Is Car Necessary in Singapore

Caldina

actually, i feel its more like asking if wearing underwear is necessary..

it doesn't provide very much return but just on your personal comfort..

yet doing without it is absolutely fine.. but everyone still thinks they need it..

Other than line 2, this shd be the best analogy. Some feel more comfortable with no underwear.

Actually can start a thread on whether is it practical on owning a roadster (convertible) car in SG ?

Practical in the literal sense of the word? Probably not. But I'm interested in the discussion anyway.. You can start the thread, I'll go there camp.. Haha..

Actually can start a thread on whether is it practical on owning a roadster (convertible) car in SG ?

No.. drive into KPE or MCE tunnel, very hot. Will start to perspire after awhile.

Imagine arrive at MBS valet or drop off point with top down but sweating a lot.. :D

No.

1) 99% of the time is too hot to open the roof. The other 1% it's raining.

2) The fumes on the road are bad unless you go countryside. Where's that?

3) Most roadsters can only seat 2. Even for 2+2, unless you make a lot of hobbit friends, it is largely useless.

4) People hate you when you open up the top. They really hate you. You can tell it from their eyes when they stop looking out for their bus.

5) The shakes and scuttles. They say we have one of the best roads in the world. They don't drive convertibles.

That's I can think of off-hand.

well for me, it's a need as i use it for my living too.

guess everyone answer is different and it should be the best options for your lifestyle.

if u are over paying for this mode of transport and under use, then no point in maintaining a car.

This question has been asked many time liao...

The answer is just like a coin... either yes or no...

When someone say yes, does it apply to everybody...?

When someone say no, again, does it apply to everybody...?

When TS asked this question, you are expected to get a no conclusive answer... as nobody knows if you really need a car...

The decision is solely based on your circumstances... (of course, if you are rich, you can buy anything)

Asking this question is just like ask if a man really need to wear underwear....

No.

3) Most roadsters can only seat 2. Even for 2+2, unless you make a lot of hobbit friends, it is largely useless.

4) People hate you when you open up the top. They really hate you. You can tell it from their eyes when they stop looking out for their bus.

5) The shakes and scuttles. They say we have one of the best roads in the world. They don't drive convertibles.

you forgot the bird shits!

Yes you're right its a must for commercial reasons......I guess a lorry or van registered to a company is more appropriate. No car needed for you ;P

I'm working & not self-employed so cannot register a van.

Furthermore, commercial vehicle doesn't allow me to drive to Mys as due to work related, I do travel to JB once a while.

Also can start whether a coupe is better than a corolla.

I'm sure that a corolla cannot fit the below in

(1 assembled bed & 4 big carton boxes).

post-61679-0-40281700-1431506748_thumb.jpg

For all those who said NO (somemore in a car forum.....the mind boggles), can pls deregister ur car so that ur COE is recycled for those of us who say YES. Or at least do it for RadX since he is a heavy user of new COEs.

Kum sia.

[laugh][laugh]

no right or wrong or need or don't need

It depends on the type of lifestyle you want to live and the personal circumstances associated with it such as affordability, practicality, and x reasons so on and so forth

It's a matter of whether you are willing to spend on a car, just like if a person is willing to buy a condo instead of HDB

Some people save as much as they earn

Some spent as much as they earn

Some spent but still save

& some others not only have 1 car but 2 cars and more

For self, for gf, for wifey, for kids, for old folks, for xiao san, xiao si, xiao x

End of the day, every one decides what works best for themselves

Edited by Pinobii

I'm working & not self-employed so cannot register a van.

Furthermore, commercial vehicle doesn't allow me to drive to Mys as due to work related, I do travel to JB once a while.

Also can start whether a coupe is better than a corolla.

I'm sure that a corolla cannot fit the below in

(1 assembled bed & 4 big carton boxes).

attachicon.gifVan.jpg

Wah! Your Alfa got so much space at the back! Solid sia! [thumbsup]

Let me answer you this way:

I have a car sitting @ home 5 days a week.

I ride bicycle to work daily.

I also answer. I have a car and season parking at home and at office in CBD.

I travel 70% of the time and my car sits in the home car park. Sometimes 4 weeks also no start 1 time.

No.

1. At night very hot meh? Up to 9am, very hot meh?

2. It depends where you drive loh

3. Roadster is a lifestyle car. Who cares about passenger?

4. When i open the roof, everyone looks into my car.

5. Where got?

I still love a roadster.

I also answer. I have a car and season parking at home and at office in CBD.

I travel 70% of the time and my car sits in the home car park. Sometimes 4 weeks also no start 1 time.

Season parking hogger.

Can share you season car park with me??

Season parking hogger.

Can share you season car park with me??

Can, but you must let me clone your IU......

No.. drive into KPE or MCE tunnel, very hot. Will start to perspire after awhile.

Imagine arrive at MBS valet or drop off point with top down but sweating a lot.. :D

My colleagues and me were sitting at Starbucks after lunch for our coffee and we were laughing at the Angmo driving his 6 series with the roof down .... Not hot meh ?

Singapore definitely not practical to have convertibles.