How to own a new Merc C class?

Submarine82

On 3/30/2015 at 4:17 PM, tyco_kia said:

You need to earn at least 6 to 8k a month to afford a C Class. As for what job, sales job typically can get you there. Either that or banker, senior manager etc.

Not enough lah....No much saving left..

On 3/30/2015 at 3:40 PM, Vhtfhwlego said:

Brand New C-Class probably cost $30k per year.

Income should be $150k per year.

I am giving an estimate of total running cost including depreciation.

Only constructive comments please.

If not there is only a dead end to this discussion and thread will be locked.

On 3/30/2015 at 1:56 PM, Submarine82 said:

Hi All,

I am driving Hyundai Getz now. Its COE is due in one year time.

I am 33 years old and earning $4k per month.

I am car enthusiast and I wish to own a new Merc C class in the near future.

Do you think it is possible to own a new Merc C class at my current salary level?

If not, what should I do?

Any kind soul please advice me...

you should buy a BMW 5 series.

On 3/31/2015 at 2:16 AM, BabyBlade said:

Maybe this thread should be locked.

There will not be any constructive comments since the income gap is so huge.

On 3/31/2015 at 2:16 AM, BabyBlade said:

Boss, don't lock leh. This thread is interesting. Maybe move it to TCSS folder lor.

On 3/31/2015 at 3:04 AM, Davidtch said:

Maybe this thread should be locked.

There will not be any constructive comments since the income gap is so huge.

For the first time ... I sapport David.

I not smart enough to give constructive comments on the topic....

Please lock the thread.

On 3/31/2015 at 1:55 AM, Civic6228 said:

Got Master degree and only earn 4 k a month .....

You have wasted your money.

Depends on what master deg u have....

Many fresh MEng or MSc earn around that amt.

Some employers think master is a liability

On 3/30/2015 at 4:08 PM, Submarine82 said:

I am just thinking to buy but not going to buy.

Most likely, I will renew 5 years COE for my current car.

I just want to know how much should I earned to afford a C class.

What job that can own a C class?

OK, if you are not trolling. I think you yourself know that a car is a big expense in SG. If you want my opinion, you should only buy a 150-200k type car if you already have a property (fully paid if you stay in it, over 50% paid if you rent it out) and can still save 2k+ a month after ALL expenses including income tax and still have a six figure sum in liquid assets for emergencies. That's my opinion.

As for what job, I can't answer. You need to know your own skillset and passion and what is available out there.

Edited by Ake109

On 3/31/2015 at 2:09 AM, Wt_know said:

btw, i got many resume ah tiong and ah neh engineer already asking $5k to $6k ...

Please pm me where I can apply.

Thanks.

  On 3/31/2015 at 3:34 AM, Chowyunfatt said:

Rent the C Class for 1 year to relieve the itch ... after that, move on ...

Your suggestion is .... very constructive [laugh] [laugh]