Is Car Necessary in Singapore

Caldina

Car is not necessary when the public transport is up to scratch.

Right now, it's absolutely NOT !

Look at the number of breakdowns.

People packed like sardines during peak hours.

Not enough mrt lines to go everywhere.

And all they are concerned about is making money first.

Absolutely NOT ?????

It would be great if u can name me one major city in the world that the trains are not packed during peak hours... If you cant I can give you one example ... Kaoshiung in Taiwan but I can also tell you that the train is operating at a lost everyday and it does not even make sense to have a subway running in the city. Even in efficient Japan, there are breakdowns at times. I would agree that our train system can be improve and our public transport is decent.

All you need is to go across to JB and compared the public transport systems against ours and you can decide if car is necessary.

Edited by Civic6228

Absolutely NOT ?????

It would be great if u can name me one major city in the world that the trains are not packed during peak hours... If you cant I can give you one example ... Kaoshiung in Taiwan but I can also tell you that the train is operating at a lost everyday and it does not even make sense to have a subway running in the city. Even in efficient Japan, there are breakdowns at times. I would agree that our train system can be improve and our public transport is decent.

All you need is to go across to JB and compared the public transport systems against ours and you can decide if the car is necess

He hasn't see the real sardine can lah.

With 300K in pocket, walk also got wind. haha [laugh]

ya and bragging rights how he managed to squeeze 700k into 2 pockets

40k downpayment for altis can buy which condo in SG? $100k full cash for altis can buy which condo in SG? Assuming it's 1st purchase and down-payment 20% and not the 50% down-payment.

Are you addressing me?  Since I am the only one that seems to be talking of using money for car to buy property instead.

Yes, you're correct, you cannot buy a private condo for 100K.  However, that's the funding for my car, not my funding for investment.

Without the money from the car fund, it would not be possible to buy the property at Principal Garden (or at least not the unit I wanted).

A car to me is a life-style choice, not a necessity if you plan carefully around transportation.  Singapore is a fairly egalitarian society, it is possible for the not so wealthy to buy on the resale market HDB flats that are in the City Centre and near transport hub.  So a car free lifestyle is still possible even if you don't have disposable wealth.

With 2 properties, I now have the means to generate an income stream from rental and another house to stay in.

Edited by Limwsv

Absolutely NOT ?????

All you need is to go across to JB and compared the public transport systems against ours and you can decide if car is necessary.

eh.. packed is bo pian one la.. everyone start work around same time mah.. 

but.. i know for sure.. HK MTR dont have so many breakdownS... and cars are cheaper... 

eh.. packed is bo pian one la.. everyone start work around same time mah.. 

but.. i know for sure.. HK MTR dont have so many breakdownS... and cars are cheaper... 

Sure ... in HK the subways are better ... and cars are cheaper.

However, try finding a place to park in HK island or even Kowloon ..... most HKers would prefer public transport to driving.

You are also right about peak hours travel .... the gahment should be the one taking the lead for staggered working hours... to ease the crowd during the peak hours ....

Love road running too. And I walk alot these days too. Suddenly the pocket got 200 to 300k more without spending on a freaking car. Got good and bad lah. Bad is cannot chiong to KL in the wee hours of the morning to eat the noodles at KLCC simply because I can. Good is can kick off shoes and relax at the back seat of a taxi even during traffic congestion.

I tot u let go 335 & got a GS350?

Are you addressing me?  Since I am the only one that seems to be talking of using money for car to buy property instead.

Yes, you're correct, you cannot buy a private condo for 100K.  However, that's the funding for my car, not my funding for investment.

Without the money from the car fund, it would not be possible to buy the property at Principal Garden (or at least not the unit I wanted).

A car to me is a life-style choice, not a necessity if you plan carefully around transportation.  Singapore is a fairly egalitarian society, it is possible for the not so wealthy to buy on the resale market HDB flats that are in the City Centre and near transport hub.  So a car free lifestyle is still possible even if you don't have disposable wealth.

With 2 properties, I now have the means to generate an income stream from rental and another house to stay in.

rental can cover loan installments or not?

otherwise how to generate additional income stream?

However, try finding a place to park in HK island or even Kowloon ..... most HKers would prefer public transport to driving.

You are also right about peak hours travel .... the gahment should be the one taking the lead for staggered working hours... to ease the crowd during the peak hours ....

support the underlined.

like 8 to 530, 9 to 630, 10 to 730. 

ya and bragging rights how he managed to squeeze 700k into 2 pockets

Thats you.

$350k in each pocket.

Nowadays a bit more difficult after they decom the $10,000 bill.

Must carry 350notes instead of only 35notes in each pocket

phrase it this way... i know parking in central side is 3~4times the amount we pay in CBD area here... but the car prices we pay here.. trumps the costs HKies have to pay to do the exact same thing...  

the only reason i didnt drive in HK was becoz i genuinely felt MTR was much better option and less stressful (hk taxi drivers are bloody terrors imo) 

i really can't say the same about our system.

support the underlined.

like 8 to 530, 9 to 630, 10 to 730. 

some large cooperation already doing that.. but.. its more own initiative then incentivised by the gahmen.. in this aspect.. hope the gahmen can do more...  

Heck... i juz hope the reduce the number of breakdowns... and increase the number of connecting buses...  

Don't know yet, property not TOP yet... let you know 2 to 3 years down the road.  Projected is about 3% - 4%.  Anyway, this is for long haul, when fully paid, all rentals will be pure income, and I am betting on capital appreciation 20 years down the road.

Also, investigating the option of doing Airbnb on the new apartment, but still not sure of the cost/revenue model.  Still mulling about it.

Maybe reverse the order, rent out my existing place since can fetch even higher rental since it's closer to city centre.  But that means that I may have to switch back to public transportation as cycling distance will be further.  Harder for family to get around since that's not as near transport hub as currently.

Edited by Limwsv

Income is income only if there is no loan to service .... collecting rental to pay for installment consider income meh ? Just imagine ... cannot get tenant, no income and still have to service the loan ... double calamity if you ask me.

Imagine ... rent out your new apartment and after 2 years ... have to fork out $$$$ to renovate/make good the place.  

i always wonder... is it prefer or no choice... 

Guess if the public transport here same like HK, i also take public transport without much compliant.

Thats you.

$350k in each pocket.

Nowadays a bit more difficult after they decom the $10,000 bill.

Must carry 350notes instead of only 35notes in each pocket

never had the chance to carry so much money in my pockets

so how does it feel?  really got wind ma?