Detach8 5th Gear May 14, 2015 Author Share May 14, 2015 (edited) Some roundabouts quite big sized without lane markings.. like the one near TUAS linking AYE and PIE. Then how? Isn't it simpler to follow a basic rule.. stay in the inner circle if you do not wish to exit yet, plan for the exit, know which one it is, signal intention, change lane, keep signal on, exit smoothly via the outer lane? Then what's the point of having two lane entry/exits if cars can't exit side-by-side? Might as well make 1 lane entry/exit roundabouts lah like that. Irregardless of lane markings the rules still exists. Left car that came in with you should exit by the 2nd exit. Obviously if you came in and you are the right car you do not go and turn left. It's no different from q-ing up at a junction that has 3 lanes: +-----------------+--- STOP LINE ----+--------------+ | LEFT + STRAIGHT | STRAIGHT + RIGHT | RIGHT ONLY | If you want to turn left, you go to the right lane meh??? Edited May 14, 2015 by Detach8 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissan833 5th Gear May 14, 2015 Share May 14, 2015 Then what's the point of having two lane entry/exits if cars can't exit side-by-side? Might as well make 1 lane entry/exit roundabouts lah like that. Singapore roads aren't exactly well designed in the first place.. lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged May 14, 2015 Share May 14, 2015 Then what's the point of having two lane entry/exits if cars can't exit side-by-side? Might as well make 1 lane entry/exit roundabouts lah like that. Irregardless of lane markings the rules still exists. Left car that came in with you should exit by the 2nd exit. Obviously if you came in and you are the right car you do not go and turn left. It's no different from q-ing up at a junction that has 3 lanes: +-----------------+--- STOP LINE ----+--------------+ | LEFT + STRAIGHT | STRAIGHT + RIGHT | RIGHT ONLY | If you want to turn left, you go to the right lane meh??? I rotate the original roundabout to left to let you view the potential hazards from the roundabouts. It's not wrong to stick to the inner lane while making a right turn or a U-Turn. However in fig 3, it should that the potential hazard is really high if one to stick to the inner lane. A confident driver coming from the right will definitely drive into the roundabout if the middle lane is clear of traffic. Look at fig 1 vehicle C & fig 2 vehicle B. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilcup 3rd Gear May 14, 2015 Share May 14, 2015 (edited) i think the basic rule to me is, to exit, signal left and keep left to exit. when you entering the roundabout, just watch out for vehicle on the right. it should apply to 2 or more lane. to me vehicle on the right should not just exit the lane without check blind shot on the left. i saw a few vehicle who does that in the round about at the stadium... it is so dangerous. best if can keep left and exit. Edited May 14, 2015 by Devilcup Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KR81 4th Gear May 14, 2015 Share May 14, 2015 Magic Roundabout anyone? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear May 14, 2015 Share May 14, 2015 Newton circus was one "dangerous" round a bout before they set up traffic lights. I used to live nearby and had to take the roundabout daily to and from work. Always stressed and afraid I stall my manual car. Just passed driving too. Thankfully this was in mid-80s when traffic was less heavy, drivers were more considerate, more patient and drivers knew which lanes to take. Besides Newton, there were the Farrer Circus and Tanglin Circus. So drivers were more aware of the lane discipline at that time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear May 15, 2015 Author Share May 15, 2015 i think the basic rule to me is, to exit, signal left and keep left to exit. when you entering the roundabout, just watch out for vehicle on the right. it should apply to 2 or more lane. to me vehicle on the right should not just exit the lane without check blind shot on the left. i saw a few vehicle who does that in the round about at the stadium... it is so dangerous. best if can keep left and exit. After 5 pages.. I cannot believe there are people coming and still saying this. WRONG WRONG WRONG. Learn your traffic rules. Do you keep right to turn left in a junction? You don't. A roundabout is like a right turn in our normal traffic controlled junction. You don't cut lanes during a right turn, do you? Round About Pic 2.jpg Round About Pic 3.jpg I rotate the original roundabout to left to let you view the potential hazards from the roundabouts. It's not wrong to stick to the inner lane while making a right turn or a U-Turn. However in fig 3, it should that the potential hazard is really high if one to stick to the inner lane. A confident driver coming from the right will definitely drive into the roundabout if the middle lane is clear of traffic. Look at fig 1 vehicle C & fig 2 vehicle B. The car entering at 3 o'clock has a give way dotted line, so he is supposed to have waited for cars in the roundabout to clear first. That's quite straightforward. Roundabout at choa chu kang rd lagi best! u can give it a try!!! I live here and I don't see a probem except for stupid busses being on the outer lane trying to turn from 6 to 3. It's literally impossible for a car in the middle lane to go from 6 to 12 if a stupid moron bus does that because it's a damn BIG vehicle. I should extract my video. Stay tuned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged May 15, 2015 Share May 15, 2015 The car entering at 3 o'clock has a give way dotted line, so he is supposed to have waited for cars in the roundabout to clear first. That's quite straightforward. That's true however not possible in actual driving. The orange vehicle exiting from "exit 1" stays in the inner lane marked with "Orange Circle". At this point, the blue vehicle would think that the orange vehicle were actually coming out from Exit 2 and has the intention of exiting at exit 2 so he proceed to move into the roundabout. Collision occur. Confirm NTUC and Fidec will rule Orange Vehicle in wrong. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2690459-roundabout-rules-was-ntuc-right/?hl=%2Bntuc+%2Broundabout Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear May 15, 2015 Author Share May 15, 2015 (edited) That's true however not possible in actual driving. Round About Pic 4.jpg The orange vehicle exiting from "exit 1" stays in the inner lane marked with "Orange Circle". At this point, the blue vehicle would think that the orange vehicle were actually coming out from Exit 2 and has the intention of exiting at exit 2 so he proceed to move into the roundabout. Collision occur. Confirm NTUC and Fidec will rule Orange Vehicle in wrong. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2690459-roundabout-rules-was-ntuc-right/?hl=%2Bntuc+%2Broundabout Incorrect. You are q-ing up to enter the inner lane, and there's another car already in the inner lane. As long as it does not exit you should not enter the roundabout. This is the correct behavior because the inner car can go complete circles without exiting. Edited May 15, 2015 by Detach8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic May 15, 2015 Share May 15, 2015 actually singapore rule standard, lane changing vehicle or turning vehicle must give way to vehicle going straight . same inside the roundabout, if u want to exit and the vehicle on your left dun want, and u bang his right side. u lose the case Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear May 15, 2015 Share May 15, 2015 This where indicators play an important part. If orange car signals left, means he is staying in the roundabout to exit later and blue car should not enter. Blue car should signal right to say he is entering the roundabout inner lane If orange car is signalling right, means he is exiting and is safe for blue car to enter the roundabout inner lane. If blue car is signalling left, means he is entering outer lane of roundabout and exiting right away at next exit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilcup 3rd Gear May 15, 2015 Share May 15, 2015 After 5 pages.. I cannot believe there are people coming and still saying this. WRONG WRONG WRONG. Learn your traffic rules. Do you keep right to turn left in a junction? You don't. A roundabout is like a right turn in our normal traffic controlled junction. You don't cut lanes during a right turn, do you? The car entering at 3 o'clock has a give way dotted line, so he is supposed to have waited for cars in the roundabout to clear first. That's quite straightforward. I live here and I don't see a probem except for stupid busses being on the outer lane trying to turn from 6 to 3. It's literally impossible for a car in the middle lane to go from 6 to 12 if a stupid moron bus does that because it's a damn BIG vehicle. I should extract my video. Stay tuned. on turning right, u are right, we need to keep on lane 2 or the later upon entering round about. ultimately u need to turn left to exit. do keep in mind that there are exit lane which is only 1 lane and you are on the right, you still need to go left... real live situation always different from ideal case in the books. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear May 15, 2015 Author Share May 15, 2015 on turning right, u are right, we need to keep on lane 2 or the later upon entering round about. ultimately u need to turn left to exit. do keep in mind that there are exit lane which is only 1 lane and you are on the right, you still need to go left... real live situation always different from ideal case in the books. There's no such roundabouts. If the entry is 1 lane then the roundabout only has 1 lane. Don't try to smoke people. Anyway, I just submitted this to LTA since I stay in the area and I think the roundabout they just created here is crap. "The old cross junction has been converted to a roundabout after the flyover construction completed. The current lane direction markings and traffic light placement is very bad. First, I observe this to be a 3-lane roundabout. Have LTA not considered basic roundabout rules before painting those road direction arrows? How is it that three lanes entering the roundabout have straight-ahead arrows at the entrance of the roundabout? I have had busses stick to the outer (left) lane and not exiting straight ahead -- how do cars in the middle lane exit the straight ahead junction? I will try to extract a video from my car to show this. The lanes should be marked like this: Left lane = Left + Straight Middle lane = Straight + Right Right lane = Right only Given that there's a left turn "bypass" then why are there traffic lights in the middle of the junction? Can't car's just turn and clear the junction as per a regular roundabout? What kind of road design is this. The traffic lights within the roundabout causes gridlock and the congestion during peak hour tails back to Brickland road on the Choa Chu Kang side." This where indicators play an important part. If orange car signals left, means he is staying in the roundabout to exit later and blue car should not enter. Blue car should signal right to say he is entering the roundabout inner lane If orange car is signalling right, means he is exiting and is safe for blue car to enter the roundabout inner lane. If blue car is signalling left, means he is entering outer lane of roundabout and exiting right away at next exit. No doubt signalling is important. That is not ruled out here. Give way, be patient. But still having some knowledge of roundabout rules would make traffic flow smoother instead of having morons switch lanes in a roundabout. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilcup 3rd Gear May 15, 2015 Share May 15, 2015 There's no such roundabouts. If the entry is 1 lane then the roundabout only has 1 lane. Don't try to smoke people. Anyway, I just submitted this to LTA since I stay in the area and I think the roundabout they just created here is crap. "The old cross junction has been converted to a roundabout after the flyover construction completed. The current lane direction markings and traffic light placement is very bad. First, I observe this to be a 3-lane roundabout. Have LTA not considered basic roundabout rules before painting those road direction arrows? How is it that three lanes entering the roundabout have straight-ahead arrows at the entrance of the roundabout? I have had busses stick to the outer (left) lane and not exiting straight ahead -- how do cars in the middle lane exit the straight ahead junction? I will try to extract a video from my car to show this. The lanes should be marked like this: Left lane = Left + Straight Middle lane = Straight + Right Right lane = Right only Given that there's a left turn "bypass" then why are there traffic lights in the middle of the junction? Can't car's just turn and clear the junction as per a regular roundabout? What kind of road design is this. The traffic lights within the roundabout causes gridlock and the congestion during peak hour tails back to Brickland road on the Choa Chu Kang side." No doubt signalling is important. That is not ruled out here. Give way, be patient. But still having some knowledge of roundabout rules would make traffic flow smoother instead of having morons switch lanes in a roundabout. Please google map newton circle and go street level take a look, also Amber road round about. go take a look. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear May 15, 2015 Author Share May 15, 2015 (edited) Please google map newton circle and go street level take a look, also Amber road round about. go take a look. ... you want to smoke who... newton circus is a 3 lane roundabout with multi-lane entry/exit ranging from 1 to 3 lanes. that roundabout is known for the mess that's why they put traffic lights in there. it's a bad design, and should have never happened. nonetheless the rule(s) apply, signaling apply. There are really a lot of cock. Let me show you this video that I spent some time trying to trim on my computer. Date/time on video is accurate. This is the mess at CCK/Bukit Panjang now. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yZ-kvyrPPLk&feature=youtu.be 3 lane entry into a 3 lane wide roundabout. To my left, there's a bus + 2 cars in front of the bus. Pay attention to where the 2 cars in front of the bus went. 12 o'clock, right? That is correct. But what did the bus do? Now, what happens if I want to exit at 12? 12 o'clock has a two lane exit, and it is meant for cars in my lane (middle) to exit alongside. But because of the bus I would have to slow down and cut behind to exit. Also pay attention to a black BMW (3 series) in front of the green van in my lane and a few others in front of him (Mazda 3, Wish, Lancer EX). They are in the middle lane, so they're supposed to get out at 3 o'clock, but they went on to do a full U-turn, what happens? The green van (and myself) are being blocked and have to lane change to the left to avoid. During peak hour this is what happens. Cars like those in the middle lane not observing the roundabout rules are what causes a gridlock within the roundabout. We can't get out, nobody can get in. Edited May 15, 2015 by Detach8 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilcup 3rd Gear May 15, 2015 Share May 15, 2015 (edited) ... you want to smoke who... newton circus is a 3 lane roundabout with multi-lane entry/exit ranging from 1 to 3 lanes. that roundabout is known for the mess that's why they put traffic lights in there. it's a bad design, and should have never happened. nonetheless the rule(s) apply, signaling apply. There are really a lot of cock. Let me show you this video that I spent some time trying to trim on my computer. Date/time on video is accurate. This is the mess at CCK/Bukit Panjang now. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yZ-kvyrPPLk&feature=youtu.be 3 lane entry into a 3 lane wide roundabout. To my left, there's a bus + 2 cars in front of the bus. Pay attention to where the 2 cars in front of the bus went. 12 o'clock, right? That is correct. But what did the bus do? Now, what happens if I want to exit at 12? 12 o'clock has a two lane exit, and it is meant for cars in my lane (middle) to exit alongside. But because of the bus I would have to slow down and cut behind to exit. Also pay attention to a black BMW (3 series) in front of the green van in my lane and a few others in front of him (Mazda 3, Wish, Lancer EX). They are in the middle lane, so they're supposed to get out at 3 o'clock, but they went on to do a full U-turn, what happens? The green van (and myself) are being blocked and have to lane change to the left to avoid. During peak hour this is what happens. Cars like those in the middle lane not observing the roundabout rules are what causes a gridlock within the roundabout. We can't get out, nobody can get in. maybe i am wrong... :) Edited May 15, 2015 by Devilcup Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear May 15, 2015 Author Share May 15, 2015 More, from today. For your entertainment, although I am really quite pissed to have two incidents within minutes of each other. Toyota/Lexus SUV did not yield at roundabout, followed another car in blindly. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdNP4ZhPAas This Audi did not yield at the roundabout give way -- in fact the car was speeding towards the roundabout then entered it despite me being at the give way line much earlier. That's why I flashed and honked before the car even appeared in the video. The car is also seen beating a red light later in the video. Highly possibly drunk. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4yyNI1qYFM8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic May 15, 2015 Share May 15, 2015 More, from today. For your entertainment, although I am really quite pissed to have two incidents within minutes of each other. Toyota/Lexus SUV did not yield at roundabout, followed another car in blindly. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdNP4ZhPAas This Audi did not yield at the roundabout give way -- in fact the car was speeding towards the roundabout then entered it despite me being at the give way line much earlier. That's why I flashed and honked before the car even appeared in the video. The car is also seen beating a red light later in the video. Highly possibly drunk. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4yyNI1qYFM8 Wow bro, now I see why u r upset The roundabout encounters I come across is slightly different scenario For our own safety, all I can say is drive slowly and carefully Have a great weekend! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...