Kia Carens 2015: all new 7-seater arrives

yo2020

Hi, anyone driving year 2015/2016 petrol version experiencing car vibration all the way from car seat to head rest when engaged in Drive gear when car is in stationary?

The vibration is also experienced by back seat passengers as well. Could it due to engine mounting?

4 hours ago, Fazer66 said:

Hi, anyone driving year 2015/2016 petrol version experiencing car vibration all the way from car seat to head rest when engaged in Drive gear when car is in stationary?

The vibration is also experienced by back seat passengers as well. Could it due to engine mounting?

2 possibilities

Engine mountings worn off or timing is off

23 hours ago, Fazer66 said:

Check the gearbox, the clutch may be giving problems...

This morning my Engine Check Light suddenly lit.

OBD P0069 -Manifold Absolute Pressure - Barometric Pressure Correlation

As the one liner say, basically the 2 sensors have different reading instead of being roughly the same lor. And the variance is too wide lor.

Can't find the Barometric Sensor but I found the MAP - It is in front of the engine.  It is sooted.  I dust it abit and the CE light goes off.

But the code is still logged and cannot be cleared.  Maybe need 2 drive cycle to clear ba.

See how.

On ‎2‎/‎15‎/‎2020 at 5:11 PM, Apple-Tree said:

This morning my Engine Check Light suddenly lit.

OBD P0069 -Manifold Absolute Pressure - Barometric Pressure Correlation

As the one liner say, basically the 2 sensors have different reading instead of being roughly the same lor. And the variance is too wide lor.

Can't find the Barometric Sensor but I found the MAP - It is in front of the engine.  It is sooted.  I dust it abit and the CE light goes off.

But the code is still logged and cannot be cleared.  Maybe need 2 drive cycle to clear ba.

See how.

Still in warranty?

Go Kia motor for them to check.

My Caren 1.7 diesel kanna 1 time at 1st year and sent the car into KM, they said change sensor($2++) for free as still in warranty, they claim it was some deposits built up due to not running the car above 90km/h for more than 10 -15 min for it to clear/blown away

So far, no hiccup for last 2 yr; maybe because I go Malaysia NS every 4/5 months.

Edited by Lktay
spelling

On 2/19/2020 at 9:23 AM, Lktay said:

Still in warranty?

Go Kia motor for them to check.

My Caren 1.7 diesel kanna 1 time at 1st year and sent the car into KM, they said change sensor($2++) for free as still in warranty, they claim it was some deposits built up due to not running the car above 90km/h for more than 10 -15 min for it to clear/blown away

So far, no hiccup for last 2 yr; maybe because I go Malaysia NS every 4/5 months.

Hmmm ......... if I go C&C, my wallet is going to burn to ash lor.

Package A + Engine Flush + FREE leather seat protector (2 little pcs of C&C pillows) + Repair Side Static Lamp(FREE) = $519.

Anyway, the MAP part number is 39300-2A600 only USD13.  Brand : Hyundied.

Anyway, I cock cock the MAP, elephant come out, now OK already.

As for the CEL, need to set to ON with engine not starting, then can clear.  So cleared liao.

Everything OK now.  $0.

Need advice whether my Caren's tyre can last for another 5KM or it must immediately changed. Not travel much because of COVID. Any recommendation for SG workshop in West side besides KIA centre that is more cost effective? Thanks

20200422_121922.jpg

20200422_121912.jpg

20200422_121908.jpg

1 hour ago, Wkenneth88 said:

Need advice whether my Caren's tyre can last for another 5KM or it must immediately changed. Not travel much because of COVID. Any recommendation for SG workshop in West side besides KIA centre that is more cost effective? Thanks

20200422_121922.jpg

20200422_121912.jpg

20200422_121908.jpg

Change Immediately.  AL Tyres lor - New/Old ba

I suggest to change soon if possible.

Any damage tire is often a compromise against personal safety.

Especially if it is the front tire as it take higher weight load from the engine and stress on the tire when doing turning.(I guess you drive alone now with no passenger due to covid-19 control)

Furthermore, when the tire goes flat in the front, you will have problem with turning and may lead to rim damage if not inflate/replace in time.

Slow drive temporary maybe still ok to look for tire workshop.

Take care, play safe !

On 4/22/2020 at 6:40 PM, Wkenneth88 said:

20200422_121922.jpg

20200422_121912.jpg

20200422_121908.jpg

Give AA a call and see if they can help you with a tire change lor... the shops aren't opened... so only emergency car services are available...

Have not write in this thread for awhile, it is good news as the car has no issue to report.

I was driving uphill from Ophir Rd to Sheares Bridge, that wicked  slope at Full Load 8pax.  The car start to jerk continuously half way lor.  The feeling is as if the the Clutch has disengage lor, but the RPM is constant.  The more you step on the accel, the more jerky it become lor.

Then on another occasion 5pax uphill accel at Bartley  Viaduct, also like that.  I tot problem initially is engine or worse the DCT GB.

Anyway, check internet, it said many cause but primarily is NOT ENOUGH Fuel to engine choking it.  So start simple, check fuel filter.

Service Manual said CHANGE Fuel Filter EVERY 30kkm for Diesel U2 1.7L and my mileage already 70kkm without changing lor.

After DIY change, problem solved.  Test OK yesterday Sheares Bridge.

Here are the info to DIY if you are interested.

Need to really take out Battery and Dismount ECU. DO NOT disconnect the ECU connector, the pins are really really delicated.  The drained fuel if look OK, I pour back to the tank leaving a bit behind.  See the fine dust ?  Also good is NO Water found.  The Chain Wrench cost $8 from any HW Store.  M10 and M12 Bolt and Nut.  And Yes, you need an allen key set which I didn't.  You will know why you need it if you DO IT.

The Fuel Filter I buy from Fitipart $12.97 FREE Delivery or Self Collect.

IMG_20200806_132838.jpg

IMG_20200806_132847.jpg

IMG_20200806_151031.jpg

IMG_20200806_153434.jpg

IMG_20200807_121502.jpg

IMG_20200807_121627.jpg

Edited by Apple-Tree

On 8/7/2020 at 1:06 PM, Apple-Tree said:

Have not write in this thread for awhile, it is good news as the car has no issue to report.

I was driving uphill from Ophir Rd to Sheares Bridge, that wicked  slope at Full Load 8pax.  The car start to jerk continuously half way lor.  The feeling is as if the the Clutch has disengage lor, but the RPM is constant.  The more you step on the accel, the more jerky it become lor.

Then on another occasion 5pax uphill accel at Bartley  Viaduct, also like that.  I tot problem initially is engine or worse the DCT GB.

Anyway, check internet, it said many cause but primarily is NOT ENOUGH Fuel to engine choking it.  So start simple, check fuel filter.

Service Manual said CHANGE Fuel Filter EVERY 30kkm for Diesel U2 1.7L and my mileage already 70kkm without changing lor.

After DIY change, problem solved.  Test OK yesterday Sheares Bridge.

Here are the info to DIY if you are interested.

Need to really take out Battery and Dismount ECU. DO NOT disconnect the ECU connector, the pins are really really delicated.  The drained fuel if look OK, I pour back to the tank leaving a bit behind.  See the fine dust ?  Also good is NO Water found.  The Chain Wrench cost $8 from any HW Store.  M10 and M12 Bolt and Nut.  And Yes, you need an allen key set which I didn't.  You will know why you need it if you DO IT.

The Fuel Filter I buy from Fitipart $12.97 FREE Delivery or Self Collect.

IMG_20200806_132838.jpg

IMG_20200806_132847.jpg

IMG_20200806_151031.jpg

IMG_20200806_153434.jpg

IMG_20200807_121502.jpg

IMG_20200807_121627.jpg

Wah cool! First time I see someone change fuel filter himself... yours easy to access cos outside the fuel tank... many cars have it inside the fuel tank... must drain all the fuel tank petrol then can take out...

6 hours ago, teomingern said:

Wah cool! First time I see someone change fuel filter himself... yours easy to access cos outside the fuel tank... many cars have it inside the fuel tank... must drain all the fuel tank petrol then can take out...

Oh, Diesel fuel filter is outside for a reason lor.  Because it need to be replaced more often at 30kkm, petrol usually can last far longer.

I ever change my previous Petrol Kia Carens fuel filter at 150kkm ?  The car is stalling and restarting at expressway.

For that petrol Carens case, it turn out the fuel hose connecting the pump in the tank is loose and not a clogged, I still changed it anyway.

For my case, it is a MPV,

a) Lift up the carpet and the fuel pump is accessible after removing the cover plate.

b) Disconnect the hose and cable

c) Lift up half way the Pump Assy and drain its reservoir.

d) After remove Pump assy stuff hole with old newspaper to reduce vapour and dust.

For Saloon car, not sure how difficult, but, should be the same ba ......

I would say, if you pump in SG and JB, generally, you may not even need to replace the fuel filter.

Ah yes, fuel is fuel, very important to check if the installation leaks, use nose OK. If leaks, please redo hor.  Very dangerous hor.

Things like how tighten is tightened.  Too tight, next time you change, IT IS going to be REALLY GG.

To loose, it leaks especially petrol car because petrol generally single stage for MPI.  For diesel, it is always 2 Stages, low and High w/ High Precision.

Next Stop, Air Intake Manifold Cleaning due to EGR lor, 70kkm, NEED to clean ??

Next next Stop, Evaluate Diesel Fuel Injector for clogging ....... Very exciting DIY lor ....

Edited by Apple-Tree

Dip Stick Style EO Change.

a) A Pump

b) A Wench Extender

c) 10mm (Radiator Pipe Holder) and 26mm (Oil Filter) Wench Size

d) A Few 1.5L Soda Bottle (Dried)

e) Funnel (Go to have) and a few tissue paper

Cost : EO about $27  + Filter $3.85 = $31.

I drained 3 full bottle and about half a bottle .....about 5.5L.  Manual say 5.3L.

Be careful when inserting the suction hose into the dip stick hole, it seems like there is a sharp L bend.  I actually got stuck today, I lightly twist and turn and pull to get it out.  If it BREAKS, I think you need to open the oil pan lor (Expensive).

Diesel EO really really really very very very DIRTY lor.  So try not to come in contact it lor.

https://www.fitinpart.sg/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=98720

IMG_20200827B.jpg

IMG_20200827A.jpg

Edited by Apple-Tree

Recently doing a torrents of maintenance on my Precious Kia Carens.

Was wondering if the DPF is OK ?  Is there too much soot ?

Anyway, our Carens DPF is integrated with the Catalyst Converter and if it is damaged, it cost about 1800, not sure if it is USD or SGD.  It is expensive.

There is many OBD Scanner that can check the Soot and DPF Regeneration and even execute Forced Regeneration.  Very expensive too.  Cheapest is USD 185.

Anyway, found a FREE Android App that can do that.  Many many app can read DPF but none for Kia Carens U2 DPF lor. It is AN UNLOVED CAR lor....

Manage to find one, but need to select Hyundai i30 CRDI 2016+ as vehicle profile.  Can get Number of Regeneration, Soot Mass, Current Exhaust Temp, Pressure..... etc.

Mine is 8.54g to date, so..... LIKE OK ba...

Screenshot_C.jpg

Screenshot_B.jpg

Screenshot_A.jpg