com/auto-news/2015/06/10-worst-car-brands-in-initial-quality.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goman888 1st Gear August 20, 2015 Share August 20, 2015 Hi I am thinking of removing my current DVD player including sub woofer and arms before giving my old car to MI when collecting my forester. I was informed these items can sell for some price. Not sure if any brothers know where can I engage professional to remove these items with minimum cost ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...