On 10/24/2024 at 4:17 PM, Scion said:

different bah

at end of the day, public flats still belong to HDB after 99 years

as for freehold private properties, the owner should have the final say

but this case is not leh ...

On 10/24/2024 at 3:32 PM, Columbian78 said:

If the govt is still undecided or confused, it should instead conduct studies into what does LKY personally really wants, and work towards that.

Not what we want, or what govt want or what his surviving family wants.

you nailed it man!!!:grin:

On 10/24/2024 at 3:36 PM, Jman888 said:

i think eventually will keep it but not open to public.

........  until maybe 50 yrs later [laugh] [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

50 ears later their resident designated ribbon cutter should be a centenarian in wheelchair liao...can still cut...? 😁

On 10/24/2024 at 4:15 PM, Jellandross said:

Time to activate all the Friends of PAP influenzas to do their job!

INFLUENCERS.jpg

Screenshot 2024-10-24 at 16.45.22.png

I’ve often wondered what figurative skeletons were in the closet that LKY was so specific about what was to happen to 38 Oxley after he died and his daughter no longer wanted to live there.

In any outcome whether to conserve or to demolish would mean outsiders entering the property.

If NHB recommends to conserve it - but keep it locked up, what value has it as a place of significance or monument?

I read the headline "NHB to study if Oxley Road site is worthy of preservation; all options should be kept open".

No need to study, it is definitely worthy of preservation.

But this is not the point.

The fact that govt is studying and all the hoohah proves it is the house of a very great person to modern SG.

As such, the minimal we do is respect the wish of this great person.

If he says demolish is his preference but he is open to ...this is clear what is his biggest wish. We fulfill his biggest wish, his preference, what he wants most.

I don't remember he ever ask for any other personal thing from Singaporeans but just for his house to be demolish.

If the govt is still undecided or confused, it should instead conduct studies into what does LKY personally really wants, and work towards that.

How to find out what LKY personally wants? 7th month already over, got to wait till next year!

On 10/24/2024 at 6:46 PM, Sosaria said:

How to find out what LKY personally wants? 7th month already over, got to wait till next year!

He said before when alive and alert and also in his will.

Same like he didn't want statues of himself. 

Edited by Volvobrick

Sekali someone wishes he can tell his grandchildren that their gong gong ever stayed there...so did his own gong gong...then the stolee telling legasee can be happilee continued...😁

On 10/24/2024 at 6:43 PM, Sosaria said:

A family matter, why does an outsider interfere? 

His kar kia will be extra busy scrubbing all those comments [laugh]

I don’t think Edwin underling is doing that.

I have been monitoring the comments 

On 10/24/2024 at 6:46 PM, Sosaria said:

That part of his will was made public.

His will was accepted.

I know those that do not understand.

for those who do, I am a useless person also can understand.

😂🥲😊

For the obtuse, why go uk?

why not Australia, New Zealand or anywhere else but good old u the k?

canada? Hawaii? Guam? Saipan? Puerto Rico? Malta? Cyprus? Greek islands?

why cold and grey uk?

No body in that crazy noisy room anymore where looks were exchanged and the ivory throne much used.

where naughty children were disciplined by wooden stick and not caned mercifully. Hor? 😘

Edited by Datsun366

I read the headline "NHB to study if Oxley Road site is worthy of preservation; all options should be kept open".

No need to study, it is definitely worthy of preservation.

But this is not the point.

The fact that govt is studying and all the hoohah proves it is the house of a very great person to modern SG.

As such, the minimal we do is respect the wish of this great person.

If he says demolish is his preference but he is open to ...this is clear what is his biggest wish. We fulfill his biggest wish, his preference, what he wants most.

I don't remember he ever ask for any other personal thing from Singaporeans but just for his house to be demolish.

Erection coming mah....

Even if demolished after assessment ..... Probably erection just over ....

Must milk it a bit more.... 

Edited by Atonchia

On 10/24/2024 at 2:55 PM, Spidey10 said:

i thot in SG, is demolish and build, demolish and build again....old HDB all demolish and build what....this also same leh, demolish and build lah.

no difference if it has sentimental value to G or not...as if for those residing in HDB that is demolish no sentimental feeling meh? My father and our family all grew up in HDB leh, see can dun demolish the old HDB or not...i got feeling for that HDB block...dun demolish can or not?

SLA, HDB and the Preservation professional will ask me to go fly kite somewhere...:sick:

good that you know you aren't part of familee and no legacy to be milked  :D

On 10/24/2024 at 2:55 PM, Spidey10 said:

i thot in SG, is demolish and build, demolish and build again....old HDB all demolish and build what....this also same leh, demolish and build lah.

no difference if it has sentimental value to G or not...as if for those residing in HDB that is demolish no sentimental feeling meh? My father and our family all grew up in HDB leh, see can dun demolish the old HDB or not...i got feeling for that HDB block...dun demolish can or not?

SLA, HDB and the Preservation professional will ask me to go fly kite somewhere...:sick:

Is your surname Lee? If not then please move aside [laugh]

• Haha! 7