Left 6mths before scrap, need to svc car?

SafeCar

Serviced Dec 14, replaced engine mount Feb 15, traded in car Mar 15. Sometimes I felt like I should have changed a lot of parts when my car was in its 7/8th year. Changed because I was thinking of holding out for cheaper COE but at 9.5 years old, time was running out. What to do.

Must siam Civic 1.7A also @LYC :D

y siam me :( haha. Engine nv service, brakes and safety part still got service, if it its in good condition hor.

You didn't service your car for 2 years and yet the car did not give you any problem??? Thinking it is proven the good reliability and quality of Toyota or it is that you are just very lucky?! Lol.

I should say it is "the good reliability and quality of Toyota" (Make in Japan).

I own that car for 9.5 years (160 km). It did not break down at all. I did not even change timing belt at 100 km. The engine mount is as original. In fact, I did not repair or replace any part beside wear and tear items such as tryes, engine old, filter, battery, spark plug, break pad.

I should say it is "the good reliability and quality of Toyota" (Make in Japan).

I own that car for 9.5 years (160 km). It did not break down at all. I did not even change timing belt at 100 km. The engine mount is as original. In fact, I did not repair or replace any part besides wear and tear items such as tryes, engine old, filter, battery, spark plug, break pad.

Edited by Kweechang

I service ($300) + repair ($3k claim) my car 1 month before I scrap it, the day which I also bought another car.

Reason to repair the car, because the other driver arrogant and I want to teach him a lesson.

Reason to service the car, since car in the WS for repair, might as well service it.

Reason that I scrap the car 1 month later? Because I was surfing Sgcarmart at the WS, found a good deal and went ahead for the purchase.

During then I own 2 cars therefore the scrapping of the first car is 1 month late.

Gosh reading this thread makes me feel guilty. My Tucson goes to the great scrapyard in the sky in 2 months time and its final service was June 2013, so for 2 years never touch it. Changed the 2 front tyres about a year ago when i realised they wouldnt last and checked the oil last month when the car went to KL for the weekend but still above MIN (just) so decided I could ignore that [:p]

Airbag light has been on for the last year or so and the front rollbar bushes are horribly worn and noisy but its been an ultra reliable car. In 10 years its done 175k km's and apart from a new aircon compressor around yr 6 or 7 just routine service + tyres and batteries, zero faults all the way...

Gonna get around $400 for the body and the service history makes zero difference to the price. Really dont understand the mentatlity of throwing good money after bad and paying to service something you are baout to throw away.....

Gosh reading this thread makes me feel guilty. My Tucson goes to the great scrapyard in the sky in 2 months time and its final service was June 2013, so for 2 years never touch it. Changed the 2 front tyres about a year ago when i realised they wouldnt last and checked the oil last month when the car went to KL for the weekend but still above MIN (just) so decided I could ignore that [:p]

Airbag light has been on for the last year or so and the front rollbar bushes are horribly worn and noisy but its been an ultra reliable car. In 10 years its done 175k km's and apart from a new aircon compressor around yr 6 or 7 just routine service + tyres and batteries, zero faults all the way...

Gonna get around $400 for the body and the service history makes zero difference to the price. Really dont understand the mentatlity of throwing good money after bad and paying to service something you are baout to throw away.....

I salute you. and those who can drive their car to the full 10years. never been able to do it in my 15years of driving and owned 11 cars to date, avg 2years change one time.

im sure ur altis served u well, dont b stingy left 6 mths of the life line

u also so calculative whether to service or not.......

give the car dignity..service it and let it RIP in style......

I rather give my wallet dignity and let it stay full and RIP

My Civic 1.7A due to scrap in 1 week time. Stopped servicing it since 11 months ago. So far covered 19k since last servicing. Fuel consumption only drop by +/- 5%. Other then that not much problem. Engine still running quiet and fine.

I was told by a workshop mechanics.. actually 10k change engine is over killed.. this 10k service has safety factor when designing a car. so he said even go up 15k is also fine, as long not more than 20k. and he also said even mileage not reached no need to service every 6mth. actually 1 year or 15k can do for more car. don't know true or not.

I salute you. and those who can drive their car to the full 10years. never been able to do it in my 15years of driving and owned 11 cars to date, avg 2years change one time.

I was told by a workshop mechanics.. actually 10k change engine is over killed.. this 10k service has safety factor when designing a car. so he said even go up 15k is also fine, as long not more than 20k. and he also said even mileage not reached no need to service every 6mth. actually 1 year or 15k can do for more car. don't know true or not.

I used to follow mileage instead of every 6 months. Mileage was low so my servicing done once every 8 to 9 months. Driving a vios, into its 11 years, no issue with the engine so far.

I thought the engine oil will 'harden up' after a certain period of time?

I do not know what you think but for some of us, I rather "throw" good money away for safety.

You do not know what possible outcome can result from a poorly maintained car. You are lucky this time, but it just take one moment, one chance, one possibility to cause a permanent loss.

I would think my life and my passengers' life is worth that few hundred dollars. Penny wise pound foolish.

I not sure if it is true. But i do notice a slight drop in the fuel efficiency and engine less willing to rev up as fast. Other then that, nothing much happens. Engine still sound the same, no excessive vibrations or noise either.

Seriously, you can do a oil + filter change for under $50 (check Groupon) and I'm sure that doesn't put a huge dent on your pocket as a car driver in Singapore. The potential damage from not changing the oil for 2 full years, despite it being close to scrap, far outweighs that wee bit you can well afford to fork out.

I can't believe car owners in Singapore can be so stingy!

believe me, our servicing interval here is generally kiasu kiasi overkill standard.

lliving abroad for a few years, I realised car owners don't really pay too much attention to 10k intervals etc in other parts of the world.

worn bushes..mountings etc is pretty normal i'd say.

cars elsewhere are so much cheaper, if follow strictly to 10k plus just a couple of 'major repairs' and we're better off with a new vehicle.

other than the fact that climate here is hotter, there's really no need to worry too much about overdued servicing etc.

when I was working in Perth in 2007~2009, I once sent my car for servicing when the 10K mark was up, but was sent away by the mechanic. when I asked why, he told me come back only when the mileage reaches 40K. when I said we are doing that for every 10K in S'pore, he smiled and replied "that's becos you guys are rich"....

In engineering something, there's this term called Safe Working Load (SWL) and Minimum Breaking Load (MBL).

Example: A crane's SWL is 5KG, but it can carry 20KG. If it carries 20.1KG, it will break. The SWL is to ensure longevity and safety of usage. Similar thing should apply for cars.

No need to zhun zhun 10K service, even though manual says so. Plus, going to scrape, if your mileage is way below 10K and even at scrape, the projected mileage is 15+K, just drive it ba. Unless already got some weird sounds or weird handling. Though, if your mileage is already 15+K and still got 1/2 year to a year, just go service.

Afterall, servicing is about the cost of one full tank. Do it to save yourself the headache if you're really reliant on the car and cannot afford it to break due to lack of servicing.

when I was working in Perth in 2007~2009, I once sent my car for servicing when the 10K mark was up, but was sent away by the mechanic. when I asked why, he told me come back only when the mileage reaches 40K. when I said we are doing that for every 10K in S'pore, he smiled and replied "that's becos you guys are rich"....

We also have to consider our driving condition ... the amount of start/stop driving everyday compared to some other countries.

There is this infamous history about the E90 BMW, initially it was stated that oil change for every 25k but for Singapore, due to our weather and driving condition, it was recommended to change oil after every 12k.

We are not rich and OZ are never known to look after their cars.

Hi, my altis is due for servicing. Is servicing at jb cheaper? How much e cost? If i wan to do full servicing, wat it include? My altis is abt 9yrs old.

Wow, 40K. When Full Syn was first intro, it could do 20K, then for some unknown reason it drop to 15K and now reduced to 10K. Is the oil industry pulling a fast one on consumers?

Hi, my altis is due for servicing. Is servicing at jb cheaper? How much e cost? If i wan to do full servicing, wat it include? My altis is abt 9yrs old.

Planning to renew? if not just normal oil + oil filter will do. Maybe plugs if hard to start.

No point doing full if less den a year. Toyota is a gd car which can last with minimum servicing.