RS Chip Tuning

azaouogh

Dear,

I need information about this, I can't believe but I would like to hear your opinion about this BMW M5 & performance?

http://2016latestcar.com/2018-bmw-m5-specs-price-top-speed/

Whatever does this have to do with the RS Chip? :huh:

In any case, that article seems quite poorly written and factually dubious. The transmission for the M cars has *never* been an 8 speed AT - only the non-true M "M performance" cars like the M135i have had ZF 8 speeds. Current M5 has a 7 speed DCT (and of course a manual option which is...hard to find).

You want my opinion as a current M5 owner? The more I hear about this the less I like it. Same basic engine, so no real improvement there. And adding AWD, even as an option to an M car!! Dear god, what has the world in general (and BMW in particular) come to? Can't they just stick to inflicting AWD on their X///M glorified soccer mobiles?

Let's face it, purists would consider even my car (F10 M5) a serious compromise compared to the old E60 M5, even though the new model is much quicker and better by most measurable metrics. The old one still has the nostalgic edge and, of course, the romanticism of a high revving, screaming, N/A V10.

I can't even begin to imagine the outcry that'll great this new M5 is the rumours are true. They might as well make it a hybrid and be done with it, that seems to be the way everything's trending anyway.

Update: installed the rschip in my estima by FongKim and running 3rd tank with sport+ setting. FC not worse and perhaps better since less heavy footed with obvious increase in low end torque. Not cheap but at least positive effect and tested safe maps downloaded into cool handphone app for setting. I run 98 esso always ... next project on CO's qashqai albeit wasted without turbo boost.

Edited by richard_crl032

RS Chip.

Can really the RSchip increase HP by 20%?

Anyone have the chart for 2L NA engine?

Thanks

Update: installed the rschip in my estima by FongKim and running 3rd tank with sport+ setting. FC not worse and perhaps better since less heavy footed with obvious increase in low end torque. Not cheap but at least positive effect and tested safe maps downloaded into cool handphone app for setting. I run 98 esso always ... next project on CO's qashqai albeit wasted without turbo boost.

Hi Richard,

Would you mind to share the FC before and after RSchip? Thanks.

Thanks

Hi Richard,

impossible for N.A engine to have 20% gain off stock parts. u've to upgrade intakes or exhaust at least.

the reason for RS ship is u its more flexible as u can twitch between fuel eco and performance tune. for ECU remap u can only choose one map.

For N.A Cars its better to tune for economy. so far i saw a vezel on RSChip gained 56Nm of torque. 

Edited by Stanfordho96

Thanks

Hi Richard,

Sean,

I also dun know the increase % but if you look at any dyno chart, the max increase is at 5-6k rpm which we will never go there on regular basis unless you plan to change car soon.

Whatever increase in torque or bhp, it is not day and nite difference but significant enuff for me in terms of obvious driveability improvement which is much better than those 10 yrs ago piggyback, polished/widen throttle that I had. Moreover, unless I change car, this is to me a worthwhile mod especially since I am had been on esso 98 throughout.

On FC improvement, it is certainly cos I do not have to be as heavy footed as before to get my 1.9ton+ estima hippo going and it is about 10% ...450km/50l tank compared to 400km/tank.

Hope this helps.

impossible for N.A engine to have 20% gain off stock parts. u've to upgrade intakes or exhaust at least.

the reason for RS ship is u its more flexible as u can twitch between fuel eco and performance tune. for ECU remap u can only choose one map.

For N.A Cars its better to tune for economy. so far i saw a vezel on RSChip gained 56Nm of torque.

Stanford,

Impossible to have 20% gain but 56Nm increase for vezel ?? What is the stock torque of vezel ? Say 220Nm and 56Nm is 20% ??? Wrong statement somewhere ??

Edited by richard_crl032

56Nm is a lot lioa, but not sure in what rpm range?

If this gain is in low rpm, then for sure is FC saving

56Nm is a lot lioa, but not sure in what rpm range?

If this gain is in low rpm, then for sure is FC saving ð

Hi Richard,

That's is about 10% FC improvement, then I must go grab one lah ð

Thanks.

Sean,

What car you driving ? If you are already light footed, you may not see the same 10% improvement but driveability sure got difference. Btw,I got it lower than sgd780 and pm me if you wish for contact to see if you can get same price.

Sean,

What car you driving ? If you are already light footed, you may not see the same 10% improvement but driveability sure got difference. Btw,I got it lower than sgd780 and pm me if you wish for contact to see if you can get same price.

Hi Richard,

Not sure how to PM leh, can you PM me instead? Thanks.

56nm?? Lol

If it sounds too good to be true, then you should know .....

Sean,

Bro.. Can u PM where u do ur RS Chip? And it's cost?

56 nm increase with a chip? Play car so many years, like u, I think its a whole load of crock.

Will put all tuners outta business for good. Why waste time learning the art of tuning? LOL

56nm?? Lol

If it sounds too good to be true, then you should know .....

56 nm increase with a chip? Play car so many years, like u, I think its a whole load of crock.

Will put all tuners outta business for good. Why waste time learning the art of tuning? LOL

Haha.. Just want to know how it works. I don't think just plug and play can easily gain 20bhp

I put this on my 1.4 Verna (M) and go what i wanted - improved torque. 

A pretty good investment