Duckduck

On 10/24/2024 at 1:35 PM, inlinesix said:

Edwin Tong Post

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/FHFBbtLi5gqDcfpA/

Read the comments below

🤭

It's a simple a/b choice:

A) Respect LKY's wish and demolish the place.

B) Disregard LKY's wish and keep it for future use.

But me think gov trying to go for an option 😄

C) Keep it for future use without disrespecting LKY.. make it look like LHY n LWL are the ones who wanted to demolish the place.

On 10/24/2024 at 2:37 PM, Tkseah said:

C) Keep it for future use without disrespecting LKY.. make it look like LHY n LWL are the ones who wanted to demolish the place.

huh....I thot LHY already said he want that place demolish? why make it look like they want to?

On 10/24/2024 at 2:42 PM, Spidey10 said:

huh....I thot LHY already said he want that place demolish? why make it look like they want to?

Precisely they are trying to frame it as LHY's wish.. rather than LKY's wish.. 

On 10/24/2024 at 2:37 PM, Tkseah said:

Look at Edwin Tong  Post.

It is very clear in ppl mind that it is LKY wish

On 10/24/2024 at 1:35 PM, inlinesix said:

Edwin Tong Post

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/FHFBbtLi5gqDcfpA/

Read the comments below

🤭

i thot in SG, is demolish and build, demolish and build again....old HDB all demolish and build what....this also same leh, demolish and build lah.

no difference if it has sentimental value to G or not...as if for those residing in HDB that is demolish no sentimental feeling meh? My father and our family all grew up in HDB leh, see can dun demolish the old HDB or not...i got feeling for that HDB block...dun demolish can or not?

SLA, HDB and the Preservation professional will ask me to go fly kite somewhere...:sick:

On 10/24/2024 at 2:49 PM, inlinesix said:

Look at Edwin Tong  Post.

It is very clear in ppl mind that it is LKY wish

The official narrative is trying to make it sounds like it's LKY's preference rather than his wish.. though it is clear in his will to have it demolished..

Screenshot_20241024-145542.jpg

On 10/24/2024 at 2:55 PM, Spidey10 said:

i thot in SG, is demolish and build, demolish and build again....old HDB all demolish and build what....this also same leh, demolish and build lah.

no difference if it has sentimental value to G or not...as if for those residing in HDB that is demolish no sentimental feeling meh? My father and our family all grew up in HDB leh, see can dun demolish the old HDB or not...i got feeling for that HDB block...dun demolish can or not?

SLA, HDB and the Preservation professional will ask me to go fly kite somewhere...:sick:

Of course, they will ask you to fly kite.  Who is Spidey10?🤭

I had said previously that Demolition Permit can be rejected on basis of heritage value.

On 10/24/2024 at 3:00 PM, Tkseah said:

The official narrative is trying to make it sounds like it's LKY's preference rather than his wish.. though it is clear in his will to have it demolished..

It doesn't matter. 

Ppl rem it as LKY wish which is written in the comment section of Edwin Tong.

I read the headline "NHB to study if Oxley Road site is worthy of preservation; all options should be kept open".

No need to study, it is definitely worthy of preservation.

But this is not the point.

The fact that govt is studying and all the hoohah proves it is the house of a very great person to modern SG.

As such, the minimal we do is respect the wish of this great person.

If he says demolish is his preference but he is open to ...this is clear what is his biggest wish. We fulfill his biggest wish, his preference, what he wants most.

I don't remember he ever ask for any other personal thing from Singaporeans but just for his house to be demolish.

If the govt is still undecided or confused, it should instead conduct studies into what does LKY personally really wants, and work towards that.

Not what we want, or what govt want or what his surviving family wants.

i think eventually will keep it but not open to public.

........  until maybe 50 yrs later [laugh] [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Aiyah! Just hold national referendul lah. I'll vote demolish and rebuild. Private property so owner (LHY) should be allowed to do what he wants with it. Not state property like National Theatre or museum. Just create VR of Oxley rooms and let people experience it at the memorial.

On 10/24/2024 at 3:00 PM, Tkseah said:

I thought the will stated if the gahmen forbids demo, then never to be opened to public. 

Didn't see the soft word "preference". 

On 10/24/2024 at 3:48 PM, Kklim said:

Aiyah! Just hold national referendul lah. I'll vote demolish and rebuild. Private property so owner (LHY) should be allowed to do what he wants with it. Not state property like National Theatre or museum. Just create VR of Oxley rooms and let people experience it at the memorial.

Pse include option to demolish and plant MSW trees. 

On 10/24/2024 at 3:36 PM, Jman888 said:

i think eventually will keep it but not open to public.

........  until maybe 50 yrs later [laugh] [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

I doubt so spending huge sun merely for reopening every 50years.

Economic sense is to open every year 9th Aug and every 4 years near GE or preceding 2 years PE.

Edited by Kopites

On 10/24/2024 at 2:55 PM, Spidey10 said:

different bah

at end of the day, public flats still belong to HDB after 99 years

as for freehold private properties, the owner should have the final say

On 10/24/2024 at 3:03 PM, inlinesix said:

Of course, they will ask you to fly kite.  Who is Spidey10?🤭

I had said previously that Demolition Permit can be rejected on basis of heritage value.

yah lor...sad...my old HDB gone....no nostalgic rememberance of my dad and mom....sad ..:sick:.