Zyklon 5th Gear May 15, 2015 Share May 15, 2015 Another thing that most people are not aware of is that you do not need to look at the torque curve to decide whether the car is "good for city driving" or "good for high rev racing". Also, terms like "all the torque is available only at the upper rpm band" or "it makes 400Nm from as low as 1500rpm", these are just marketing bulls**t. A simple power output curve can pretty much tell you everything. This is because you make power from rpm and torque. A car without low rpm torque will not have power at low rpm. So if you see an almost linear power curve from low rpm, it means the torque was quite constant with respect to rpm and available from low rpm range. On the other hand, if you see a power curve with an exponential increase in power at the upper rpm band, it means the torque is much higher at the higher rpm region. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear May 15, 2015 Share May 15, 2015 On 5/15/2015 at 11:00 PM, Zyklon said: Power to weight ratio only tells you the acceleration. In my example...both cars have the same power to weight ratio. What power to weight does not tell you is the higher speed acceleration and top speed. Same power to weight, but higher total power will usually be way faster once you reach 200+km/hr. In layman terms: Power to weight is the same as Pushing energy per unit mass per unit time, which is the same as Pushing force per unit distance per unit mass per unit time Therefore higher power to weight means 1kg of mass will have more pushing force. But power to weight doesn't tell everything about acceleration from standstill. A turbo engine with same ratio usually will be quicker off the block since max power is rs reached at lower rpm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged May 15, 2015 Share May 15, 2015 then also have to consider gearings. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyklon 5th Gear May 16, 2015 Share May 16, 2015 (edited) On 5/15/2015 at 11:37 PM, zerobim08 said: But power to weight doesn't tell everything about acceleration from standstill. A turbo engine with same ratio usually will be quicker off the block since max power is rs reached at lower rpm. Your statement is typical car buyer thinking. Power to weight is not about taking spec sheet power divided by weight. Strictly speaking, that is max power to weight ratio and it is only valid when the engine is making max power. Power to weight should be taken as the instantenous power available per unit mass of the car. Therefore, if you compare two cars of the same max power: Car A: 100hp at 4000-5500rpm, 1000kg Car B: 100hp at 5500rpm, 10000kg Obviously Car A will be faster. Because the power to weight ratio of car B is clearly inferior to car A when the engine is accelerating through the 4000-5500rpm region. This type of question can also be taken using the energy approach by considering the work done for each engine when accelerating through 4000 to 5500rpm. Edited May 16, 2015 by Zyklon 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear May 16, 2015 Share May 16, 2015 3 cars for comparison, Hyundai Sonata Taxi 2.0 CRDi (Turbo Diesel) 148 Bhp Torque 305NM 0-100 @ 10.7sec. Weight 1,660kg Hyundai Santa Fe 2.4 GDI (NA Petrol) 189Bhp Torque 242NM 0-100 @ 10.9sec. Weight 1,694kg BMW 520i 2.0 (Turbo Petrol) 181Bhp Torque 270NM 0-100 @ 7.9sec. Weight 1,725kg Hmm.. very confused the heaviest is the fastest. The highest Bhp and power to weight has the lowest torque and is the slowest. The weakest Bhp and power to weight has the most torque and still slightly faster than the most powerful... So it's not the torque, not the Bhp and not power to weight??? Please enlighten me 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged May 16, 2015 Share May 16, 2015 jit tao compare 0-100km/h times lah... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear May 16, 2015 Share May 16, 2015 On 5/16/2015 at 9:43 AM, Eyke said: jit tao compare 0-100km/h times lah... Like dat ah, I boh lui buy BMW then I rather choose Hyundai Taxi better, since 0-100km/h in 10.7sec can outrun so many jap and Kor cars. Can save on fuel and some more can earn money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged May 16, 2015 Share May 16, 2015 On 5/16/2015 at 7:14 AM, chuanyan128 said: 3 cars for comparison, Hyundai Sonata Taxi 2.0 CRDi (Turbo Diesel) 148 Bhp Torque 305NM 0-100 @ 10.7sec. Weight 1,660kg Hyundai Santa Fe 2.4 GDI (NA Petrol) 189Bhp Torque 242NM 0-100 @ 10.9sec. Weight 1,694kg BMW 520i 2.0 (Turbo Petrol) 181Bhp Torque 270NM 0-100 @ 7.9sec. Weight 1,725kg Hmm.. very confused the heaviest is the fastest. The highest Bhp and power to weight has the lowest torque and is the slowest. The weakest Bhp and power to weight has the most torque and still slightly faster than the most powerful... So it's not the torque, not the Bhp and not power to weight??? Please enlighten me Must not forget drag coefficient and the fact that the BMW 520i is turbopetrol. It can extract more speed out of each gear and it makes the torque much earlier than the Santa Fe (like 2000RPM vs 4500RPM). The taxi got more torque but less max HP. I guess the taxi reach 30km/h or w/e faster but to 100km/h the BMW gets there faster because more HP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 16, 2015 Share May 16, 2015 On 5/16/2015 at 7:14 AM, chuanyan128 said: 3 cars for comparison, Hyundai Sonata Taxi 2.0 CRDi (Turbo Diesel) 148 Bhp Torque 305NM 0-100 @ 10.7sec. Weight 1,660kg Hyundai Santa Fe 2.4 GDI (NA Petrol) 189Bhp Torque 242NM 0-100 @ 10.9sec. Weight 1,694kg BMW 520i 2.0 (Turbo Petrol) 181Bhp Torque 270NM 0-100 @ 7.9sec. Weight 1,725kg Hmm.. very confused the heaviest is the fastest. The highest Bhp and power to weight has the lowest torque and is the slowest. The weakest Bhp and power to weight has the most torque and still slightly faster than the most powerful... So it's not the torque, not the Bhp and not power to weight??? Please enlighten me The magic component ZF 8 speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyklon 5th Gear May 16, 2015 Share May 16, 2015 On 5/16/2015 at 7:14 AM, chuanyan128 said: 3 cars for comparison, Hyundai Sonata Taxi 2.0 CRDi (Turbo Diesel) 148 Bhp Torque 305NM 0-100 @ 10.7sec. Weight 1,660kg Hyundai Santa Fe 2.4 GDI (NA Petrol) 189Bhp Torque 242NM 0-100 @ 10.9sec. Weight 1,694kg BMW 520i 2.0 (Turbo Petrol) 181Bhp Torque 270NM 0-100 @ 7.9sec. Weight 1,725kg Hmm.. very confused the heaviest is the fastest. The highest Bhp and power to weight has the lowest torque and is the slowest. The weakest Bhp and power to weight has the most torque and still slightly faster than the most powerful... So it's not the torque, not the Bhp and not power to weight??? Please enlighten me Read the post above yours. The answer is inside. It is not only about peak power. It is also about how long you can make the peak power. Did you know that the 520i actually makes 180hp from 4500rpm all the way to 6500rpm? That means that whether you are at 4500rpm or at 6500rpm, just put your feet down and you get the full 180hp. Coupled with the closely ratioed, lightning quick and efficient zf 8hp, the 0-100km/hr on the 520i actually happens at the rated 180hp output from 30-100km/hr. Let's not forget that BMW tends to under-rate their actual output...on the other hand, my personal experience with kimchi brand is that 1 kimchi horsepower is not as strong as 1 german horsepower. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged May 18, 2015 Share May 18, 2015 On 5/16/2015 at 12:13 PM, Zyklon said: Let's not forget that BMW tends to under-rate their actual output...on the other hand, my personal experience with kimchi brand is that 1 kimchi horsepower is not as strong as 1 german horsepower. You know why? This is because the kimchi horse eat kimchi, whereas german horse eat sausage. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 On 5/16/2015 at 12:13 PM, Zyklon said: Read the post above yours. The answer is inside. It is not only about peak power. It is also about how long you can make the peak power. Did you know that the 520i actually makes 180hp from 4500rpm all the way to 6500rpm? That means that whether you are at 4500rpm or at 6500rpm, just put your feet down and you get the full 180hp. Coupled with the closely ratioed, lightning quick and efficient zf 8hp, the 0-100km/hr on the 520i actually happens at the rated 180hp output from 30-100km/hr. Let's not forget that BMW tends to under-rate their actual output...on the other hand, my personal experience with kimchi brand is that 1 kimchi horsepower is not as strong as 1 german horsepower. Thanks. You must be a bmw supporter. I guess kimchi done too many plastic surgery, their horses are partly fake. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 On 5/15/2015 at 2:28 PM, Zyklon said: Many people confused by diesel torque and what not...all from marketing bulls**t or confused individuals spreading the wrong idea...or was it topgear that said something along of the fastest you can reach and how fast you can reach the fastest. You CANNOT use torque as the sole indicator of acceleration. You need to use power which is the function of torque and rpm. This means that assuming both cars are at full throttle and both are equally aerodynamic... Car A: 200Nm torque, weighs 1000kg, engine running at 2000rpm Car B: 200Nm torque, weighs 2000kg, engine running at 4000rpm Layman will tell you that Car A is faster. Of course ma, at 2000rpm already 200Nm torque. Some more car A is lighter leh. WRONG. Actually both car A and car B will have same acceleration at this moment. In the similar manner, if Car A is a diesel hatch making 200Nm from 1500-4000rpm and weighs 1000kg. Car B is a 2000kg limo with a high reving petrol engine, making 200Nm from 3000-8000rpm. Both will actually be equally fast in acceleration if drag and drivetrain lost are the same. The difference is in their power and top speed will definitely differ. Don't believe me? Draw out the free-body diagram and write their equation of motion. car b jiak you jin dang 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 acceleration speed is a combination of so many factors, not so straight forward. but the most important are : 1. weight 2. horse power 2. torque 4. powerband 5. gear ratios (to match the above) 6. traction 7. aerodynamics (at higher speed) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 The thing about BHP, BHP at engine or at wheel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cephas 3rd Gear May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 On 5/19/2015 at 1:26 AM, Vhtfhwlego said: The thing about BHP, BHP at engine or at wheel? steering wheel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowrider 2nd Gear May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 (edited) most likely it's on paper Edited May 19, 2015 by Lowrider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 19, 2015 Share May 19, 2015 I've made very long post(s) about this (search), but here's the Cliff Notes: 1) Torque (torque/weight actually) makes a car feel fun on the road. 2) HP (HP/weight actually) makes a car actually fast on the track. 3) If you're always driving perfectly (optimally) for performance as typically happens on a track day, HP is much more important than torque, which explains the 0 to 100 timings in the post above. 4) If you're not always driving perfectly (as typically happens on a public road), a high torque lower down in the rev range allows you to cover for that. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...