Teik 1st Gear January 3, 2017 Share January 3, 2017 Does anyone know why there is only the option of beige leather.... The beige and the stitching is original from factory and I believe it is on all the 2.0L. I was offered to change all to grey after waiting sometime for the replacement of the front driver seat leather but I held on for the same colour. It is just that much more classy. Anyway, the end is near and hope to be able to change the front seat leather to original beige soon now that Ford has finally worked out the part order numbers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charles_sgcarmart Neutral Newbie February 6, 2017 Share February 6, 2017 Hi all Bros, Need some advise. Will be collecting my Mondeo soon and looking for dash cam (Front&back). I was thinking of thinkware F770. But it seem that the Lane departure camera is blocking the way for the front camera to be installed. For Bros who are driving MK V, 1) do you still have space for Front camera to be installed just above the lane departure camera? If not, what is your recommended brand of camera for that given space? As mine is a hatch back, 2) for the rear camera, Is there any way for the wire to be run & concealed such that when the trunk is lifted up, you will not see wire dangling across the top of rear boot & the rear window? Thank you :-) cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged February 6, 2017 Share February 6, 2017 Hi all Bros, Need some advise. Will be collecting my Mondeo soon and looking for dash cam (Front&back). I was thinking of thinkware F770. But it seem that the Lane departure camera is blocking the way for the front camera to be installed. For Bros who are driving MK V, 1) do you still have space for Front camera to be installed just above the lane departure camera? If not, what is your recommended brand of camera for that given space? Mine is attached to the glass under that black shroud you see there, so I suggest you just do the same. It'll be mounted lower than you might expect, but I don't see any problem with that. The other option is to mount it to the side. Welcome to the relatively exclusive club! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charles_sgcarmart Neutral Newbie February 7, 2017 Share February 7, 2017 Mine is attached to the glass under that black shroud you see there, so I suggest you just do the same. It'll be mounted lower than you might expect, but I don't see any problem with that. The other option is to mount it to the side. Welcome to the relatively exclusive club! I see. Yup the black shroud seems to have some allowance there. Thank you 7hm. :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged February 7, 2017 Share February 7, 2017 I see. Yup the black shroud seems to have some allowance there. Thank you 7hm. :-) If you're feeling adventurous, you can try to mount on the black shroud itself. But that probably requires proper mounting tape. If you want though I can provide a sample image of how mine is mounted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charles_sgcarmart Neutral Newbie February 8, 2017 Share February 8, 2017 If you're feeling adventurous, you can try to mount on the black shroud itself. But that probably requires proper mounting tape. If you want though I can provide a sample image of how mine is mounted. Oh yes pls. Very much like to take a look at how u mount it. How's the rear camera mounted? Thanks 7hm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged February 19, 2017 Share February 19, 2017 Oh yes pls. Very much like to take a look at how u mount it. How's the rear camera mounted? Thanks 7hm. Were you able to get yours mounted? here's my front cam: My rear cam is just mounted at the top of the rear window. Mine is the sedan version so I'm not sure how to help you with the hatchback concern. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PTR Neutral Newbie February 20, 2017 Share February 20, 2017 Mr. Bancoe, Please PM me. need your advice. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PTR Neutral Newbie February 20, 2017 Share February 20, 2017 In-house insurance is by MSIG. Authorised repairer is Regent. So not too bad. Quote was reasonable and claim was prompt too. For servicing, it's not too costly - quite similar to other B&B authorised dealers. To save more, BYO lub oil and spark plugs (both can be bought cheaply from Amazon). BTW, Regent's spark plug price is crazy - $155 for a set of 4 normal plugs that last only 20,000 km! A set of 4 Iridium plugs from Amazon is only USD40 and can run up to 40,000 km. Mr. Tyongchi, Please PM me. Mondeo owner to be soon.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PTR Neutral Newbie February 20, 2017 Share February 20, 2017 i remember they were like that too at Regent, even with appt done in advance [ they should not make customer wait longer than 2 hours max for basic oil change and even brake changes ; I dont know why they even give refreshments like simple coffee/drink machines with some cakes/ biscuits ; they must give lunch and dinner packs if it takes so long ; I immediately started sending to outside workshop the minute my car hit 5 years warranty period and everything done within 2 hours in Bukit Merah location last time (just about 2km from Regent or even nearer) Mr. BanCoe, Please PM me... gonna be a Mondeo owner soon.. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic February 20, 2017 Share February 20, 2017 Mr. BanCoe, Please PM me... gonna be a Mondeo owner soon.. Thanks Hi Mr PTR I gave up my Mondeo already like now 3 years back; I have thrown away all the Invoices/contact etc but I have is one contact whom used to deal in Ford spares which is 95 Desker Road tel: 62949441 (i dont know the company name as I put it in my mobile as Ford Spares; just go to him and ask him who can repair or service Ford Cars and I am very sure he will help you get the contacts; I remember one was in Bt Merah and the other was in Sin Ming ... cant remember the exact name but was something like..... A&J (this one started out later on towards last 5-6 years back and was a JV between a chinese and indian guy in a small sharing basis unit there ; Maybe other bros here can contribute some inputs hopefully. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Locknload 5th Gear February 20, 2017 Share February 20, 2017 Hi Mr PTR I gave up my Mondeo already like now 3 years back; I have thrown away all the Invoices/contact etc but I have is one contact whom used to deal in Ford spares which is 95 Desker Road tel: 62949441 (i dont know the company name as I put it in my mobile as Ford Spares; just go to him and ask him who can repair or service Ford Cars and I am very sure he will help you get the contacts; I remember one was in Bt Merah and the other was in Sin Ming ... cant remember the exact name but was something like..... A&J (this one started out later on towards last 5-6 years back and was a JV between a chinese and indian guy in a small sharing basis unit there ; Maybe other bros here can contribute some inputs hopefully. Along this stretch, I usually look for Hoover - Mr Poh (Tel: 62943392) who stocks Ford spare parts. The Bukit Merah one is Weng Fatt (further in, first shop after the canal railing on the left). The JV was with Allen and Suresh but Allen now runs the w/s himself with experienced mechs at Sing Ming Ind Sector C (Block 1 - turn in left after the 3rd Bus Stop) - Allen Motor Tel: 94521771 and many Ford owners go here to look for Allen. Your choice. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PTR Neutral Newbie February 20, 2017 Share February 20, 2017 PTR, I am driving a Mk4 Mondeo currently (1 model before the lastest one), and still got about 1 year warranty left, so still going back to Regent Motors to servicing. I kaypoh kaypoh only, is there anything I can help you with? Hi! I am a first time to be owner of a conti...or shall I say, American brand third world European produced car make... Spain is third world now yah...? No offence... Read most thread on mondeo well at work...lol European cars electronics and parts are just not use to the BEAUTIFUL WEATHER here... Moist and hot and dry all at the same time... That's why ICI paints test center is here... If it can tahan our climate their paint can take shit anywhere in the world! Perhaps European Marque shd consider setting up a centre here for reliability testing? What's yr experience like servicing in RM? Who is reliable? My SE name starts with L and what to look out for? What's the after market Ford spares distrubutor I can go to? I am a Honda civic owner... The new look of the civic... Sigh... Not at the boy racer age and not a second car to thrash around...I bring my parts from thian seng and I don't even queue for Service as I know all of them... My second Honda... That's the kind of relationship I have and don't think I will be able to find it else where liao... But as I get older I look for more drivability and good NVH in a car hence Honda even with the new civic is not making it for me anymore.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged February 20, 2017 Share February 20, 2017 (edited) I am a first time to be owner of a conti...or shall I say, American brand third world European produced car make... Spain is third world now yah...? No offence... What's yr experience like servicing in RM? Who is reliable? My SE name starts with L and what to look out for? What's the after market Ford spares distrubutor I can go to? I find this car so far quite trouble free, the most problem I see personally is with the Bluetooth system sometimes stopping until I power cycle the entertainment system. As with servicing I've been there twice only so I cannot judge. But I think the servicing job itself is what you'll expect of an AD, but it can be rather slow (drop off in morning, get back in early evening) and when I had a headlamp replacement the S.A. did not inform me early enough about the expected completion time. Anyhow, this car is largely built on German engineering. Yes, Spanish built, but the Valencia plant is very high tech. I can find little faults with the quality this car is built to. Time will tell if the electrical systems will fail, but Fords in Singapore have never had a reputation for failing electrical components. And don't forget that the American version of this car winds up in some of the hottest states they have there, as well as being a sight in Mexico, which is also rather hot at times. Edited February 20, 2017 by 7hm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic February 21, 2017 Share February 21, 2017 Very detailed explanation you have made on the heat/humidity issue which what some other fore-runners have said which is the same for the Citroen/Fiats/Opels even VW with electronics parts just cannot "tahan" Paints part: What you see is what you get; does not bug me much as I rent the car from the govt for only 10 years... as we realise now Unless paint becomes rust then its a problem So finally you have sort of converted from a Jap car to a Conti car is it?? as I don't seem to understand what you are trying to say; My previous ride Mondeo which I bought in 13 years back (was told it was made in Belgium at that time) and drove till COE "mati" was faithful to me ; never broke down; simple servicing originally at RM and then to Bukit Merah chap and then to SinMing all i remember apart from the regular servicing as mentioned in the booklet (my car mileage was low I have to admit on the 10th year was only like less than 90,000km) and I remember either the coolant liquid started cracking and the brake callipers started giving way (dont know the exact dyanmics) but the workshop at SinMing just did a small temporary patch up with wires (the brakes work fine) only the hand brake could not hear the click click click lock; I asked my salesman -eh!! got lobang for cheaper servicing agents got or not?? KNN your servicing price killer lah !! sure they have one (provided he is there working still) Hi!I am a first time to be owner of a conti...or shall I say, American brand third world European produced car make... Spain is third world now yah...? No offence...Read most thread on mondeo well at work...lolEuropean cars electronics and parts are just not use to the BEAUTIFUL WEATHER here... Moist and hot and dry all at the same time... That's why ICI paints test center is here... If it can tahan our climate their paint can take shit anywhere in the world! Perhaps European Marque shd consider setting up a centre here for reliability testing?What's yr experience like servicing in RM? Who is reliable? My SE name starts with L and what to look out for? What's the after market Ford spares distrubutor I can go to?I am a Honda civic owner... The new look of the civic... Sigh... Not at the boy racer age and not a second car to thrash around...I bring my parts from thian seng and I don't even queue for Service as I know all of them... My second Honda... That's the kind of relationship I have and don't think I will be able to find it else where liao... But as I get older I look for more drivability and good NVH in a car hence Honda even with the new civic is not making it for me anymore.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PTR Neutral Newbie February 21, 2017 Share February 21, 2017 Very detailed explanation you have made on the heat/humidity issue which what some other fore-runners have said which is the same for the Citroen/Fiats/Opels even VW with electronics parts just cannot "tahan" Paints part: What you see is what you get; does not bug me much as I rent the car from the govt for only 10 years... as we realise now Unless paint becomes rust then its a problem So finally you have sort of converted from a Jap car to a Conti car is it?? as I don't seem to understand what you are trying to say; My previous ride Mondeo which I bought in 13 years back (was told it was made in Belgium at that time) and drove till COE "mati" was faithful to me ; never broke down; simple servicing originally at RM and then to Bukit Merah chap and then to SinMing all i remember apart from the regular servicing as mentioned in the booklet (my car mileage was low I have to admit on the 10th year was only like less than 90,000km) and I remember either the coolant liquid started cracking and the brake callipers started giving way (dont know the exact dyanmics) but the workshop at SinMing just did a small temporary patch up with wires (the brakes work fine) only the hand brake could not hear the click click click lock; I asked my salesman -eh!! got lobang for cheaper servicing agents got or not?? KNN your servicing price killer lah !! sure they have one (provided he is there working still) Combined reply for bancoe and 7HM : Wow...i now know why you got your user name....rent the car from garmen....i dont think so....more like spinning $ for the G...for them just like ERP...they dont even care if we use our cash card or not..so much for whinning...latest budget ok lah.....pay more for shit water only....lol what i mean and i would like all to conform to disagree...conti cars just wasnt build for constant above 30C degrees...and after engine heat up electronics also ken chain effect...hence many parts failed pre maturely... at my tenth year in SEP my civic ( sorry the garmen's civic) clock almost double your mileage ...hence awaiting other owners to post at 10 year clocking 200K how is the experience ...however as 7HM rightly put; Spain is a brand new plant...chekcing with a well connected mate in Mallorca how is this plant operating....will keep the folks here updated...and yes... we pay thru the roof the rirdes we have..no reason we shouldnt upkeep this obscene amount of $ we renting form the G.. so we can let go at a good price come 5th to 7th year.... 7HM; however in the states humidity and moist wasnt an issue? Cheong72: although my ride is a jap I am usually in a conti...Panamera...S400....BMW 5 series...hence I knew whats it like to be in one and sometimes driving one too...and believe me not...RM for sure will deserve their full share of 'attention' when it comes to honoring the warranty..if u think RM is ex.. try PMI...reverse sensor 1K...for 2 ha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charles_sgcarmart Neutral Newbie February 22, 2017 Share February 22, 2017 Were you able to get yours mounted? here's my front cam: My rear cam is just mounted at the top of the rear window. Mine is the sedan version so I'm not sure how to help you with the hatchback concern. Yes, I got it mounted. Thank you :-) (Front) (Rear) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged February 22, 2017 Share February 22, 2017 7HM; however in the states humidity and moist wasnt an issue? Central America has plenty of Fords, and I don't think Central America doesn't suffer from some level of equatorial climate. But then, Mondeo are set up more for european environment... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...