Kra canal affect Singapore Port

Fcw75

u agree with you

casino is a industry with a low barrier to entry

the lack of ideas, a sign of desperation, is frightening

Japan now also desperate liao.... Recently, they sent a delegation to SG to study our casinos. Hope they don't follow our slippery slope.

Japan so high tech with so many own tech companies to create more value, why waste it?

Perhaps it's a "karma" when MNCs start too much offshoring, thereby depriving their own citizens of their rice bowls, skills......

Edited by Kangadrool

note that is the China initiative, so its partly their property.

so China shipments are the priority, which we will miss.

but more importantly, we are not resting on our LP laurels

years ago my cousin, a port crane operator, was retrenched and his position replaced by fw, mynamese, i think

it was a good living for my counsin, who didnt study much

he was angry with pap

i am too, for him

i dont know, maybe the end would have come sanyway

better the earilier han later?

The end and the beginning of escalated diaspora?

It is really something that we expect to happen and i believe that there should be some contingency plans.

The Straits of Malacca is one of the waterway with lots of pirates and this is definitely good news for shipping company.

Loses for Singapore ... definitely but it still make sense to clear the port in prime land Tanjong Pagar.

For China, the benefits is obvious.

China is a big player in minor country's politics/geographical development because it has the money, and the cunning.

朝秦暮楚 is apt to describe China's act. They are also employing classic Sun Zi's stratagem

What China doing now is what USA, Dutch, Portugese & British Empire had been doing in the past ...

Flex their muscles all the way to Asia & SEA and onto Australia & NZ... :a-rip2:

China at that time only thinking of trades and of which Admiral Cheng Ho travelled all the way to Africa continent.

Now China started to do it by not showing power & muscles. They are using economy support and infrastructure to SEA nations in order to gain support and spreading influences. If SEA nations don't do trade with China, then they will have to find other means to boost their country economy.

Can forget about USA or European countries help cos they only doing it for their own interest like what common ppl called it "Protectionism" ... :ninja:

I had a discussion with an elderly Singaporean who bring customers to Thailand on guided tour once said, it would be impossible for Thailand to go ahead with this plan, as the south always wanted independence, and cutting the southern tip across the Kra Isthmus gives them a legitimate boundary..

Oh yeah..you're right.

Dig the Kra canal and you're telling the muslim South, they have a legitimate claim to independence from BKK.

Competition from MY is less frightening than TH's Kra project.

We have seen many big shipping lines shifting to MY, but still keep SG as a backup. We know what's the realities when these companies start operations there though in the headline news, all say good things... Why would a big shipping carrier makes two calls nearby, one to dump empty containers and one to dump sensitive cargoes like DG and reefers here?

TH is different, the people's attitude are so much better though recent political instability does have a little impact on their competitiveness.

Sounds interesting. Could you explain this further? I was not aware.

This is a massive project and huge investment but long term, if they managed it well, it is a good source of income through toll. Not just fuel cost, also time which is money. Just earn the fuel cost and people will still use it. To be frank, too many in SG, esp younger gen taking things for granted. Not every day is sunny day. To certain extend, SG has diversify but this will still impact SG but not as much as what it would be if it has materialise earlier.

agree. SG would have suffered badly if this happens in the 70's/80's.

Its a matter of times lar......

It had been planned since the late 90's and Thailand had in fact pre warned SG about it. We thereby had since concentrating on other means of earning our GDP ... :a-panic:

MY will suffer the most cos of their 2 huge container ports (which not fully used) in West & East of JB and Iskandar projects... [sweatdrop]

MY may not suffer if the Chinese come in and "offer" kopi $$ to take over the operation of the ports.. like they came into JB n swop up all the land.. dun think our MY frens would refuse a huge platter of $$ in front of them to soothe their lost biz... $ still $ ma..

but on a strategic note, who controls the canal? China funded, china operated = china owned.. so any thing happen china will let go control? Seems like a tom clancy story brewing here.. if push comes to shove, will china deploy "security guards" = PLA to protect this vital tpt link? But i doubt this will occur, as Myanmar, Thailand is not so pro US like SG & may "cooperate" with the Chinese.. Maybe the US 7th Fleet may move to Philippines or even Vietnam to counter this new canal... PSA and CNB can kiss biz bye bye....

that would reveal too much here. Obviously, it's a connectivity and reliability issue.

I also know of shipping company shifting their accounting and documentation teams from SG to MY, and in a matter of less than a year, decide to abandon and shift to India.

My previous employer did the same thing, offshoring to MY. Hope their wise decision pays off after past "failures" - got to shift HQ from KL to SG, now shift lower-end productions from SG to KL. LOL...

MY is a great country.... to have your nice holidays, but once you start working there..... [bigcry]

Sounds interesting. Could you explain this further? I was not aware.

Edited by Kangadrool

First thing come to my mind is, can singapore be the dumping backyard for the land that was dug out? I know it's impossible but I'm sure gahmen will be damn lau nuah.

Our main problem is not the lack of material. It is the lack of space to dump it. We dont have the full 200 mile EEZ (or even a fraction of it) which all our neighbours enjoy cos we are hemmed in north south east west by Indonesia and Malaysia. We are pretty much at our limits of reclamation aleady.

that would reveal too much here. Obviously, it's a connectivity and reliability issue.

I also know of shipping company shifting their accounting and documentation teams from SG to MY, and in a matter of less than a year, decide to abandon and shift to India.

My previous employer did the same thing, offshoring to MY. Hope their wise decision pays off after past "failures" - got to shift HQ from KL to SG, now shift lower-end productions from SG to KL. LOL...

MY is a great country.... to have your nice holidays, but once you start working there..... [bigcry]

Haha... ya, my ex co also initially offshore the back-end and shared services to INDIA too..

Then.... the co gave up and offshore to Philippines and some back to SG...

Why? Bec our folks cannot understand the way the indians speak (even tho it is in English !) and the keling accounting too "smart" until our accounting folks cannot accept the way they are doing it.. also the stubborness of the indians to talk their way out of the mess they created (or try to taichi the blame to others), made working with them untenable.

Some US co also onshoring some of the work back to USA bec offshore just can't work sometimes with foreigners....

With a canal cutting the south off.

It's a matter of time before ISIS or AQ or some other franchise takes up the chance and stir some new caliphate or xxx-stan.

The Thais can't be crazy, wait till they make official announcement cos it's seems is just the PRC doing the big talk.

Malaysia will find its johor ports on an even worst situation than singapore. And that's just the port.

They were accused of secretly supporting Thais Muslim insurgents before. They may decide to do it again just to sabotage the canal.

Indonesia has its own big plans to develop its ports and economy, it's THE sleeping giant in ASEAN. The canal doesn't benefit it one little bit.

It's way too early la.

Come back in a few years.

The port business contribute 6.5% of Singapore GDP annually. It hurts but I don't think that it will bring the whole economy down...

Temasik was destroyed by physical warfare by their neighbours in the past....back to future.....we will be back to those days again but this time by economic warfares by their neighbours. Shucks...better learn how to fish now ....