Heartlander Turbocharged April 13, 2015 Share April 13, 2015 Friends, I used to drive a Hyundai Excel & Elantra long time ago. Korean car still have not move up with times. The left passenger side mirror is still the same old "flat" mirror when I had my Elantra back in the 1990s. I sat in this Carens many times during my frequent trips to Korea Seoul. They use this model as taxis, running on LPG. I agree, this is a comfortable car but .... Must follow up with the modern time. The average price for this car is about USD30K, 1.6 Diesel. A no frills MPV. On good tip for all Korean fans, buy spare parts in Korea. Cheap and original. They are found almost everywhere. I do not get your point that this latest Carens need to follow up with the modern time. Could you elaborate on which part of the design gave you the conclusion? No worries, not offended at all since everyone is entitled to their opinion so long as it is justifiable. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear April 13, 2015 Share April 13, 2015 Can I test drive this at the Kia event? I dun recall this as an option for attendees. "Kia's new seven-seater arrives in Singapore" - looks promising...Engine capacity 1,999 ccTorque 213 NmDimensions (L x W x H) (4525 x 1805 x 1610) mmMulti-Function steering wheel YesKeyless engine start YesAuto headlights YesElectric tailgate Yes Price... not known yet http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/article.php?AID=12743 http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=11707 Saw a few Mobilo on the road liao. in terms of price, the closest rivals are Honda Mobilio and Toyota Avanza, which have less equipment and come with 2 airbags. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 13, 2015 Share April 13, 2015 Can I test drive this at the Kia event? I dun recall this as an option for attendees. Saw a few Mobilo on the road liao. Mobile and Carnes totally different class, Mobile 1.5L 115bhp, 2 airbags only 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear April 13, 2015 Share April 13, 2015 Friends, I used to drive a Hyundai Excel & Elantra long time ago. Korean car still have not move up with times. The left passenger side mirror is still the same old "flat" mirror when I had my Elantra back in the 1990s. I sat in this Carens many times during my frequent trips to Korea Seoul. They use this model as taxis, running on LPG. I agree, this is a comfortable car but .... Must follow up with the modern time. The average price for this car is about USD30K, 1.6 Diesel. A no frills MPV. On good tip for all Korean fans, buy spare parts in Korea. Cheap and original. They are found almost everywhere. Care to elaborate more how Korean car still have not move up with times?? No offence intended, but from what I feel, Korean car have improve a lot over years. And yes, I'm driving a Kia K3 at the moment. Personally I enjoy this car very much. Can't say much about Carens yet, will take a look soon. :) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 cannot lah, 1.6L sure underpower for a 7 seat MPV, unless turbo, but turbo got jerking in city driving, not suitable for MPV turbo got jerking, sorry unhurt of. turbo power delivery can be linear as well. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 Friends, I used to drive a Hyundai Excel & Elantra long time ago. Korean car still have not move up with times. The left passenger side mirror is still the same old "flat" mirror when I had my Elantra back in the 1990s. I sat in this Carens many times during my frequent trips to Korea Seoul. They use this model as taxis, running on LPG. I agree, this is a comfortable car but .... Must follow up with the modern time. The average price for this car is about USD30K, 1.6 Diesel. A no frills MPV. On good tip for all Korean fans, buy spare parts in Korea. Cheap and original. They are found almost everywhere. You mean the mirror wasn't of convex design? This is highly unlikely bro. Such design are the law in most western and developed countries liao. How do u expect Hyundai to sell their cars if they can't even comply to such basic laws? Anyway, Korea market are LHD. So your left side passenger mirror was actually the DRIVER SIDE in Korea. And driver side mirror doesn't need to be concave surface. Only the passenger side does... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hussaini20 3rd Gear April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 I drive my carens since new till now at 125k km. I still have not change any wear n tear parts except brakepad at 80k km which the mechanic tell me still can last another 15k to 20k km.But i just change for safety. Change one head light bulb which cost me $10 last year. Orginal wiper last me 4+ years.Now those aftermarket wiper last me 1.5yrs only. i m going to change my wiper again. Mine is 2008 model. Yours is the hippo carens.. I like those.. much spacious than the predecessor I drive my carens since new till now at 125k km. I still have not change any wear n tear parts except brakepad at 80k km which the mechanic tell me still can last another 15k to 20k km.But i just change for safety. Change one head light bulb which cost me $10 last year. Orginal wiper last me 4+ years.Now those aftermarket wiper last me 1.5yrs only. i m going to change my wiper again. Mine is 2008 model. Yours is the hippo carens.. I like those.. much spacious than the predecessor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunset73 5th Gear April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 I love the new Carens! Have been waiting for a year already! I am still driving the Carens I bought July 2007 new. Though the fuel consumption is a bummer due to the unladen weight of 1.5 Ton and 4 speed auto, it is still a very nice drive. I am having very high expectations of this replacement model.. just that the price is kinda steep. I was expecting it to be around ~$125. The current price is too steep. I drive my carens since new till now at 125k km. I still have not change any wear n tear parts except brakepad at 80k km which the mechanic tell me still can last another 15k to 20k km.But i just change for safety. Change one head light bulb which cost me $10 last year. Orginal wiper last me 4+ years.Now those aftermarket wiper last me 1.5yrs only. i m going to change my wiper again. Mine is 2008 model. Bro! You still driving Carens? Haven't seen you in sgkiaclub for very long already. Thought you sold off your Carens! The front view look very old fashion. Anyway the previous model only few ppl buy. One of my friend drove for 1 year and sold away due to poor quality and extremely high fuel consumption. Very low resale value. Different people got different take. But this new one looks really good. Please lah, the running cost and maintenance cost will kill you and end up you pay even more ! Don't agree. I driving the 2007 Carens and I am not having any of such problems. Just that the fuel consumption on the high side that's all due to 1.5 ton body and 4-speed auto. do you have any proof that the new carens has improve in it's reliability and running cost? Time will tell, let's see how many ppl will buy this car? I will buy the car, for sure. Saw the specs of this all new Carens over the weekend. Rather disappointed by the specs level which the model came to our shore. No Xenon lamp. No park asist. No moon roof. Interior colour only black. The selling price is tag at SGD 138K for sure get. At this price, there are others too to choose from with these/ some of these options package into as well. No reverse camera thus no head unit with LCD screen. A bit of a let down. Bro, thanks for the heads up. Intend to go see see this weekend. C&C is always a let down. Carens is actually a high spec-ed car overseas but when it comes to Singapore, becomes a super let down. Previous models are also the same case. Don't expect much, it is a "Korean" car! Korean basher spotted. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FastNsteady 1st Gear April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 Kia Motors Corp. hired Albert Biermann, chief engineer for BMW's M performance cars and light trucks, to develop performance models and improve ride and handling. As executive vice president, Biermann will become the South Korean automakers' second-highest foreign executive after design chief Peter Schreyer, formerly of Audi AG. "We will have him in charge of developing high-performing vehicles and leading [research efforts on] performance, safety, durability, noise oscillation and system development," Biermann, 57, had been with BMW for over 30 years. He will be in charge of testing and developing performance cars at a research center in Seoul starting in April. The above news is published on 21/12/2014. They hired him to raise the brand image at home and abroad. That is to say, Kia admitted the brand image is not up to expectation all over the world. With Biermann come on board, they still need few years to develop better performance car. Hopefully they can rank top 11th by 2025. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 Damn. If only it comes with sliding doors and more space when the last row is being used. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 Bro, thanks for the heads up. Intend to go see see this weekend. C&C is always a let down. Carens is actually a high spec-ed car overseas but when it comes to Singapore, becomes a super let down. Previous models are also the same case. Actually, I have the opposite view. Thought that C&C brought in high specs so as to fight the Japs. Eg K3 had rear air con, ventilated seats, cruise control, memory seats etc which most Jap 1.6 doesn't have not to mention the C180 also don't have memory seats lol!! So I feel the AD did bring in high specs for Kia and I expect this to be the case for the new Carens and that should be the strategy to fight the Japs besides the price and warranty for peace of mind of course. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FastNsteady 1st Gear April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 I believed they are many Kia's Sales man here trying to promote their car because too quiet at the showroom. Unlike other brand Sale Engineer very busy explaining to client about their car's quality, technology, features etc. Oh.... there is one thing I don't quite understand, why the sale man from Kia driving other brand's car? No confident in their own brand? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 Friends, I used to drive a Hyundai Excel & Elantra long time ago. Korean car still have not move up with times. The left passenger side mirror is still the same old "flat" mirror when I had my Elantra back in the 1990s. I sat in this Carens many times during my frequent trips to Korea Seoul. They use this model as taxis, running on LPG. I agree, this is a comfortable car but .... Must follow up with the modern time. The average price for this car is about USD30K, 1.6 Diesel. A no frills MPV. On good tip for all Korean fans, buy spare parts in Korea. Cheap and original. They are found almost everywhere. You already mention 1990s when you own a Korean car. Now is 2015, at least 20 years had pass, how to compare.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aukang 6th Gear April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 I believed they are many Kia's Sales man here trying to promote their car because too quiet at the showroom. Unlike other brand Sale Engineer very busy explaining to client about their car's quality, technology, features etc. Oh.... there is one thing I don't quite understand, why the sale man from Kia driving other brand's car? No confident in their own brand? Bro, you betray your own nick...you are fast but beh steady.... There is no need to accuse Kia salespeople of such underhand tactics. If I were like you, I will similarly accuse you of being a Jap car salesman trying to sow doubt. I am not associated with Kia but I think you should not diss the brand and salespeople..... unless you drove one before and speak from experience. I have been to their showrooms both in Ubi and leng kee and I would say their service standard is higher than that of some Jap brands who see me no up when I am in berms and tees. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 I love your autocorrect. Mobile and Carnes. LOL Mobile and Carnes totally different class, Mobile 1.5L 115bhp, 2 airbags only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erykool 1st Gear April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 Went to see the car today... It looks good... But price too high for me... Will wait for demo unit promo maybe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 I believed they are many Kia's Sales man here trying to promote their car because too quiet at the showroom. Unlike other brand Sale Engineer very busy explaining to client about their car's quality, technology, features etc. Oh.... there is one thing I don't quite understand, why the sale man from Kia driving other brand's car? No confident in their own brand? You maybe Korean car basher or typical jap car sales.......How many C&C sales drives Mercs ? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 (edited) You maybe Korean car basher or typical jap car sales.......How many C&C sales drives Mercs ? Spot on!! [thumbsup]l Likewise, how many Ferrari sales drives a Ferrari?? I believed they are many Kia's Sales man here trying to promote their car because too quiet at the showroom. Unlike other brand Sale Engineer very busy explaining to client about their car's quality, technology, features etc. Oh.... there is one thing I don't quite understand, why the sale man from Kia driving other brand's car? No confident in their own brand? actually, I translate otherwise. Sound like Sales "Executive" (not Engineer hor!!) of other brand trying hard to push the sales?? Edited April 15, 2015 by Hybridcar ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...