Sabian Turbocharged August 8, 2015 Share August 8, 2015 The Mazda 5 despite its aging looks is worth considering at just $2,900 more at $119,888. Kia Carens is good value at $116,999 but its interior is significantly smaller than the Mazda 5. Mz5 crash test CMI... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged August 9, 2015 Share August 9, 2015 Keen in this car, any owner here? This a good buy? My take is to ask yourself what is your primary objective in buying a MPV instead of a 5 seater saloon, hatchback or SUV? For additional space to accommodate extra 2 pax, ie. 7 seater? While the Carens scores in looks and is a great all rounder, the last row, with its Japanese style seating position (seat is on same level as floor) is best left for children <1.5m tall, although it might still be uncomfortable for the children over a long haul trip up North. 2nd row rear leg room is also limited, narrower than the Nissan Almera / Note / Latio, with meagre space below the front seats to slip your legs into. There is limited space left for an adult in the rear seats if you fit 2 child seats behind. The Carens might be better classified as a station wagon, rather than a MPV. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasyu 1st Gear August 17, 2015 Share August 17, 2015 Has anyone change the rear lights to LED or gotten a paddle shifter. The korean version is much better spec. I getting my car end of the year looking to add a paddle shifter and led rear lamps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged August 27, 2015 Share August 27, 2015 While the Carens scores in looks and is a great all rounder, the last row, with its Japanese style seating position (seat is on same level as floor) is best left for children <1.5m tall, although it might still be uncomfortable for the children over a long haul trip up North. 2nd row rear leg room is also limited, narrower than the Nissan Almera / Note / Latio, with meagre space below the front seats to slip your legs into. There is limited space left for an adult in the rear seats if you fit 2 child seats behind. Wah....looks really cramp at the rear. A big sun roof would make it less claustrophobic. BTW, are the seats comfortable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear August 27, 2015 Share August 27, 2015 Wah....looks really cramp at the rear. A big sun roof would make it less claustrophobic. BTW, are the seats comfortable? No... the seating at the back is NOT for adults (of any size).. the seats are hard... At this price, can buy other bigger MPV than Carens... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasyu 1st Gear August 28, 2015 Share August 28, 2015 Honestly I tried sitting in the 3rd row it's not too bad once you adjust the 2nd row seats. It's not for everyday travel for 7pax but every once in a while where you need to seat 7people you can compromise a bit of leg room on the 2nd row to make the 3rd row more comfortable. If you need everyday travel for 7pax then get the Toyota triplets or at least voxy then again it's 138k. To this is probably the best for value compact mpv for young families. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear August 28, 2015 Share August 28, 2015 No... the seating at the back is NOT for adults (of any size).. the seats are hard... At this price, can buy other bigger MPV than Carens... Ermmm.... are u sure u can really buy a bigger MPV at Carens prices? Have u checked out the workhorse Wish? Lacking in refinement, power and equipment list aside, the Wish is easily 15k more expensive than the Carens Else, can u get the Previa at Carens prices? Surely its bigger and better designed than the Avanza right? Pls check out the Avanza first b4 you kpkb on the Carens. If Toyota can somehow claim the Avanza as a 7 seater and get away with it, Carens is a lux van by comparison liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear August 28, 2015 Share August 28, 2015 Ermmm.... are u sure u can really buy a bigger MPV at Carens prices? Have u checked out the workhorse Wish? Lacking in refinement, power and equipment list aside, the Wish is easily 15k more expensive than the Carens Else, can u get the Previa at Carens prices? Surely its bigger and better designed than the Avanza right? Pls check out the Avanza first b4 you kpkb on the Carens. If Toyota can somehow claim the Avanza as a 7 seater and get away with it, Carens is a lux van by comparison liao Duuno abt u la., but i'm driving a stream now and I find it cramped at the back already; I looked at Carens before switching focus to K3 and i climb in sat in and compared the carens space to stream.. carens definitely smaller. you wanna compare price to space, then of course carens cheaper but also smaller... how can u compare avanza to carens?? indo car vs korean car where got fight? i no need KPKB carens... I sat in it and say what i think of it compared to the mpv i have and have seen (stream, Mazda 5 and wish), carens is more like 5 seater with open boot.. estima, ody etc no need bring into picture as not in same league... whatever rocks your boat man.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged August 28, 2015 Share August 28, 2015 Ermmm.... are u sure u can really buy a bigger MPV at Carens prices? Have u checked out the workhorse Wish? Lacking in refinement, power and equipment list aside, the Wish is easily 15k more expensive than the Carens Else, can u get the Previa at Carens prices? Surely its bigger and better designed than the Avanza right? Pls check out the Avanza first b4 you kpkb on the Carens. If Toyota can somehow claim the Avanza as a 7 seater and get away with it, Carens is a lux van by comparison liao How bout honda mobilio for more space, even up till third row? Though not as refined n cheaper feel, but save on rd tax n fc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear August 28, 2015 Share August 28, 2015 How bout honda mobilio for more space, even up till third row? Though not as refined n cheaper feel, but save on rd tax n fc. Haha.. I had the same thoughts as you bro.. think the mobilo is 115K i think... but after see the car all over in indo, i got a little bit "hmmmmm.." towards this car la... but no doubt mobilo looks much better than the other indo car avanza! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged August 29, 2015 Share August 29, 2015 Haha.. I had the same thoughts as you bro.. think the mobilo is 115K i think... but after see the car all over in indo, i got a little bit "hmmmmm.." towards this car la... but no doubt mobilo looks much better than the other indo car avanza! avanza not so value at 11xk-12xk n really feels not MIJ at all, too basic. mobilio overall package w alpine n full modulo kit w drl much better n definitely looks n feels more premium than avanza.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged August 29, 2015 Share August 29, 2015 (edited) Could it be both the Mobilio & Avanza also do not belong in the same league as the Carens? Edited August 29, 2015 by Didu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear August 29, 2015 Share August 29, 2015 avanza not so value at 11xk-12xk n really feels not MIJ at all, too basic. mobilio overall package w alpine n full modulo kit w drl much better n definitely looks n feels more premium than avanza.. Yup bro... i have the same feel as you.. when i first saw avanza offered in SG at 11X-12X... I was like .. this van was meant for 3rd world country indonesia and made there, but BM tried to pull a fast one here to sell this 3rd world van at first world price.. .. luckily dun think they sold like hot cakes.. .. saw 1 or 2 on the roads but thats it.. For mobilo, ya it certainly looks better than avanza but I didnt see its interior at kah motor.. maybe on my next makan n shopping trip in batam i can get a ride in one... see how it fares... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged August 29, 2015 Share August 29, 2015 Yup bro... i have the same feel as you.. when i first saw avanza offered in SG at 11X-12X... I was like .. this van was meant for 3rd world country indonesia and made there, but BM tried to pull a fast one here to sell this 3rd world van at first world price.. .. luckily dun think they sold like hot cakes.. .. saw 1 or 2 on the roads but thats it.. For mobilo, ya it certainly looks better than avanza but I didnt see its interior at kah motor.. maybe on my next makan n shopping trip in batam i can get a ride in one... see how it fares... I saw at least almost 10mobilio during past few weeks. On contrary, only saw 1 avanza many months back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged August 30, 2015 Share August 30, 2015 If you want a full fledged MPV that comfortably sits 7 adults, and yet is not too expensive, then it's got to be the Mazda 5 at $124,888, which translates to just an extra $5,000 over the Kia Carens. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 30, 2015 Share August 30, 2015 If you want a full fledged MPV that comfortably sits 7 adults, and yet is not too expensive, then it's got to be the Mazda 5 at $124,888, which translates to just an extra $5,000 over the Kia Carens. Yes, better buy soon as its going to be collector item soon as Mazda has stop producing due to poor sales http://www.motor1.com/spy/52877/mazda-5-going-out-of-production-no-successor-planned Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasyu 1st Gear September 15, 2015 Share September 15, 2015 Anyone who bought carens non guarantee bid managed to secure Coe for the last 2 rounds? 3 bids Liao still haven get. Anyone who bought carens non guarantee bid managed to secure Coe for the last 2 rounds? 3 bids Liao still haven get. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watacar Neutral Newbie September 17, 2015 Share September 17, 2015 Anyone who bought carens non guarantee bid managed to secure Coe for the last 2 rounds? 3 bids Liao still haven get. Anyone who bought carens non guarantee bid managed to secure Coe for the last 2 rounds? 3 bids Liao still haven get. Non guarantee Coe rebate is at 53k? I believe they will only bid for you ard that range. If Coe stay ard 60k I think they will ask you to top up. Just my thoughts ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...