2015 Apr, 1st COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

Sorry if this is a stupid idea.

LTA should give 20% of the COE quota to ballot for small fixed price COE ($10-$1000).

This will allow lower-mid income family who really needs of car to possibily own one.

Then other 80% of COE quota goes through bidding.

Will people in the bidding will still bid +60K?

The rich will join the ballot or bid for COE?

While you are at it might as well offer 3room BTO at $10,000 for the poor too.

No need to work and opt to remain no income or low income can go ballot car and BTO.

Please.

exactly, those rich peoples private parking lot always not enough, they free park along the road, cause only half of road can be used

Ya lot ! My neighbor also like this ! Two lanes become one lane and LTA also close both eye !

Government should introduce one address one car registration only ... this is to avoid rich people from buying too many car to keep .

...also, everyone can only buy one home - HDB, condo or landed (but one room per person, therefore if a family of 4 with 2 kids can only buy 4 room max); one motorbike, one wife, one child, one salary, one tax, one maid, one meal,..err no 3x one meal ... one helping only (buffet not allowed), one school per child (cannot transfer school), one CCA per child, one enrichment per child (cannot go for more), everything one per person.

like this we are one singapore. one people one nation, one vote per person. very fair to everyone.

... hmm, i remember 50 years ago, this is called communism... or was it?

Don't even get there again and the debate will go on and on. No end lah.

I consider myself middle class also. No money so BMW loh..... And I have 3 kids. Tough, yes but not something that will kill u if no car. Grumble when cannot get taxi but eventually can still reach. Just plan early. Story of need is not a good justification IMO.

Absolutely.

Got more money, buy more ex car.

Less money less ex.

Even less, buy used cars.

Lagi less, buy almost scrap car.

"Wah lau".... blame the COE up ...........

All "xiao chon now"............

Some time think of it, communism also not bad.......

Every one being equal...... fair.............

But now can not find liao.....

All money .................. capitalism ..............

No money no talk.................

exactly, those rich peoples private parking lot always not enough, they free park along the road, cause only half of road can be used

Usually those landed property estates, LTA have no business there as to how the private property owners park their cars.. unless purposely block, got accident or quarrel then LTA or police will be called in.

Everyone practice common understanding, all okay, just be patient and more understanding. If I have guests coming for a party, I will inform my neighbours beforehand, they will also do the same so lesser chance of conflicts.

No la ... I myself also orang kaya ... haha ! Since in Singapore has limited COE and why not government distribute COE more equally to all ??

COE / Car ownership how to distribute equally?

It is after all, a big ticket item about the finer things in life. You want it, you earn it. Don't complain others have too much or more than you. Just because you don't have or have lesser, doesn't mean you go around making it harder for people to have one or more.

My dad taught me. Don't hate people because they are rich. Work hard and see how you can be the same or better. How they get there is immaterial. How you get there is more important, if you eventually do.

Don't be a green eye monster [bounce2]

Usually those landed property estates, LTA have no business there as to how the private property owners park their cars.. unless purposely block, got accident or quarrel then LTA or police will be called in.

Everyone practice common understanding, all okay, just be patient and more understanding. If I have guests coming for a party, I will inform my neighbours beforehand, they will also do the same so lesser chance of conflicts.

I don't think LTA got no business with the road outside the landed house.

Few places already got the parking lot after some resident complained about ppl anyhow park.

Don't know by LTA or other authority.

...also, everyone can only buy one home - HDB, condo or landed (but one room per person, therefore if a family of 4 with 2 kids can only buy 4 room max); one motorbike, one wife, one child, one salary, one tax, one maid, one meal,..err no 3x one meal ... one helping only (buffet not allowed), one school per child (cannot transfer school), one CCA per child, one enrichment per child (cannot go for more), everything one per person.

like this we are one singapore. one people one nation, one vote per person. very fair to everyone.

... hmm, i remember 50 years ago, this is called communism... or was it?

Can have two wives meh ?

COE / Car ownership how to distribute equally?

It is after all, a big ticket item about the finer things in life. You want it, you earn it. Don't complain others have too much or more than you. Just because you don't have or have lesser, doesn't mean you go around making it harder for people to have one or more.

My dad taught me. Don't hate people because they are rich. Work hard and see how you can be the same or better. How they get there is immaterial. How you get there is more important, if you eventually do.

Don't be a green eye monster [bounce2]

Who said I hate rich people ? If yes mean I have myself ? I set a good example still own one car despite I financially afford to have another one .

I don't think LTA got no business with the road outside the landed house.

Few places already got the parking lot after some resident complained about ppl anyhow park.

Don't know by LTA or other authority.

Someone else correct me if I am wrong.. but for certain landed property estates, the roads are developer owned or something so the authorities have lesser power? A few years ago, there was a minor misunderstanding and police was called in to my estate to settle the problem and was told they cannot designate who to park where, neither is it an offence to park on one side of the road because all the units only have 1-2 lots inside the house and most units have 3-4 cars. If they draw lots then there will be 50+ cars nowhere to park, leading to more issues.

The police usually close one eye lah, if there's no problem. Unless recurring problems, maybe they will start to enforce. Sometimes during the CNY gathering for the estate, the MP come also remind of this issue and ask everyone to be patient and more understanding lor.

Can have two wives meh ?

Who said I hate rich people ? If yes mean I have myself ? I set a good example still own one car despite I financially afford to have another one .

Sorry, it was a general statement. Because it seems there are quite an angst against more wealthy people. Not meant for you only.

If one is happy with 1 car then so be it, good. But different people different perspective, priorities and needs.

Some of them is for kids or parents. Or maybe 1 for sporty drive, another for wife errands etc etc. Okay what.. they can afford, go ahead. Those cannot afford, will continue to make noise. Next time they can ask govt. for a condo too [cool]

Do you really think that the Gahmen who has been in the COE business for 25 years still can't figure out how the game of maximising revenue from car taxes works?

If they ever let COE prices collapse to $2 or even to $20,000, what would people think of the Gahmen and the COE system. It's like having your CPF retirement savings reduce to pennies, like what happened to Russia when the Soviet Union collapsed in the 1990s.

I trust the Gahmen to keep COE prices stable, but please keep fluctuations to less than $1000. I would rather that the Gahmen fix the COE prices every quarter (like MAS setting forex exchange rates) instead of an auction system. In this way, fluctuations can be kept small.

If the dealers are out of the equation, even the car buyers themselves cannot be trusted to bid sensibly. Keeping within a band of $1,000 is unrealistic.

Making money out of COE is incidental to LTA.

Government should introduce one address one car registration only ... this is to avoid rich people from buying too many car to keep .

You know what will happen with this? Rich people with multiple properties will sell their excess car quotas to others with premium even higher than COE.........rich becomes richer, poor becomes poorer.

A better idea would be to apply ABSD to car ownership.

Citizen 1st car no ABSD, 2nd car COE+10%, etc etc

Foreigner 1st car COE+10%, 2nd car COE+20%, etc etc

Haha........just playing along.......

You know what will happen with this? Rich people with multiple properties will sell their excess car quotas to others with premium even higher than COE.........rich becomes richer, poor becomes poorer.

A better idea would be to apply ABSD to car ownership.

Citizen 1st car no ABSD, 2nd car COE+10%, etc etc

Foreigner 1st car COE+10%, 2nd car COE+20%, etc etc

Haha........just playing along.......

Same IC of course can't have the second car .

own IC = 1 car

wife IC = 1 car

FIW = 1 car

MIW = 1 car

children IC = 1 car

if necessary maid = 1 car ... muahahaha ... just kidding la ... you get the point

having a policy targeted the richies is pointless la

rich means rich ... they can buy anything they want ... they have the power and mean

just like people move to million dollar property next to elite school in order to try their luck .... trying only hor ... not sure can enter yet

Same IC of course can't have the second car .

Every couple of months I see news of new Coes to be added or addressed with degistrations in the process or anticipated and everyone seems [bounce1] . The minute it falls everyone is on "standby" position and it goes up again then it loses steam and goes down and again the whole cycle goes on and on .This news makes headlines everytime in forums and great mathematicians come up with incredulous numbers and able to see thru the crystal ball.

At least we know the govt. is not vote buying by increasing Coes to appease the population (populist moves) but at the same time many will be unhappy with not being able to secure coes at such high prices that they may decide to vote otherwise (maybe)... don't know whats gonna happen. But of course sanity will prevail and people are still stuck in trains like sardines and buses are quite full at peak hours still. But this situation happens in any major city. Only big problem is the Cat C which has seen big swings... businesses will pass back the cost to the consumers eventually ... talk about low inflasi in Singkapore everytime with sexititics and low interest rates etc.... I remember my soft sweet toffu bowl used to be 70 cents 1 year back and now its 80cents... at my regular hawker centre ; and even our motorbike friends whom are doing errands doing small deliveries also will be affected quite badly too . This 2 cats definetely need help. Govt never talk about rentals of commercial/factories premises going down ever!! even though many in the residential premises have gone down quite substantially . Haiz! [speechless]

Not sure how the govt can help, cut A & B and reallocate to C?

I am hearing a lot of small business owners kpkb about Cat C COE. The wanton mee seller near my place is calling it quit after his van's COE expires next year, he said he can't do it without private transport and he don't want to work for LTA. haha....