Is Car Necessary in Singapore

Caldina

It's okay.. no need to pass any exams  [laugh]   You not convince also okay.   [laugh]

I go start thread in property column for this.  Enye treats property as consumption rather than investment.  I will show my modeling in a different way.

my last comment in this thread since this is way OT

you need to learn to read carefully

i said my owner occupied home is a consumption item. 

<_<

property 2 & 3 that bring in the dough every month yeah ... [thumbsup]

my last comment in this thread since this is way OT

you need to learn to read carefully

i said my owner occupied home is a consumption item

<_<

Fortunately I have been driving my previous companies vehicle for a decade.

And after I quit, I have to take public transport for a couple of months before I bought my own car.

During these 2 months, I kana the July 15 mrt major breakdown and I met many siao ppl and rude ppl in public transport. I lost my personal space and time taken to reach a location is longer,several of my favorite places with I used to go became like a mission impossible by public transport.

And I realised that a car is a must for me. Even if I have to drive the lousiest car in sg

And after I quit, I have to take public transport for a couple of months before I bought my own car.

During these 2 months, I kana the July 15 mrt major breakdown and I met many siao ppl and rude ppl in public transport. I lost my personal space and time taken to reach a location is longer,several of my favorite places with I used to go became like a mission impossible by public transport.

And I realised that a car is a must for me. Even if I have to drive the lousiest car in sg

Cars are like biscuits. Once u start, u can't stop. hahah.

I also kenna the major breakdown.  I managed to get home with Uber.  No issue le.

This is the worst time to enter market for property as the buyer will defintely see the property go through a drastic depreciation in the next few years due to economic downturn. Good luck. Lol.

Many cabs & public transport dun allow durian on board. The other day after having the durian feast , I wanted to board a taxi . The driver rejected me saying I smell like a durians . I tried 4 taxi , all rejected me , no Bian go take mrt ... Then got 1 aunty says I smell like durian , rant and rant .... Haiz ...

to answer this question, it depends on individual. for some people, is necessary. for example, for groceries shopping, buying electronics, fetching kids, elderly people like parents, jobs like salesman, delivery, car will then be necessary. for me i think its necessary because i need car when i buy alot of groceries which tend to be very heavy, and i buy those electronics, and fetching parents etc, but the price is too expensive,coe is too expensive to begin with. which makes the total car price very high.but nevermind la, i wait for coe drop from 50k to 10k like that then i buy, no hurries.

Do we really need a car?

No because we cannot afford to own one.

Yes and it all boils down to money, lots of money. If you have money, this question is moot.

And there are always other alternatives.

No money to own one, just got to make do and spend more time on the road. Won't die.

And if you need to spend more time on the road, and could not afford a car, it just go to show that your time is less worthy. Opportunity cost.

And to the rich, every minute is precious that's why they can afford cars, expensive ones at it.

There it goes, need or do not need a car?

One way to look at it is whether your time is more precious and valuable. The trade offs, and to many, it is not always rational or proportional.

What a conundrum. I can own a car, it doesn't meant my time is more valuable. It is so irrational, contrary to my earlier statement.

Seepay luan. confused, totally, when it comes to car ownership.

Edited by Latio2005A

Have said this b4, n will say it again.. No one needs a car in SGP. PERIOD

Can afford den buy, cannot afford suck it up loh

for those that have large family or with large dogs, may find it necessay or more feasible to have car

More feasible, yes. Necessary, no. Who ask u bring the dog along? :p

Have said this b4, n will say it again.. No one needs a car in SGP. PERIOD

Can afford den buy, cannot afford suck it up loh

More feasible, yes. Necessary, no. Who ask u bring the dog along? :p

Ya lor ... I also agree ... Why must we own a car in SG ...

Like a chocolate biscuits...haha

See, I've stopped eating chocolate biscuits.

And I bet I used to eat more than anyone else on this board.

All luxuries can be done without.

And a car and chocolate biscuits are luxuries.

Faster fiber internet speeds are another luxury, unless you're a gamer I suppose.

My internet speed is 1 Mb/sec and it's fine for everything I do.