Mr Lee Kuan Yew wanted Oxley Road home demolished

Duckduck

Mai Tu liao................ limited edition SG $notes with LKY faces....

Yahoo news: SG50 notes to feature iconic Lee Kuan Yew image

A set of SG50 commemorative notes featuring the image of the late Lee Kuan Yew will be launched as planned, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in Parliament today.

Revealing details of the SG50 commemorative notes, which was designed before his father's death, PM Lee said that one set will comprise five $10 notes and one $50 note.

“On the $50 note, one element in the design will be a transparent panel showing Mr Lee with fist raised, leading the crowd with the rallying cry of 'Merdeka!'", said PM Lee.

Singaporeans and MPs have raised
various suggestions on how to honour the life and contributions of Singapore's founding father, including dollar notes with his image, a yearly Founder's Day and the renaming of Changi Airport after him.

In his ministerial statement in Parliament, PM Lee said that Singapore should not rush into making decisions on how best to honour Lee Kuan Yew.

"These are all good ideas. But we should not rush into making decisions on this matter, especially so soon after Mr Lee has passed away. We should allow some time to pass, consider the ideas carefully, and make calm, considered decisions which will stand the test of time."

"We want to honour Mr Lee, but must do so in the right way," he said.

Link: https://sg.news.yahoo.com/sg50-notes-to-feature-iconic-lee-kuan-yew-image-075457544.html

I will be getting 2 sets ..... [smash][smash]

Collector's items, sure very hot sales ... [sweatdrop]

Edited by Picnic06

They are mercenaries who have been proved to be loyal (and garang).

how could a mercenary be linked to loyalty?

Why not?

Before taking up the job, they are loyal to money. After taking up the job, they are loyal to you assuming you keep up your end of the bargain.

The reason he wanted his house demolished is at 4:00 of this video. Also in this same vid , his views on horoscope and fengshui , which he thinks is " utter rubbish " , and his acceptance on homosexuality .

Mai Tu liao................ limited edition SG $notes with LKY faces....

Yahoo news: SG50 notes to feature iconic Lee Kuan Yew image

A set of SG50 commemorative notes featuring the image of the late Lee Kuan Yew will be launched as planned, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in Parliament today.

Revealing details of the SG50 commemorative notes, which was designed before his father's death, PM Lee said that one set will comprise five $10 notes and one $50 note.

“On the $50 note, one element in the design will be a transparent panel showing Mr Lee with fist raised, leading the crowd with the rallying cry of 'Merdeka!'", said PM Lee.

Singaporeans and MPs have raised various suggestions on how to honour the life and contributions of Singapore's founding father, including dollar notes with his image, a yearly Founder's Day and the renaming of Changi Airport after him.

In his ministerial statement in Parliament, PM Lee said that Singapore should not rush into making decisions on how best to honour Lee Kuan Yew.

"These are all good ideas. But we should not rush into making decisions on this matter, especially so soon after Mr Lee has passed away. We should allow some time to pass, consider the ideas carefully, and make calm, considered decisions which will stand the test of time."

"We want to honour Mr Lee, but must do so in the right way," he said.

Link: https://sg.news.yahoo.com/sg50-notes-to-feature-iconic-lee-kuan-yew-image-075457544.html

I will be getting 2 sets ..... [smash][smash]

Collector's items, sure very hot sales ... [sweatdrop]

Sure it will be a sell out.

Question is when they start selling, and how to order it?

You don't know the Gukhas.

They are not in for the money. You give them a life, a family, they repay you with their life.

Their honor can be even strong than non-mercenaries, like NSFs.

Edited by Pocus

You don't know the Gukhas.

They are not in for the money. You give them a life, a family, they repay you with their life.

Their honor can be even strong than non-mercenaries, like NSFs.

Just as Gurkha's are well known for Bravery in fighting and loyalty , Sherpas are well kwown for mountaineering skills and toughness. I was jogging along ECP & suddenly this bunch of guys (all didnt look big size) overtook me and I thought they must be some Chinese team training for some sports run and on my return run - this time saw face to face - they had chisseled like faces and immediately knew they were Gurkhas and they run in such a steady speed and in a group of like 5's and since i ran about 2 hours ... they too must have done the same or even longer and boy were they fast (by the time i reach the end point they already "pusing balik"

50 million in 1990s can buy u an apple company

50 million could also make one skyscraper in 1980s and valued 300-400m today

50 million is my dream [grin]

... you didn't put currency....

Baht or Rupiah?

[:p]

looks like when i pass away i will have the whole building 10 over floors pulled down. [:(]

if you are like Peter Lim who own the whole 10 over floors building :D:D

Stamford modernised this place, from a fishing village. Without Stamford, no one will know us at all. So he did make alot of impact on us. LKY brought it up post WWII.

What a bull - that angmoh came here and make Singapore a colony and Singapore residents all British subjects in the name His Majesty of england king.

LKY used also believe amtk until he saw how the Jap screwed them and later how he was treated while studying in england.

Raffles took away Asian pride while LKY return it to us.

Don't mix both of them simply based on who "modenised this place".

Just as Gurkha's are well known for Bravery in fighting and loyalty , Sherpas are well kwown for mountaineering skills and toughness. I was jogging along ECP & suddenly this bunch of guys (all didnt look big size) overtook me and I thought they must be some Chinese team training for some sports run and on my return run - this time saw face to face - they had chisseled like faces and immediately knew they were Gurkhas and they run in such a steady speed and in a group of like 5's and since i ran about 2 hours ... they too must have done the same or even longer and boy were they fast (by the time i reach the end point they already "pusing balik"

I always say they are the only real FT in Singapore cos they're the best in the world.

They will beat any of our infantry units flat.

If we want to give away scholarships and PR, they're the ones who deserve it.

But you are a nobody right? How can the whole 10 floor disappear?

looks like when i pass away i will have the whole building 10 over floors pulled down. [:(]

I always say they are the only real FT in Singapore cos they're the best in the world.

They will beat any of our infantry units flat.

If we want to give away scholarships and PR, they're the ones who deserve it.

but i heard that in the UK where they have been employed for many decades or even a century... they are not getting much welfare benefits... also it must be costing the kingdom lots of money to maintain this old guys there which on one side they were praised for their bravery but now they are commercially non viable... it costs the Kingdom money which the tax payers are definetely unhappy.