Tjkbeluga 5th Gear May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 Our main problem is not the lack of material. It is the lack of space to dump it. We dont have the full 200 mile EEZ (or even a fraction of it) which all our neighbours enjoy cos we are hemmed in north south east west by Indonesia and Malaysia. We are pretty much at our limits of reclamation aleady. Correct me if I'm wrong, If we were to further extend the east coast out to the sea by, say a km, isn't it not within the sovereignty of SG to do so? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic May 19, 2015 Author Share May 19, 2015 Haha... ya, my ex co also initially offshore the back-end and shared services to INDIA too.. Then.... the co gave up and offshore to Philippines and some back to SG... Why? Bec our folks cannot understand the way the indians speak (even tho it is in English !) and the keling accounting too "smart" until our accounting folks cannot accept the way they are doing it.. also the stubborness of the indians to talk their way out of the mess they created (or try to taichi the blame to others), made working with them untenable. Some US co also onshoring some of the work back to USA bec offshore just can't work sometimes with foreigners.... Keh leng siao? Sometimes you go to prata shop and eat then u ask for bill, the guy come to your table move move his fingers and his head then tell you $8.60. U ask him to break it down then he stunned like vegetable. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 years ago my cousin, a port crane operator, was retrenched and his position replaced by fw, mynamese, i think it was a good living for my counsin, who didnt study much he was angry with pap i am too, for him i dont know, maybe the end would have come sanyway better the earilier han later? rather than blame PAP and FT. shouldn't he reflect on why he was axed? if he was doing well and being productive, would the coy get rid of him? there is always 2 sides to a coin 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 MY may not suffer if the Chinese come in and "offer" kopi $$ to take over the operation of the ports.. like they came into JB n swop up all the land.. dun think our MY frens would refuse a huge platter of $$ in front of them to soothe their lost biz... $ still $ ma.. but on a strategic note, who controls the canal? China funded, china operated = china owned.. so any thing happen china will let go control? Seems like a tom clancy story brewing here.. if push comes to shove, will china deploy "security guards" = PLA to protect this vital tpt link? But i doubt this will occur, as Myanmar, Thailand is not so pro US like SG & may "cooperate" with the Chinese.. Maybe the US 7th Fleet may move to Philippines or even Vietnam to counter this new canal... PSA and CNB can kiss biz bye bye.... JB now swallowing their own pride & saliva leow..... A lot of China projects had scaled down or withdrawn due to corruption clamp down by the President of China. The chinese businessmen are laundering $$$$$ by buying up properties or support projects and resold at a profit of which turns into legally earned $$$$$. Rumours had been spreading for sometimes leow that the condo projects had slowed or scaled down and the investment money are not forthcoming from China businessmen as the clamp down in China take a serious toll on them. How true the rumours, just wait and see the condo projects which suppose to complete by end 2016 on a man made island. To date as one pass bye 2nd link to JB, still can't see any structures of a buildings.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 First thing come to my mind is, can singapore be the dumping backyard for the land that was dug out? I know it's impossible but I'm sure gahmen will be damn lau nuah. that much land, we will either be joined with our northern or southern neighbour liao lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 The port business contribute 6.5% of Singapore GDP annually. It hurts but I don't think that it will bring the whole economy down... There are multiple effects. 1) Shipping lines. 2) Warehousing providers. 3) Property owners. 4) End users If the canal takes place, it will cost the shipping line cheaper for them to move the goods say China to India. Currently they are maximizing the ships capabilities using Singapore as transshipment hence lowering per unit ship. Once the canal is open, they will introduce direct service from China to India bypassing Singapore. Thereafter, it will cost higher to import goods into Singapore as a smaller vessel is being used. Warehousing providers will suffer as no one will use Singapore as a distribution hub. Once the warehouse is not able to expand its operations, the rental business also going down as we are currently oversupplied with warehousing space. It's costlier to import, it's costlier to store, it will be costlier for the end users. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 with so many ERPs and new GPS ERP, think fish will avoid SG too. Temasik was destroyed by physical warfare by their neighbours in the past....back to future.....we will be back to those days again but this time by economic warfares by their neighbours. Shucks...better learn how to fish now .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 It is really something that we expect to happen and i believe that there should be some contingency plans. The Straits of Malacca is one of the waterway with lots of pirates and this is definitely good news for shipping company. Loses for Singapore ... definitely but it still make sense to clear the port in prime land Tanjong Pagar. For China, the benefits is obvious. I suppose the pirates were there because of the security and the amount of ships passing thru that region. I don't see why pirates wouldn't move north if their money moves there.. if thailand is able to stable their politics, we're dead shit.. financial hubs and all can say bye bye too.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 PRC mei mei still come here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 Correct me if I'm wrong, If we were to further extend the east coast out to the sea by, say a km, isn't it not within the sovereignty of SG to do so? East coast as in the East Coast Parkway? Or you mean the east of Singapore (area east of Changi airport?) For ECP, I think we need the area south of it for shipping channel and offshore anchorage, we would be bumping against Indonesian territory and international shipping channels further south. East of airport, we nudge against Johor turf I think. Anyone has more info on this? I am just deducing from maps but it doesn't look like we have much sea space left that we can use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 I suppose the pirates were there because of the security and the amount of ships passing thru that region. I don't see why pirates wouldn't move north if their money moves there.. if thailand is able to stable their politics, we're dead shit.. financial hubs and all can say bye bye too.. As for the pirates, I think they'll have a harder time haressing the passing ships as the PLAN already have naval bases in Pakistan, Myanmar, and also in the South China Sea.. so the PLAN will be able to secure the SLOC, and the Chinese are not shy to blast the shit out of anybody messing around with their boats... As for the Thais, I think they are capable if they can get their politics straight, and this chess game is anybody's guess down the road.. many interests will be at stake once this canal is open... East coast as in the East Coast Parkway? Or you mean the east of Singapore (area east of Changi airport?) For ECP, I think we need the area south of it for shipping channel and offshore anchorage, we would be bumping against Indonesian territory and international shipping channels further south. East of airport, we nudge against Johor turf I think. Anyone has more info on this? I am just deducing from maps but it doesn't look like we have much sea space left that we can use. I think can merge with tekong and coney island, thats it for NE side.. further south I think can merge with Jurong island if we really want to.. but for what? if this canal will have significant impact, then no need more shipping & supporting facilities liao.. Will we revert back to the 80s again? With less foreigners (since they'll cha bot with no jobs here) and assets prices will come down? Between a rock and a hard place if you ask me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 I suppose the pirates were there because of the security and the amount of ships passing thru that region. I don't see why pirates wouldn't move north if their money moves there.. if thailand is able to stable their politics, we're dead shit.. financial hubs and all can say bye bye too.. do u know thai work culture n do u ahve thai friends? if boleh got rubber time, there is stretch rubber time... totally diff attitude compared to SG IMO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 The port business contribute 6.5% of Singapore GDP annually. It hurts but I don't think that it will bring the whole economy down... no offense but i think it is too naive to think that it will only affect 6.5% of our GDP.. though the port only contributes 6.5% in numbers, there are many other things such as financial hub that are here because of the port.. the damage imho would be much bigger than 6.5% as stated.. recently saw news that govt seems to be pushing cyber security a lot. hope that is something we can excel in and an alternative from the port revenues.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 big news but not carried by our papers yet so far only these news: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/opinion/eye-singapore/story/the-next-50-years-singapores-economy-20141113 http://www.stasiareport.com/the-big-story/asia-report/thailand/story/thailand%E2%80%99s-dreams-kra-20150409 http://news.asiaone.com/news/asia/thai-junta-resurrects-plan-build-andaman-port?page=0%2C1 the second article makes a lot of sense: "“The Straits of Malacca is going to be congested in 10-15 years. It’s capacity is 122,000 ships a year, but by year 2025, that will reach 140,000 ships per year,’’ he said in an interview with The Straits Times." I no expert but accordingly to this the ship trade projection will go up. the canal is a canal not an open sea, we need to be concern but no need to be knee-jerking... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 (edited) do u know thai work culture n do u ahve thai friends? if boleh got rubber time, there is stretch rubber time... totally diff attitude compared to SG IMO. yes I have work with Thai before.. they may have the more "bo chap" or "relaxed" attitude than us but so is even the ang mohs.. besides, i don't see why their culture wouldn't change if the canal were to be true. like I said, if thai were to be able to stable their politics and with the canal, I don't see what is stopping the banks from moving their financial hubs there.. we can't bet on our neighbours failing all the time.. I always believe that we are just fortunate that all these while, our neighbours are too lazy and corrupted.. Edited May 19, 2015 by Knoobie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 do u know thai work culture n do u ahve thai friends? if boleh got rubber time, there is stretch rubber time... totally diff attitude compared to SG IMO. Not to mention the language too .... We still have the advantage with English. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 (edited) There are multiple effects. 1) Shipping lines. 2) Warehousing providers. 3) Property owners. 4) End users If the canal takes place, it will cost the shipping line cheaper for them to move the goods say China to India. Currently they are maximizing the ships capabilities using Singapore as transshipment hence lowering per unit ship. Once the canal is open, they will introduce direct service from China to India bypassing Singapore. Thereafter, it will cost higher to import goods into Singapore as a smaller vessel is being used. Warehousing providers will suffer as no one will use Singapore as a distribution hub. Once the warehouse is not able to expand its operations, the rental business also going down as we are currently oversupplied with warehousing space. It's costlier to import, it's costlier to store, it will be costlier for the end users. Actually, it is not the shipping lines that will benefit but the customers that need things shipped. Shipping lines will in fact lose out as there will be excess capacity (shorter distance means the ships can do more trips) and pressure prices to go lower (in theory, more than the savings from the shorter distance). Edited May 19, 2015 by Kusje 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 in case pple forgot: http://business.asiaone.com/news/temasek-single-largest-foreign-investor-chinese-banks-report ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...