Problems with new condo unit

Mazda2gal

its 1yr lah right? TOP then 1yr later CSC mah

how to fix whole building defects in 1 mth??

They have one month to rectify defects reported. After one month not rectified, owners must give them a chance to rectify within 2 weeks. Still not rectified, owner can inform them that we want to rectify ourselves and claim cost from them.

wah lie dat one ah? my condo took abt 1mth to fix, then few mths later found more defects then i asked them fix again n they were ok with it.

Edited by Duckduck

With our 1st world status, we are already facing such shoddy workmanship for a million dollar purchase.

Can you imagine those who bought overseas properties? Good luck to them. (ok, i sidetrack)

Overseas one not so "headache" in terms of workmanship 'cos most (properties) do not exist in the first place. [laugh]

I think during this defect rectification period, make sure every defects is in black and white and sign off by the rep. I think even after defects rectification period, they must complete everything in the list.

As for the 9pm thingy, maybe your house become their dome. This one difficult to prove.

Confirm use as dormitory. Be careful of any bed bugs the FW may leave behind, bb infestation is no joke.

Dorm???

Need to check toilet for PCC remnants?

Yes someone is sleeping on the job. That's why when I asked the duo from Developer why no QC, someone sleeping on the job? They just kept quiet.

They didn't complete the units properly, then hand over the units to us, start collecting maintenance fees (mine is almost $400 a month) upon handover, then make us wait long long while they sit on the defects without doing anything. Really not fair to us. We are the ones paying for their incompetence. And of course opportunity costs from the delay in TOP and moving in.

Managed to join a closed FB group for owners yesterday, many of them have similar (if not worse) defects and experiences. No defect rectification carried out after 2 weeks of joint inspection and patronising responses from construction team are very common. An owner even paid more than 1k for a professional to identify all the defects because the condition of the unit is really bad. Of course there are some lucky ones with relatively few and minor defects. Really a matter of heng suay.
A colleague suggested going to CASE but I doubt it'll help.
Hope this thread can also serve other home buyers well by providing info on defects to look out for, defects rectification process etc.

You need to know your right when you buy property. Singapore law is very well covered for new condo purchase. You just need to read up and understand the law. The developer had to rectify the problem if they want the last 10% payment. Engage your lawyer that represent you for the purchase, make them work for you as you are paying them to ensure the transaction go thru without problem. I can't remember how many letter they write for me to the developer to fight the defect and I don't have to pay extra. The developer will tell all the story say go sue them as they know many buyer is not aware of the law. I check with my lawyer the right process to give developer enough warning to rectify and then fix it myself. I than go to small claim court and they then willing to settle as they know I am serious and I know my right.

pardon my ignorance, does that mean buyers have no recourse for late delivery?

if say delayed for half a year, its quite a lot of opportunity cost that has gone wasted.

There are two deadlines in the S&P, one for hand over of keys and another for completion of the S&P.

The collection of keys must be after TOP while the completion can be either before or after CSC but usually the latter.

If any of the two deadlines are not met, you will get compensated at 10% per annum based on the instalments paid by you calculated on daily basis.

The developer will usually put in sufficient buffer to protect themselves. I collected my keys more than 1 year before the hand over deadline and completed the S&P more than 2 years before the completion deadline.

There are two deadlines in the S&P, one for hand over of keys and another for completion of the S&P.

The collection of keys must be after TOP while the completion can be either before or after CSC but usually the latter.

If any of the two deadlines are not met, you will get compensated at 10% per annum based on the instalments paid by you calculated on daily basis.

The developer will usually put in sufficient buffer to protect themselves. I collected my keys more than 1 year before the hand over deadline and completed the S&P more than 2 years before the completion deadline.

thanks bro for the heads up.

i would agree with you that the developer will put in clauses that will safe guard them.

But the slow down sale of new flats might make it possible , though rare. Gone are the days where people need to ballot to choose their units or throw cheques at agents

I believe for unsold units when the project has obtained TOP or CSC, the marketing team will revise the S&P, unless the entire team is blur like sotong :secret-laugh:

Edited by ktnpl

Oh one more thing, check you Open Net point. If it is next to power distribution board, then it is best to extend to near where your ONT will be.

You need to know your right when you buy property. Singapore law is very well covered for new condo purchase. You just need to read up and understand the law. The developer had to rectify the problem if they want the last 10% payment. Engage your lawyer that represent you for the purchase, make them work for you as you are paying them to ensure the transaction go thru without problem. I can't remember how many letter they write for me to the developer to fight the defect and I don't have to pay extra. The developer will tell all the story say go sue them as they know many buyer is not aware of the law. I check with my lawyer the right process to give developer enough warning to rectify and then fix it myself. I than go to small claim court and they then willing to settle as they know I am serious and I know my right.

which developer is this?

Trivelis is sibeh jialats man. EDMW got thread with photos and videos.

Really got nothing to say and to imagine people paid so much.

Trivelis not condo la

juz adding 1+1 together bah since TS's 'top secret condo' and trivelis maciam sama sama problem sia.......