Is Car Necessary in Singapore

Caldina

property prices will go up in the long run in tandem with economic growth

without economic growth, how fast or far can the property price go up?

Agree.

So, you want to bet that Singapore will progress economically the next 20 years or so?  Or your bet is that Singapore will slide back to a 2nd world nation?

If latter, a better plan is to emigrate now while Singapore currency is strong and our PP is good.  Head towards countries where cars are a necessity as there are no other options available and where car prices are insanely low (at least to us Singaporeans).

Edited by Limwsv

Agree.

So, you want to bet that Singapore will progress economically the next 20 years or so?  Or your bet is that Singapore will slide back to a 2nd world nation?

If latter, a better plan is to emigrate now while Singapore currency is strong and our PP is good.  Head towards countries where cars are a necessity as there are no other options available and where car prices are insanely low (at least to us Singaporeans).

my wife and i should be comfortable living in our current hdb flat and managing our expenses till radx knocks whether or not singapore progresses in the next 20 years

the decision to emigrate would be my children's choice to make when the time comes for them to leave the roost and spread their wings

my wife and i should be comfortable living in our current hdb flat and managing our expenses till radx knocks whether or not singapore progresses in the next 20 years

the decision to emigrate would be my children's choice to make when the time comes for them to leave the roost and spread their wings

Sure, different people different strokes... no one path is the only path.

[;)]

I am sharing my path with others to restore balance in the "FORCE".  Otherwise, everyone get brainwash that cars are the national obsession of Singaporeans.

Edited by Limwsv

property prices will go up in the long run in tandem with economic growth

without economic growth, how fast or far can the property price go up?

Our govt is managing d property market very well with all d cooling measures so not likely to burst unlike some countries. Our govt, since LKY reign, encouraged ppl to own HDB flat n today a great percentage of d population live in HDB flat. So, would nvr allow HDB prices to go down. Private properties always rise in reference to d HDB prices n much more.

so singapore must also follow HK & OZ, CBD and Orchard area parking at $15/r, ERP non peak $10 and $20 for peak hour   :D

You will see whole of Orchard Turn, Claymore Hill and Road turn into illegal parallel parking zones, it's already bad enough. [laugh]

Our govt is managing d property market very well with all d cooling measures so not likely to burst unlike some countries. Our govt, since LKY reign, encouraged ppl to own HDB flat n today a great percentage of d population live in HDB flat. So, would nvr allow HDB prices to go down. Private properties always rise in reference to d HDB prices n much more.

if you believe that, then you should max leverage and buy as many properties as possible if you have not already done so

then can be smart and rich like limwsv with multiple income streams and capital appreciation

It is true that AIG almost belly up.  MAS allows it to continue to operate in Sg le.

Since the last crisis, there is a global initiatives call systematically important FI.

Lastly, i don't keep more than $50k per bank in line with the SIDF insurance.

I thought that there was some clarification that AIA Singapore and AIG had separate accounts so even if AIG had gone bankrupt, AIA is still okay?

Those who said want to buy car but not enough money will later say buy condo is good as can generate income while car cannot. Then when want to buy car will then forget what was said. Lol.

Are you sniping at me?  Since I am the only that seems to talking about buying property in the car forums. If you read carefully, I have given up cars for the moment while replenishing my funds for car, I may re-enter the market in 2017 when COE drops to 30K and car prices comes down to 80K.  So your sniping is ridiculous.

And in the worst case, if COE refuses to budge down to 30K, that would mark 3 years of not driving, I think I can survive very well without it, thank you! 

[;)]

Accordong to 88.3 this morning...hope i heard it right.

They say from mid next year...quota increase. However, price may not soften but may up. Coz all the expiring tsunami will buy replacement. Further, the population increase by loads since 10yrs ago. So tsunami coe also no enuff. Solution is buy 2nd hand with up to 3 yrs left. Coz by 2018, the renewal folks would be done. So 2018 onwards will soften more noticebly...assuming all else remains status quo.

if you believe that, then you should max leverage and buy as many properties as possible if you have not already done so

then can be smart and rich like limwsv with multiple income streams and capital appreciation

Bingo, I made my move in 1999 after selling my 5-room HDB during d property lull period. d value definitely appreciates much more then if I had kept d HDB. In 2009, I bought my 2nd one before d govt implement d 12, 8, 4, 0%. Maybe I am just lucky with d timing. I agreed with limwsv tat investment in property is a good move. D asset is always there n will increase in value in land scarce Spore. Edited by keanie

Accordong to 88.3 this morning...hope i heard it right.

They say from mid next year...quota increase. However, price may not soften but may up. Coz all the expiring tsunami will buy replacement. Further, the population increase by loads since 10yrs ago. So tsunami coe also no enuff. Solution is buy 2nd hand with up to 3 yrs left. Coz by 2018, the renewal folks would be done. So 2018 onwards will soften more noticebly...assuming all else remains status quo.

Yes, i heard it too this morning. Ai yah, this type of advices hear but dont take it too seriously. Last time some expert (i think was LTY) said COE will drop by end 2014 but bui zhun leh. Then another expert say end 2015 but also bui zhun. And now they say wait till 2018?  [laugh]  

Yes, i heard it too this morning. Ai yah, this type of advices hear but dont take it too seriously. Last time some expert (i think was LTY) said COE will drop by end 2014 but bui zhun leh. Then another expert say end 2015 but also bui zhun. And now they say wait till 2018? [laugh]

Coe never drop meh?

Your drop is till $2 ar hehe