Kra canal affect Singapore Port

Fcw75

Thai King not happy with Singapore?

Not very sure how he feel about Singapore.

But his health conditions doesn't looked like the best.

But no news is good news for the Thai subjects.

:slow: I actually forgotten that Thailand is still under martial law.

Martial law was lifted over a month ago on Thai king's approval.

Having said that, it is clear the military takeover did not get western support and hence the junta now seeking closer tie with China.

Thai King not happy with Singapore?

I am not sure if the king is interested in foreign affairs. I mean if there is any royal influence against Singaproe, SAF wouldn't be conducting yearly ex. or deployment there long ago.

The gov quick denial of this rumor is a sure sign that something is going on.

Rumor or not, just by the news of possible Kra canal development has already receive quite abit of attention and perhaps diplomatic reaction in the background.

And if China is really going to be involved, we know the Project may come sooner than expected, going by China's track records of putting its money where the mouth is.

You are aware that the US is not a signatory of the United Nations Conference (Convention) on the Law of the Sea right? I am not too sure how you define exercising internationally recognised freedom of navigation rights.

I am not only well aware of US failure to ratify the UNCLOS, but also understand that its decision not to is because of political self interest and fear that this Agreement will bind its military activities in internatioanal seas.

Which is why I pointed out the dangerous of assumption that USN can simply impose blockade or conduct interdiction without UN mandate and failing to consider any naval blockade in bottlenecks like Malacca Straits or even Kra canal can be extremely damaging not just for China economy, but for all the rest of Pacific rim countries.

IMO, that simple act of naval blockade can be consider as an act of War itself when any country's lifeline gets strangled.

This is the same principle in which Singapore will militarily respond when our water supply from JB is cut.

* BTW, the "C" in UNCLOS refers to "Convention", not "conference".

Valemaxs calls Singapore for the sole purpose of picking up bunkers / lube oil . Singapore is the world biggest bunkering port in terms of volume

No cargoes are discharged here , singapore do not have steel mills non iron ore storage tanks .

Have not heard of any valemaxs that have is charged their full load of 400k of cargoes in any China ports ...

Here is what I found. May not be a complete unban, but neverthelss some Valemax was allowed into China's port.

http://www.mining.com/valemax-finally-allowed-at-chinese-port-51195/

Last question is, how do you view how Singapore can gain (or loose) from creation of alternative route like Kra, if it ever come to fruition ?

This question , dun think I am qualify to answer , you need to ask our ministers or the experts to answer

Just asking about your personal POV, considering you are in the energy trade.. I mean since Singapore is the largest bunkering facility in this region and Valemax ships calls our port frequently , I would assume the Kra route may be more of bonus rather than a threat ?

I am not sure if the king is interested in foreign affairs. I mean if there is any royal influence against Singaproe, SAF wouldn't be conducting yearly ex. or deployment there long ago.

that time shincorp deal, someone declared it's was perfectly above aboard by Thai laws mah

let's not kid ourselves, if the Thai king says it's illegal by decree, who is an outsider to say it's legal

that time shincorp deal, someone declared it's was perfectly above aboard by Thai laws mah

let's not kid ourselves, if the Thai king says it's illegal by decree, who is an outsider to say it's legal

guess who activated and called for the coup in the background??

I am not at all sure how the shincorp deal (which is nearly 9 years ago) has anything to do with sudden interest in the Kra canal project.

If fact, you even ponder about the fall of Thaksin and Yingluck or Thai king buai-song with Singapore are all related to the canal.

While it is fun to past speculations and fantasize conspiracy theories the relation, it is still a fact that without China or any external help, Thailand cannot undertake such huge project on its own, regardless they like Singapore or not. [:p]

I am not at all sure how the shincorp deal (which is nearly 9 years ago) has anything to do with sudden interest in the Kra canal project.

If fact, you even ponder about the fall of Thaksin and Yingluck or Thai king buai-song with Singapore are all related to the canal.

While it is fun to past speculations and fantasize conspiracy theories the relation, it is still a fact that without China or any external help, Thailand cannot undertake such huge project on its own, regardless they like Singapore or not. [:p]

Thailand self preservation in WWII, allow the IJA to use Thai soil as staging ground for the Malayan invasion and Indonesian invasion.

During Vietnam war, Thailand was the staging ground for USAF bombing of Vietnam

Now cut canal obviously is to settle score with external help

Thailand self preservation in WWII, allow the IJA to use Thai soil as staging ground for the Malayan invasion and Indonesian invasion.

During Vietnam war, Thailand was the staging ground for USAF bombing of Vietnam

Now cut canal obviously is to settle score with external help

brother, the Kra canal was suggested over 400 years ago by a Thai king.

That is long before Raffles came to Singapore, and way before WW2 and the Vietnam war.

So I don't undertand how your latest hypothesis about "settle score" over those events are any more rational than the Thaksin/Yingluck or Thai king not happy with Singapore as suggusted previously ?

As I wrote before, while it is fun to pass speculations and fantasize conspiracy theories about why build the canal, it is remains a fact that without China or any external help, Thailand cannot undertake such huge project on its own, regardless they like Singapore or not.

brother, the Kra canal was suggested over 400 years ago by a Thai king.

That is long before Raffles came to Singapore, and way before WW2 and the Vietnam war.

So I don't undertand how your latest hypothesis about "settle score" over those events are any more rational than the Thaksin/Yingluck or Thai king not happy with Singapore as suggusted previously ?

As I wrote before, while it is fun to pass speculations and fantasize conspiracy theories about why build the canal, it is remains a fact that without China or any external help, Thailand cannot undertake such huge project on its own, regardless they like Singapore or not.

Like you say idea there 400 year Liao, now want to build is settle score mah

If they could build it 400 years ago, they would. Spend billions to settle score ?? Tau kak wu pai boh ?

Last time fighting Burma more important lah

Like you say idea there 400 year Liao, now want to build is settle score mah

ayoyoh! How cum the land of a thousand smiles can hold grudges for so long?

You see Thai king picture got smile one meh?

Does a smiling king suffice enough to let Thai build the Kra canal on their own, minus all those grudges you had created ?

BTW, "land of a thousand smiles" do not refer the royalty.

They are smiling over the grudges ... :wut:

Are you saying Thais cannot be trusted behind those smiles ?

Does a smiling king suffice enough to let Thai build the Kra canal on their own, minus all those grudges you had created ?

BTW, "land of a thousand smiles" do not refer the royalty.

I the point is more of a not smiling king willing do what, rather than a smiling king suffice to do what.

Com'on lah. The term "Land of a thousand smiles" refers the preceived friendliness of the Thai people , not its royalty.

I am surprise you are no clue what you were talking about and nor are you able clearly explain on what basis that Thai king wants to settle score"based on events that happened AFTER the idea of Kra canal came into being ?

Can't you not accept that regardless of how its king feel, it is not only Thailand's decision to turn this 400 years old dream into reality.

There are too much strategic unknowns and unintended consequences if the canal is ever to be built...

What I can safely assume is the Canal impact will go beyond just Singapore alone.

It will have global implication also.

Com'on lah. The term "Land of a thousand smiles" refers the preceived friendliness of the Thai people , not its royalty.

I am surprise you are no clue what you were talking about and nor are you able clearly explain on what basis that Thai king wants to settle score"based on events that happened AFTER the idea of Kra canal came into being ?

Can't you not accept that regardless of how its king feel, it is not only Thailand's decision to turn this 400 years old dream into reality.

There are too much strategic unknowns and unintended consequences if the canal is ever to be built...

What I can safely assume is the Canal impact will go beyond just Singapore alone.

It will have global implication also.

You mean the King was happy when we bought Shincorp and try to influence Thai politics?