L_club23 4th Gear April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 Still, neighbourhood schools are better, less stress on child and less stress on the parents .... be it education, or "voluntary donations" That's a sweeping statement... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 I don't like the letter sent out by the principal though. Is it like those in the Army? Whereby the PS or PC ask for volunteers? In the end where the whole platoon LL has to volunteer regardless. That kinda letter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 last time, during ARMY NS days also have such donation card. PC or Encik always say cannot book out if didn't get enough donation. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 Is it like those in the Army? Whereby the PS or PC ask for volunteers? In the end where the whole platoon LL has to volunteer regardless. That kinda letter? hmm no lah. Can find it online bah. Basically it's saying we short of target. Not trying your best is not an excuse. Everyone can do more. Open your mouth and ask for more $. It starts with you. Sounds like sales manager trying to give his sales staff a pep talk. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 Machiam MLM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 hmm no lah. Can find it online bah. Basically it's saying we short of target. Not trying your best is not an excuse. Everyone can do more. Open your mouth and ask for more $. It starts with you. Sounds like sales manager trying to give his sales staff a pep talk. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 (edited) As a shy student, i think the presence of a donation card or carnival ticket selling is an opportunity to step out of your comfort zone. I was also like that. Just that the tone of the rest of the message leaves a sour taste in my mouth. Edited April 15, 2015 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 hmm no lah. Can find it online bah. Basically it's saying we short of target. Not trying your best is not an excuse. Everyone can do more. Open your mouth and ask for more $. It starts with you. Sounds like sales manager trying to give his sales staff a pep talk. MOE actually allows this kinda crap to happen? Reply the principal....You fall short of target is your incompetence, nothing to do with me. Did you do your best? If you didn't, why should I? Everyone can do more...you the principal included. Open your mouth so that I can stuff my manhood in it, after I'm satisfied I will pay you. LoL... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmylim 4th Gear April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 i thought was the opposite, Barker is for the rich and I for the very smart ones (not necessary rich). no idea. i believe there should be ACS boys in this forum to share the detail? or they only join the expensive cars forums, haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 no idea. i believe there should be ACS boys in this forum to share the detail? or they only join the expensive cars forums, haha Reply to kanna whack ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 Nan Yxxx PS annual dinner, per table cost few thousands dollars. if you pay for few tables, that's shows your support to the school welfare and yr son/dau will be well taken care of. I have been invited a few times by my friends to fill up the empty seats to fill my stomach. don't need to pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 (edited) ACS I at Dover Road is the independent school whose students take IB. ACS Barker Road is the secondary school whose students take O levels. There is no such thing as rich or poor, you get into the school like all other secondary schools ie through PSLE results or direct admission due to some talent you have. All Govt aided schools like ACS Barker Road are dependent on donations to co-fund their various activities and ACS being a school with long tradition and strong alumni will naturally pull in more funds than the average Govt aided schools. It helps that a lot of their old boys hold prominent positions in society so the strong network built over the years gives them an edge esp in fund raising. I can see 2 sides of the argument. Parents of children not able to meet the targets of fund raising feels pressured and victimized so gets frustrated and is vocal. IMO, she should have channeled that frustration to the teacher, support group or principal if necessary rather than through STOMP of all places. Principal, no matter how enthusiastic to raise funds should be more sensitive in his appeal and have to bear in mind that there will always be financially challenged students in their midst. So he should be extra careful not to make them feel left out or victimized. This lesson I feel may be good for the school eventually as they can learn from this episode and improve communication and perhaps even educate the community at large that ACS is not a rich man's school and on the contrary, students are accepted on merit. For the parent, I hope she learns that there are avenues to channel feedback which I'm sure any school worth their salt would seriously look at. Edited April 15, 2015 by Spring 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 to be objective. i wasn't from ACS. but my school also had this type of donation drive. i remember my dad told me to go out knock on neighbour door to sell. first few i sibei paiseh. stuttered quite badly. by the 3rd or 4th, i got my sales pitch down pat and managed to sell off everything eventually. i think the experience stood me in good stead for the rest of my life. lol 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poohbor 4th Gear April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 to be objective. i wasn't from ACS. but my school also had this type of donation drive. i remember my dad told me to go out knock on neighbour door to sell. first few i sibei paiseh. stuttered quite badly. by the 3rd or 4th, i got my sales pitch down pat and managed to sell off everything eventually. i think the experience stood me in good stead for the rest of my life. lol Ppl are taking issue with the Principal's letter and choice of words. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 to be objective. i wasn't from ACS. but my school also had this type of donation drive. i remember my dad told me to go out knock on neighbour door to sell. first few i sibei paiseh. stuttered quite badly. by the 3rd or 4th, i got my sales pitch down pat and managed to sell off everything eventually. i think the experience stood me in good stead for the rest of my life. lol to become a better door to door salesman? just kidding with you, the practice of such pitch was like doing a toast master course to overcome the shyness. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 first few i sibei paiseh. stuttered quite badly. by the 3rd or 4th, i got my sales pitch down pat and managed to sell off everything eventually. i think the experience stood me in good stead for the rest of my life. lol Wah so this is how to master your skill of..... Holy Level of SELLING Refrigerator to Eskimo and Unfathomable Level of SELLING Comb to Monk .... Last qtn, at which age u mastered the different levels hehehe 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 Whole letter sounds a bit.... "Money Money Money, It's a Rich Man's World" Good thing I am not associated with this school, anyone who is Kee Chiu! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 15, 2015 Author Share April 15, 2015 (edited) Ppl are taking issue with the Principal's letter and choice of words. Yeah, the letter smacks of money money money and is totally against the values it is trying to impart to young minds. My ACS friend says if cannot take the heat, get out of the kitchen, to him, that is ACS. Sell $50, min spent $50, Ferrari, Maserati.... Edited April 15, 2015 by Voodooman ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...