Personal Opinion of a Malaysian Columnist About Singapore

2BDriver

He looks very familiar. Reminds me of someone famous.

Sorry sorry the one on the right is far better looking

and way more intelligent.

post-23002-0-47920700-1427717010.png

post-23002-0-81562300-1427717213.jpg

Lets face it, any kind of negative views by forigeners against Singapore, no matter how pausible, are going to be meet with negative reactions.

However having said that, he did not help heimself when he called Singapore Kiasu-Land (trying to score points from Malaysian readers?), & the thought of the possibility of 911 bombing as funny!

It's just a man's opinion and probably he just not used to the pace of life here.

We are extremely grateful that the SG dollars is currently healthy and has enabled us to help with the economy further north too.

We are also thankful that we are safe here and yes, it is not taken for granted. We are alert and vigilant that no green eyed monsters, I mean people who wish to start us with another kpkb syndrome. It is a deadly syndrome that drips discontent into the heart of a carrier and the person eventually dies from heart poisoning....symptoms?

Me I myself and woe woe is me I myself. And a stinking mouth from constant complaining as well as a super grouchy appearance machiam all owe him a living.

Cure: drink more glasses of gratitude and open eyes big big to enjoy the trees... Heard it is very calming to the soul.

Hehe..... Just a personal opinion from a simple but thankful Singaporean.

Safe ride guys

Lets face it, any kind of negative views by forigeners against Singapore, no matter how pausible, are going to be meet with negative reactions.

However having said that, he did not help heimself when he called Singapore Kiasu-Land (trying to score points from Malaysian readers?), & the thought of the possibility of 911 bombing as funny!

But it is true the no. 1 trait of Singaporeans is our kiasu-ness. It makes us work harder to beat the competition. But I don't agree with his statement that we strategically slowdown our work so that we can all work till 9 pm everyday, we are just very overworked (also depends on the industry).

Perhaps our kiasu and kiasi mentality also mean we take longer to think and work through any project of importance.

But it is true the no. 1 trait of Singaporeans is our kiasu-ness. It makes us work harder to beat the competition. But I don't agree with his statement that we strategically slowdown our work so that we can all work till 9 pm everyday, we are just very overworked (also depends on the industry).

Perhaps our kiasu and kiasi mentality also mean we take longer to think and work through any project of importance.

Actually other country are equally kiasu. Kiasuism isn't uniquely Singapore.

As for strategily slow down. Maybe this is what his friend who came to Singapore to work do.🙊🙊🙊

Come on, he come to earn SGD and he expect to work 8 hrs a day??

He must be joking, ask him to wake up his idea.

Just to clarify, I am not commenting on his point that Singaporeans are Kiasu or not. I am saying you shouldn't use improper (often negative) name like Kiasu-land. The same disapproval of some of people refer to Malaysia as Bolehland, Philippines as Pinoy-land, USA as Cowboy-land etc.

These are terms you use in Kopi shop (if use at all), not in an article.

I don't think KS syndrome is exclusive to singaporeans. After all, we have a shared history with malaysia, and I guess many of our traits, food, culture, etc. can be traced back to malaysia.

For sure I know several malaysians who are working here. One will almost always take up local citizenship, while the other remains malaysian - all the better to have the best of both worlds. And their children will not be disadvantaged when schooling here and all.

They strive to make sure their children top their classes, going for tuition, aiming for the best schools, etc. If that's not KS, then what is?

This columnist can write so much, but he fails to mention that whatever he appreciates about life in malaysia... he is just a 2nd class citizen there.

I think he knows he is 2nd class citizen in his own country of birth, but perhaps he feels that is a worthwhile trade-off?

Edited by Sosaria

Actually other country are equally kiasu. Kiasuism isn't uniquely Singapore.

As for strategily slow down. Maybe this is what his friend who came to Singapore to work do.🙊🙊🙊

Whatever you term it, whether it is our desire to win, to strive for excellence and to be competitive, I think it has become embedded in our culture. Even my kid in school is telling his classmates he don't study much but at home, it is another story. Not that I am proud of it. [laugh]

In other countries, it might be a culture inherent in the elite or middle class, here even the average Joe is kiasu (afraid to lose and wants to win all the time). It is not uniquely Singaporeans but definitely more widespread than in places (outside of Singapore) I have been or people I have worked with.

I don't think KS syndrome is exclusive to singaporeans. After all, we have a shared history with malaysia, and I guess many of our traits, food, culture, etc. can be traced back to malaysia.

For sure I know several malaysians who are working here. One will almost always take up local citizenship, while the other remains malaysian - all the better to have the best of both worlds. And their children will not be disadvantaged when schooling here and all.

They strive to make sure their children top their classes, going for tuition, aiming for the best schools, etc. If that's not KS, then what is?

This columnist can write so much, but he fails to mention that whatever he appreciates about life in malaysia... he is just a 2nd class citizen there.

I think he knows he is 2nd class citizen in his own country of birth, but perhaps he feels that is a worthwhile trade-off?

These are the competitive ones (不是猛龙不过江) but just go visit their kampongs and smaller cities and you will understand their tidak apa attitude (sorry, I don't mean to put Malaysians down but they are definitely more relax about life and workand that may be why they are happier than the grumpy Singaporeans).

M'sians in Malaysia can afford to relax coz their country have the land mass and natural resources like oil palm and water. For us of course we got to strive on being efficient coz I mean just look around, we have to import every resources including food. Now that we are self-sufficient on drinking water we have one less thing to worry.

I can't help but think the authur is taking things for granted. But not everyday is Sunday. Take the floods for example. Just one night and the floods can take away their homes and everything. Food and drinking water become scarce and ppl starting to loot supermarkets. If one day M'sia looses their resources overnight you can imagine what will happen. It's sad that young ppl over there take so many things for granted and still got the cheek to voice their 2 cents worth of opinion on others and not opening eyes to see a bigger picture.

was really too bad our ironman cannot make it a Malaysian Malaysia... but was glad he made here a Singaporean Singapore..

Malaysia always has these Malaysia vs Singapore article.. Go over there, once they know you're from singapore, comparison between the two country sure follows..

wah lau.....! Not many can take the heat in our red dot.......but its kinda true lar.....we worked like there is a ghost after us....run here run there.....we are so kiasu that we become kiasi!

To build a Nation in 50 years :o Borrowing SAF shoutings "On The Double" [:/][sweatdrop]

Not "kiasi" <_< It is "buay sai si" [smallcry]

To build a Nation in 50 years :o Borrowing SAF shoutings "On The Double" [:/][sweatdrop]

Not "kiasi" <_< It is "buay sai si" [smallcry]

everything comes to an end one day....buay sai si also will si one day!

So what happens if he works in Hong Kong?

Bugger will need to see a psychiatrist after working 3 months there?

Edited by Sabian

everything comes to an end one day....buay sai si also will si one day!

You stand by a nice eulogy write up for me ? Okay ? Please........delete all KNN..CCB........hor ! [laugh]

Edited by 2BDriver