Audi A3 Sedan/Sportsback Owners - Check In

zerobim08

unfortunately mine dosent come with electric seat,
Navi need 10k installation, the MMI seems useless if not using navi

want to install camera, and my dealer advice me not to, it will void the warranty if the electronic part got tampered

reverse cam not sure have or not, not impt to me

unfortunately mine dosent come with electric seat,

Navi need 10k installation, the MMI seems useless if not using navi

want to install camera, and my dealer advice me not to, it will void the warranty if the electronic part got tampered

reverse cam not sure have or not, not impt to me

these days, especially with expensive cars, it's very useful/good to have a DVR in your car. If the dealer complain void warranty they should at least offer to handle the installation for you so it does not void

They have to drop certain options to make the price/omv what it is. I don't know about now but when I bought 9 months ago it was just 12-15k more than an altis.

Something got to give like the convenience key, electric seat and reverse cam/navigation.

I understand. Though frankly I've always found it annoying because I expect the upper class marques to offer more of the "experience".

these days, especially with expensive cars, it's very useful/good to have a DVR in your car. If the dealer complain void warranty they should at least offer to handle the installation for you so it does not void

I understand. Though frankly I've always found it annoying because I expect the upper class marques to offer more of the "experience".

I think they are trying to get a slice of the bb mass market with the A3 albeit not so successful.

Unlike some of the kor/jap AD which strip the car of all original options (like Navi, electric seat etc) and then fit those options locally with cheaper alternatives. But I doubt Audi will let the AD do this with A3. So we end up with the ridiculous price of $10k to add the navigation+some other options.

So instead of looking at the A3 as a luxury car maybe it is more appropriate to look at it as a wannabe mass market car from a luxury brand. Having said that, the A3 is still a notch above the other mass market cars in terms of built quality, performance, drive experience and technology.

If someone is looking for a status symbol car they won't look at the A3. For me I am glad I got the choice for a cheaper A3 without those options like Navi or electric seat which are useless to me.

the one I bought think is Germany

do people wrap a new color for new car?

I was no other option left and left to choose with black color

wanted red =(

I think the A3 is made in Hungary.  When I bought,  all black or black+chessnut brown interior colors are available.   I think the black+chessnut looks better (but not available with certain paint color)

the one I bought think is Germany

do people wrap a new color for new car?

I was no other option left and left to choose with black color

wanted red =(

Anyone can do wrap at any time, and since it doesn't damage the paintwork, it can be removed later on to reveal an (almost?) pristine looking car, which can be good for your resale value since black is a popular color for Audi.

Shouldn't affect warranty also.

Thanks bros for the kind reply. I just did a YOLO ytd and paid a deposit for an A3 in my first visit to the show room. Kinda heart over head decision but hope I won't regret..been reading a lot on various forums. My SE said the a3 platform is different from Jetta but same as Golf Mk7. I asked about the problematic MU but he said this is the 2nd version. Anyway, I kinda expected his answer. I went in and signed with my eyes wide open. It's really a beautiful car and a nice drive. Was driving a Honda Integra before and the A3's pull at low rpms and small turning rate was the deal clincher for me.

Anyone know where I can find this set of rims in sg, apart from PA that is. Is this 18"? The stock pics from sgcarmart also looks like the car is lowered. Very nice stance.. The 16 inch stock rims are really not too aesthetically pleasing.. Any good lobang or recommended shop to trade in and choose audi rims? I dun mind stock 17 or 18 inchers that are traded in, shld be cheaper than buying from PA. Anyone know if they are very heavy? Whats the PCD for A3?

Cheers and thanks in advance

post-63205-0-03089800-1445439183_thumb.jpg

Edited by Spritzer

I don't know about the rest of you, when I bought the A3, I was looking and considering either A3 or A4. However, I finally decided on the A3 because the platform is new whereas the A4 was due for a change and I didn't want to end up with a car that will become obsolete a few months down the line. A6 was out of my budget range.

At that time, they only have the basic version. There's no Navi, Electric seats etc. to me it was the safety and the drive that was important. The MQB platform is good in that aspect, plus the 1.4T means low consumption.

For a car that travels mainly in Singapore, it is quite a luxury already, took it up north once a few months back and had to supress the urge to go full throttle. At 140kmh to 160kmh, you don't feel a thing.

Then again, the A3 is not in the lowest rung is it? The A1 is cute but I think that's more a beginner's (Audi owning) car.

Kinda heart over head decision but hope I won't regret..been reading a lot on various forums. My SE said the a3 platform is different from Jetta but same as Golf Mk7.

A3 Sportback/sedan is built on MQB (Modular Tranverse Matrix) which debuted on the Golf A7, so your SE has told you the truth here. Jetta is still on the old A2 platform, but we should see a MQB-based Jetta soon. MQB is a fantastic platform, most would agree.

I asked about the problematic MU but he said this is the 2nd version. Anyway, I kinda expected his answer. I went in and signed with my eyes wide open. It's really a beautiful car and a nice drive. Was driving a Honda Integra before and the A3's pull at low rpms and small turning rate was the deal clincher for me.

Stock answer from your sales person, alright, haha.

ndeed, the A3 has these as plus points. Though compared to some Japanese cars its turning radius isn't that stellar. If turbo-torque at low RPM is your thing, you did have plenty of other options, but only Audi would've given you a small and practical car with this level of premium finishing, classy appearance and great agility (courtesy of MQB).

Anyone know where I can find this set of rims in sg, apart from PA that is. Is this 18"? The stock pics from sgcarmart also looks like the car is lowered. Very nice stance.. The 16 inch stock rims are really not too aesthetically pleasing.. Any good lobang or recommended shop to trade in and choose audi rims? I dun mind stock 17 or 18 inchers that are traded in, shld be cheaper than buying from PA. Anyone know if they are very heavy? Whats the PCD for A3?

Those rims should probably be offered by Premium as you say, but they look like they're rims for the larger Audi models. Well, I'm not sure where you could go for those, but it might be possible to find some similar rims elsewhere and replace the center cap with Audi logo. An alternative [;)]. Premium only specifies 16" rims for the A3 by default since the A3 is supposed to be their entry level model. Quite a lot is missing from the A3 that the Golf is equipped with.

Stock photo on SGCM undoubtedly shows a high-end well-equipped A3. The photograph model specimen probably also has the sport/lowered suspension, and it's also wearing Matrix LED headlamps. These are things you can get through PA, but they're expensive chargeable indent options.

Good luck on your bidding.

Edited by 7hm

Thanks a lot 7hm for sharing the insights. Silently pleased :)

My SE got the COE for me ytd. Think partly because I'm trading in my 9.5 yr old car and I guess he needs to push it out to his dealer asap.

LongLiveChina,

I think first week of Nov shld be able to collect the car. First thing is to swap out the rims. 4k is crazy for me. I don't mind replicas actually but wanna go down to a place with wide selection and reasonable pricing. Anyone knows what's a reasonable trade in price for the stock 16 inchers and brand new tyres (dunno wat brand they giving too)?

SE mentioned no need to change oil from now until 15k. Is it already running on synthetic oil? Anyone knows if the stock A3 tyres are already balanced for high speed? I recall the steering wheel of my previous new car that I drove out of the showroom judders at > 100 km/h, which I thought was ridiculous considering its a brand new ride. The juddering was gone after I did high speed balancing at the advice of some bros here. But these days you will be hard up trying to find a local tyre place that offers this facility/service.

Edited by Spritzer

Thanks a lot 7hm for sharing the insights. Silently pleased :)

My SE got the COE for me ytd. Think partly because I'm trading in my 9.5 yr old car and I guess he needs to push it out to his dealer asap.

LongLiveChina,

I think first week of Nov shld be able to collect the car. First thing is to swap out the rims. 4k is crazy for me. I don't mind replicas actually but wanna go down to a place with wide selection and reasonable pricing. Anyone knows what's a reasonable trade in price for the stock 16 inchers and brand new tyres (dunno wat brand they giving too)?

SE mentioned no need to change oil from now until 15k. Is it already running on synthetic oil? Anyone knows if the stock A3 tyres are already balanced for high speed? I recall the steering wheel of my previous new car that I drove out of the showroom judders at > 100 km/h, which I thought was ridiculous considering its a brand new ride. The juddering was gone after I did high speed balancing at the advice of some bros here. But these days you will be hard up trying to find a local tyre place that offers this facility/service.

Congrats.  Hope you got a good deal on it.  Did you get the free 3-year service?

Yeah, the 16in stock multi-spoke rim doesnt look sporty.  And it gets dirty pretty fast - the brakes spew out lots of dust.  I think the ambiente trim (from the thick brochure) seems to target the "executive" crowd.  Stock tyre for mine was Continental CPC.  Lousy tyre as it starting to make noise after 15K km.  I read someone who changed to 18in said it is way too noisy.   Anyway not sure whether 18in would look good without lowering the suspension (which I think would void your warranty if you did that)

Just done my first 15K service.  No need to change oil before that (unless you are kiasu).  I dont know what you mean by high speed but I tried the car at 130+ km/h and there is no judder of the steering.  Car very stable and hush at that speed too.  

There should be some replicas around for this design. Check with shops like Leong Seng, Autokinetics, etc.

Or look out for good deals for other original rims.

i got myself a second hand 19" forged rims. Nice....

but the noise is pretty unbearable at rough roads at high speed....

Happy driving your A3 !

spritz

im getting my car next week haha

wont try to change anything during the 1st year

ahkiat99

what model is yours?

19in so big

for a3 stock is 16in

I will go 17in and the most 18in only

A3 Ambiente 1.4TFSI (Non Plus version)

18" will look nice enuff.

spritz

im getting my car next week haha

wont try to change anything during the 1st year

ahkiat99

what model is yours?

19in so big

for a3 stock is 16in

I will go 17in and the most 18in only

I think if you were to spend money then go for 18in. I don't think 17 can make that much of a difference in look (unless of course you so hated the stock rim design)