Disappointed with School System today

Darryn

Screw you and your assumptions.

She's a citizen.

She's as much right to her place as anyone else.

Her mum is singapore Chinese. ...that's the reason for learning Chinese.

All the more you should not criticize by starting a thread about disappointment in local school system.

If your daughter has as much right to her place as anyone else then all the more you should learn to accept our ways rather than bull dozing your believes into our system.

I am sure your Singaporean spouse dont think it is an issue.

Your sense of entitlement is something very disturbing.

Edited by WilliamY

Screw you and your assumptions.

She's a citizen.

She's as much right to her place as anyone else.

Her mum is singapore Chinese. ...that's the reason for learning Chinese.

welcometosingapore.jpg

Do it our way!

Edited by Nolicense

What "sense of entitlement" and what "bull doze"

All the more you should not criticize by starting a thread about disappointment in local school system.

If your daughter has as much right to her place as anyone else then all the more you should learn to accept our ways rather than bull dozing your believes into our system.

Sorry mate, but you know what it's like here. Anything unusual or 'unnatural' is frowned upon. It's been like that for aeons, and always will be.

Sad to say, Singapore got no room for creative thinking.

My sprog is in Primary 5, for the first time so far - last night I was truly disappointed in the school system.

Blardy hell - how to move forward like that? . . . .

I'm no more bloody agree than anything else in this thread !!!

Nowadays, from top to bottom..... from MOE to the security guards....... its either outsource resources or coming out with 'fantastic' titles and roles just to take all parents and students for a joy ride....................

its a f**king (this is my 1st 'f' word in MyCarforum after so many years in my life) singapore education system !!!

even the Talking Point in TV was carried out so biaised that it forbade discussion against this f**king singapore education system !!!

In short, its ok to implement or assume tertiary education system to colleges and unis where student are expected to do research for the rest of topics after receiving 1st or 2nd lectures. But nowadays in both secondary and even primary school, none of their acadamic topics are actually fulfilled by their teachers. YES, even to Primary School Kids !!! and are they expected to do research in order to know the topics and pass the tests?

For the past 3 years, my wife (exTeacher) has gone thru' all the notes received by my kids (usually only returned to them days before their major test & exams) to find out that they are just either introductory or missing in the slightest details........ But the test/exam questions are so comprehensive and 'deep' that no way the kids can answer even if they have memorized the notes 100%.....

Guess what !!!! When clarifying with the teachers, they claimed that it was explained thoroughly in class and students are expected to take notes !!! You see, mouth against words lohhh...... For God's sake, we are talking about Primary 2, 3, 4 kids !!!

the bloody media & MOE that are now actually "blinding" all of us to claim that its a "kiasu' mindset of parents!

the fact is, they are NOT focusing on the Class Teaching Methodology anymore!

Only students whom went thru' Tutions or "2nd Round" Class in order to obtain what was actually missing in their class topics, to be able to answer those test questions that were purposely picked NOT in their teaching notes !!!

This is also how the MOE Teachers are taught and coached by their Heads to make sure that they can contol the grades and manipulate their school' terms standards and 'classify' standards within the same level in different classes!!!

Teachers who went miles afar to prepare comprehensive notes for students, as such that the class answers to the tests well .... those teachers were being 'punished' instead of being rewarded..... This is the f**king MOE Singapore Education System in Primary and Secondary Schools nowadays !!!

The Principals and Heads are the master minds or manipulators in this so as to keep their asses high up in the air !!! Should any teachers complaint..... these (both teachers & complaints) go straight to the MOE outsourced 'HR' where only monarchical rulings are presence..... what happen to these teachers then?..... they either being fired or fired the MOE, of coz.... thus leaving this 'nobel' profession, with a spit, head held up high and never look back !

I'd challenge and welcome any if there are someone who disagree with me on the abovementioned. I sound very heated up, angered and fumed simply bcoz I had put high hopes on this system to be conned and realizing its deliberate directives towards from bad to worse and now towards a f**king system in this No.1 country

Sigh !!!!!

Not to mention how schools teach people to be honest and do the right things all the time.

In reality, if you really do all the RIGHT THINGS in life (like me), you get nowhere in your career [furious][lipsrsealed][:p]

Ya lor.

If you 'do the right things' all you get is pushed around. (Which is what they want anyway)

Southern dialects are based on middle Chinese .. they are not different. Chinese writing has not been different since Shih Huang Di, 2000 years ago. Most ancient poems are not even written in Mandarin.

It's not modernizing a language, it's called improving literacy rate. Simplified or not, it is still not a modern language.

there are many characters that are not from Northern Mandarin.

Words that do not exist in the usual chinese dictionaries.

with an old language like Chinese, using pictograms, you really have to modernize the written form.

new words invented for bar, party, WWW, technology, finance..

with new ideas and no new words to carry the meaning, learning and knowledge will not be picked up unless one adopts the new language.

many languages avoid dying by infusing new words.. many examples.. especially English.

Darryn, I am assuming your child is in our local school. It caters for the masses. If you want tailored made education, plenty of creativity, thought provoking education, then you need to move to International School. To be fair to our local school, there are improvements over the years and yes they do produce many outstanding citizens. Your choice.

Have you tried comparing public schools in the United States, United Kingdom and even New Zealand?

The point your brought up and being disappointed about is really uncalled for, at least, my personal opinion. Local schools tends to be fairly traditional in their curriculum. I would actually be happy because apart from learning composition, they get to learn about moral.

Your child is learning Chinese, and there must be a reason. Hence, the curriculum.

If you are unhappy with the system, you can always move to an international school and ship your child back to NZ for education.

I am disappointed, because of your child, one of the locals may have been deprived of a place or being placed somewhere far away from his/her home.

I really hope you can learn to accept this is our education system and if you feel there is a need to improve, go speak to the school rather than posting on the WWW. You should asked the school or teacher why it is like this before you post your disappointment.

Just be grateful.

Alamak. WTF. Another one of those people. [rolleyes]

Just because "it's always been like this" doesn't mean it's not subject to criticism, discussion or evaluation. Who's being self-entitled here?

You know something else? To a man, everybody, except you has addressed what I said. You have addressed who I am.

That says something about you, and it's not very complimentary.

I am sure your Singaporean spouse dont think it is an issue.

You know something else? To a man, everybody, except you has addressed what I said. You have addressed who I am.

That says something about you, and it's not very complimentary.

How else do you expect me to think of you?

When you act like a FT bully.

I posted my comments and made assumptions which was for you to correct but instead because you must get your way, you posted "screw you and your assumptions".

I disagree with your point on the Chinese composition BUT not on anything else about the rest of the local education system. If you at least try to understand about the Chinese language and culture you will appreciate the often Confucius teaching elements.

Our local education system is not perfect but it is not the best either. Surely there are room to improve. But to say you are disappointed with the local school system because of just one Chinese composition is really too much.

How else do you expect me to think of you?

When you act like a FT bully.

I posted my comments and made assumptions which was for you to correct but instead because you must get your way, you posted "screw you and your assumptions".

I disagree with your point on the Chinese composition BUT not on anything else about the rest of the local education system. If you at least try to understand about the Chinese language and culture you will appreciate the often Confucius teaching elements.

Our local education system is not perfect but it is not the best either. Surely there are room to improve. But to say you are disappointed with the local school system because of just one Chinese composition is really too much.

1320179196468_2437163.png

I'm no more bloody agree than anything else in this thread !!!

Nowadays, from top to bottom..... from MOE to the security guards....... its either outsource resources or coming out with 'fantastic' titles and roles just to take all parents and students for a joy ride....................

its a f**king (this is my 1st 'f' word in MyCarforum after so many years in my life) singapore education system !!!

even the Talking Point in TV was carried out so biaised that it forbade discussion against this f**king singapore education system !!!

In short, its ok to implement or assume tertiary education system to colleges and unis where student are expected to do research for the rest of topics after receiving 1st or 2nd lectures. But nowadays in both secondary and even primary school, none of their acadamic topics are actually fulfilled by their teachers. YES, even to Primary School Kids !!! and are they expected to do research in order to know the topics and pass the tests?

For the past 3 years, my wife (exTeacher) has gone thru' all the notes received by my kids (usually only returned to them days before their major test & exams) to find out that they are just either introductory or missing in the slightest details........ But the test/exam questions are so comprehensive and 'deep' that no way the kids can answer even if they have memorized the notes 100%.....

Guess what !!!! When clarifying with the teachers, they claimed that it was explained thoroughly in class and students are expected to take notes !!! You see, mouth against words lohhh...... For God's sake, we are talking about Primary 2, 3, 4 kids !!!

the bloody media & MOE that are now actually "blinding" all of us to claim that its a "kiasu' mindset of parents!

the fact is, they are NOT focusing on the Class Teaching Methodology anymore!

Only students whom went thru' Tutions or "2nd Round" Class in order to obtain what was actually missing in their class topics, to be able to answer those test questions that were purposely picked NOT in their teaching notes !!!

This is also how the MOE Teachers are taught and coached by their Heads to make sure that they can contol the grades and manipulate their school' terms standards and 'classify' standards within the same level in different classes!!!

Teachers who went miles afar to prepare comprehensive notes for students, as such that the class answers to the tests well .... those teachers were being 'punished' instead of being rewarded..... This is the f**king MOE Singapore Education System in Primary and Secondary Schools nowadays !!!

The Principals and Heads are the master minds or manipulators in this so as to keep their asses high up in the air !!! Should any teachers complaint..... these (both teachers & complaints) go straight to the MOE outsourced 'HR' where only monarchical rulings are presence..... what happen to these teachers then?..... they either being fired or fired the MOE, of coz.... thus leaving this 'nobel' profession, with a spit, head held up high and never look back !

I'd challenge and welcome any if there are someone who disagree with me on the abovementioned. I sound very heated up, angered and fumed simply bcoz I had put high hopes on this system to be conned and realizing its deliberate directives towards from bad to worse and now towards a f**king system in this No.1 country

Sigh !!!!!

Wah which school so good got comprehensive note??

Actually not I had a choice to gei kiang .. I was naturally buay kiang. I was in primary school, I had no money to buy new books. All the books I read are passed down, or I read in barber shop. Last time no such thing as simplified Chinese, teacher also don't bother to explain why I should get a zero for writing my essay in traditional chinese. It's not that I should learn simplified Chinese, it just plainly wrong. I continue to be buay kiang for the rest of my school life, and fail most of my subjects. Sorry if it sounds unusual to you, not everyone gets an easy childhood.

Which era are u from?? Look like very much older then me. My time if I were in traditional Chinese won't get penalize one.

Mandarin is not Middle Chinese (used during Tang). What is unusual to you doesn't mean it is not Chinese. What you might not realize, Simplified Chinese has a lot of influence from Japan's own simplification process to improve literacy rate. Korea just took a different path altogether by dropping Chinese writing - and use phonetics instead, but they created a generation of people who cannot read their own country's history.

If you want to see how writings are different between states in one country, you go to India - they are entirely different.

What you have mentioned, the simplification process....

My Chinese teacher, who always like to talk about Chinese history, somehow I caught some of that droning... was that there are too many nonsense repeated words and too many strokes. too hard to teach or learn. Rationalization I would put it as.

But the other half is to catch up with the rest of the world.

The number of words in the English dictionary is 171,000 over words

Chinese dictionary has 370,000 words.

How many words will we need to learn to be proficient for each language? some experts think 3000 words. but Chinese definitely need more than 3000 words to be proficient.

Whatever the real or sole reason, I don't really care. if it boils down to practicality, I say thumbs up. Lost heritage because of that? too bad. if it increases literacy as you said, that's just being smart.

"Chinese writing has not been different since Shih Huang Di, 2000 years ago. Most ancient poems are not even written in Mandarin."

Well Mandarin was not even "invented/developed" yet.

Chinese writing after Qin's unification is maybe like Latin and Tang is at least 800 years after Qin, so maybe call it Old English.

Mandarin is a descent branch language from Middle Chinese. Is that a good analogy?

Anyway so many Tang poetry was modified to Mandarin characters most of us would hardly know it was actually "Old English".

Anyone reading shakespear will cry. Bet many here wouldn't know middle Chinese sounded very much like Teochew.

The Jawi and Vietnam script took the Romanized route. Vietnam borrowed heavily from Chinese script for a long time before that.

India's case, not only script different, language and culture different. and they are mutually unintelligible.

Actually not I had a choice to gei kiang .. I was naturally buay kiang. I was in primary school, I had no money to buy new books. All the books I read are passed down, or I read in barber shop. Last time no such thing as simplified Chinese, teacher also don't bother to explain why I should get a zero for writing my essay in traditional chinese. It's not that I should learn simplified Chinese, it just plainly wrong. I continue to be buay kiang for the rest of my school life, and fail most of my subjects. Sorry if it sounds unusual to you, not everyone gets an easy childhood.

My guess would be you are 60 years old... LOL..

I have friends who are chauvinists and insists on using fan ti... to a fault that they forget the jian ti how to write..

Whatever floats their boat

Southern dialects are based on middle Chinese .. they are not different. Chinese writing has not been different since Shih Huang Di, 2000 years ago. Most ancient poems are not even written in Mandarin.

It's not modernizing a language, it's called improving literacy rate. Simplified or not, it is still not a modern language.

A language that does not introduce new characters and retire old ones.. does not evolve.. dies.. is not modern.

The Chinese are smart people and they introduce new words for new concepts.. so they are modernizing the language..

The only problem is they recycle the same characters for different words/meanings..

It will come to a point that one word has too many multiple meanings.. that ambiguity will start to creep in.

Well maybe it is good for irony or humour or word play.

But the trouble with Chinese is too many words are pronounce the same way on top of having multiple meanings.

Already told you you are 3G one .. I'm ETACS one.

Aiyo sorry Lah... I forget Liao..

This mean u are in the era where word change.. Then understandable why they did that.. Understand doesn't mean I agree.

My sprog is in Primary 5, for the first time so far - last night I was truly disappointed in the school system.

By and large, I find the schools are doing a pretty decent job - so far the education has been going pretty well, I haven't always agreed with what they teach. But hey, I don't need to - they have been doing it rather well.

Last night, chatting with the kid - it is the first time I have been seriously upset at what they are doing.

Just had the "Chinese Composition" exam for first semester, and we were chit chatting about what she wrote.

Apparently they were given picture prompts - about a boy bullying his grandma, running into the road and almost getting run over.

Well ok, putting aside the rather ham fisted and heavy handed moralising - we talked about what she said next...

I suggested a story line of...

Seeing the boy in danger, Superman came flying out of the sky, and stopped the car just in time, lifting it up to protect the boy. But then, when he found out what had happened, he said "Nah - you don't deserve to be rescued" where upon he dropped the car onto the boy, turning him into ketchup.

Crotch spawn informed me that if she wrote that, she would be marked down for "going out of context" - WTF?????

Out of context?

No wonder the kids are so boring - they have to tell a predictable and "moral" story -

In my day, we were encouraged to try and shock / surprise the teacher.

Not write stories to some freaking boring formula!!!

Blardy hell - how to move forward like that?

I would have suggested the exact same story.

That's why Asians cannot think.

We are not born without thinking abilities and creativity

it gets schooled out of us.

Lucky for me I stopped going.

Can you imagine the boring drivel

I would be posting if I completed school?

Why so complicated story abt superman n all? [dizzy]

Go to local skool write like a true local lah...........the classic schoolbook characters always go by the name of Ali, Muthu or Ah Kau. [laugh]