RIP Mr Lee Kuan Yew (Wear White/Black This Sunday?)

Thaiyotakamli

Australia parliament also mark tomorrow as official mourning for LKY.

I'm impressed. Other countries officially mourning for our leader.

i am very impressed by their gesture too. LKY really steady.

now then I know this was composed by Monteiro

Rani Singam and Jeremy Monteiro presenting a musical tribute at the Lying in State of the late Mr Lee Kuan Yew at Parliament House. The piece they performed was "One People, One Nation, One Singapore", a national song composed by Jeremy Monteiro in 1990.

Sibeh sian this week office got hit with a Sev 1 incident on Monday and have been doing close follow up work for the client.. Cannot even step away for an hour before someone from the senior management start asking for updates.. Damn insensitive lot of people.

It was real difficult. The grief amassing in my chest while having to deal with the client and pesky angmo from the US and FT local bosses, and that went on most of the week. At times I had to hold back my frustrations and anger at them.

Anyway, only managed to pay my deepest respect and tribute at the cc near my place yesterday..Even there I had to wait for around an hour.

Somehow the deep sense of grief came up and I actually teared looking at the photo on the board. When it was my turn to write, my mind somehow went blank, and only wrote simply Dear Sir, we will remember what you did for us forever, then left the chair for the lady behind me.

I was going through Facebook updates from the past days, and many aspects unknown about Mr Lee were shared

His demise is truly a loss for us, not just our family, country, but also the whole world.

RIP Mr Lee.

• Praise 12

now then I know this was composed by Monteiro

Rani Singam and Jeremy Monteiro presenting a musical tribute at the Lying in State of the late Mr Lee Kuan Yew at Parliament House. The piece they performed was "One People, One Nation, One Singapore", a national song composed by Jeremy Monteiro in 1990.

A great motivation song for our Nation indeed.

Anyway for those people who saw the speeches of Mr Lee,

I think most of these are consolidated at CNA's website

Here is the link - there are 4 in total of <LKY: In his own words> with different themes. I've watched 2 of them so far.

The Mandate to Rule and Rallying the people.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/specialreports/rememberingleekuanyew/videos

It's under browse videos -> documentaries

Watch the Mandate to Rule, the last 10mins plus of the video. It features Mr Lee at his famous election rally speech at Fullerton Square in 1980. Have to kowtow to him as a speaker, I thought anwar ibrahim and Bill clinton are incredibly charismatic speakers. But Mr Lee is nothing like that. He hammers you with his logic and actually tells you how he does things in his speeches. You can literally see the fire in his eyes...

We will never be able to see this kind of fire in the eyes in this current batch of politicians during the GE....

The fire in Mr Lee's eyes is what made us stand out and be considered as 1st world nation due to his fire passion for the good of Singapore....

Admired deeply ...

Forum Galleria giving out free LKY car sticker at the CP entry when I entered around 11am 28Mar.

Finally got one and stick to the car immediately.

Kudos to all big companies having such a great compassionate heart during this week.

Australia parliament also mark tomorrow as official mourning for LKY.

I'm impressed. Other countries officially mourning for our leader.

These are the countries we have close ties.

To be honest, I don't recall there are any other instance before, where other countries mark the passing on of another leader's countries with official half mast flag at their government buildings.

The last time a great leader passed away is Nelson Mandela. I don't think that even he, get half mast flag as a mark of respect from other countries.

Correction: Algeria marked the passing of Nelson Mandela with half mast flag.

Edited by Shull

We will never be able to see this kind of fire in the eyes in this current batch of politicians during the GE....

The fire in Mr Lee's eyes is what made us stand out and be considered as 1st world nation due to his fire passion for the good of Singapore....

Admired deeply ...

People call the young of today the strawberry generation. Nothing can be further from the truth if you see the competition and cost etc they need to contend with.

The real Strawberry are in today's PAP.

LKY and his generation of politicians (all factions) had to walk the streets and fight real fights to survive. Regardless of how we view their politics, they had real fire and dedication.

Roy (cpf fella) wrote a post http://thehearttruths.com/2015/03/20/my-thoughts-on-lee-kuan-yew-and-singapores-future/

it kind of touched a bit on this topic.

The new generation of leaders coming in the 90s.... The helicopter, civil servants, scholars etc etc had no idea what fire and walking the streets mean.

Instead of standing up in the face of adversity, they need to be persuaded with obscene goodies.

Today, people with fire in their bellies are the exception in pap. Can only imagine what lky thinks of them.

Edited by Playtime
  • Dislike 1

goes to show, it's all about the mind over body .not your everyday uncle [thumbsup]

Why this man queued twice for Lee Kuan Yewtumblr_inline_nlvd57bD6l1s072d1_500.jpg

Queuing up for hours under the scorching sun can be both mentally and physically draining for many people. However, many Singaporeans were willing to go through it for the late former prime minister Lee Kuan Yew.

But only a rare few would do it all over again so that they can pay their respects one more time.

Yahoo Singapore saw Shabbeer Ahmad bin Salleh Hussein on Friday while he was making his way into the priority queue at the Padang. The 75-year-old, who was wearing a bright pink shirt, long pants and a songkok on his head, arrived with a sling bag filled with snacks, a bottle of water in one hand and a fan in the other - all prepared for the long wait.

As he limped his way into the queue, Shabbeer, who arrived after performing his Friday prayers, explained to this reporter why he had come to see Lee Kuan Yew another time.

Speaking in Malay, he said, “I came on Wednesday to pay my respects to Mr Lee and wanted to say a prayer for him. But just as I was about to put my hands up and utter my prayers, I was asked to move along with the crowd towards the exit.”

He added, “I’m not satisfied, that’s why I’m here for a second time. Hopefully this time, I will get to say my prayers in full. And who knows, I might be back here again tomorrow.”

The friendly man went on to share how Mr Lee had touched his life.

“Mr Lee helped me a lot last time. Under his lead, I managed to get a job under the Workers’ Brigade scheme before they offered another one with the Housing Development Board. Back then, it was called SIT (Singapore Improvement Trust).”

He said, “I don’t think I would have that opportunity under Lim Yew Hock (Singapore’s chief minister from 1956-59), which is why I will always be grateful.”

Shabbeer spoke about how Mr Lee was very responsive to his citizens’ needs, and that it would only take a week for an appeal to be addressed.

“Before him, it was difficult to get things done. You send an appeal, the government will say ‘yes’, but I won’t see results.”

“He’s a great man, there’s no one like him.”

- by Nurul Azliah

A friend forwarded this message in a whatsapp group chat. Commentary by a girl. It's a long one but worth reading. Sums up the crowd well.

By Yvonne

This is Singapore.

We check online for the estimated queue time. We whatsapp our friends and update our Facebook on the unbelievable queue duration. We complain about how long the queues are. We grumble about the scorching sun and the endless sweating. We feel frustrated by not being able to find the start of the queue, not being able to see the end of the queue. We hear about people who start queuing at 3am or 4am and wonder: "these people no need to sleep meh?"

But

We don't mind queuing, even if the website says 8 hours, or even 10 hours. We queue in an orderly and patient manner. We say "thank you" to the abundant supply of mineral water, yogurt drinks and fruit juices. We share umbrellas with strangers. We help to clear the path for the wheel chaired bound. We smile at the efficient officers on duty, always ready to give a hand. We shake the hands of the Ministers and MPs who are there to say "thank you", and feel there is really nothing to thank us for. We do not mind even if we can only file past the coffin, with only a few seconds to bow, salute or say a silent prayer, after queuing for hours. We leave Parliament House, with a tinge of sadness, yet feeling glad that we came.

Some of us queue because we feel the need to pay our last respect to such a great man. Some of us queue because "everyone is doing it". Some of us just want to be part of history. Some of us feel the loss of Mr Lee, as painful as the loss of our own loved ones. Some of us did not really know of Mr Lee's contributions until the last few days. Some of us still don't fully understand some of the impact of his legacy. Some of us have never imagined we would tear at the TV news, documentaries, news reports, YouTube videos or even reading Facebook feeds while in the MRT, at a man most of us have never met.

Some of us have never thought about what Mr Lee had done. Some of us never bothered reading up on him or took any interest before in Singapore’s history. Some of us have never felt like we really admire him. Some of us will never fully understand the extent of his contributions for Singapore, especially on the international front. Some of us are skeptical about equating Singapore's success to just one man's vision or contribution, and wonder how the other old guards or their families would feel..

Some of us are simply amazed at how Singapore had produced such a man, and in another sense, how this man had produced Singapore. Some of us never thought we would say "I love you" to him or a "thank you", or even shed tears for him. Some of us feel compelled to be in black or white or dull colours at this period, even if we are not going to queue. Some of us pen our condolences messages in English, some in Chinese, Malay or Tamil, some in a mixture of these languages, which some say is a result of the bilingual policy. Some of us grow up reading online about some of the most controversial things he had done.

Some of us grow up with the notion that being critical of government policies, the PAP or Mr Lee, shows that we have a mind of our own. Some of us can only remember him as an authoritative man who stands no nonsense, and that one has to be careful about what you say or write of him, or risk receiving a lawyer’s letter. Some of us, for our whole life, stand in fear of this man. Some of us are filled with indescribable awe. Some of us have always take the progress and success of Singapore for granted.

Some of us hear talks about the post-LKY era for the longest time. Some of us anticipate when would be the time that "lao Lee" would be gone. Some of us thought "freedom" would ensue when such a time came. Some of us don't really know what "freedom" we are talking about. Some of us feel conflicted at a time like this, some of us don’t know what or how to feel.

Some of us are PAP supporters, some of us are opposition supporters, some of us don't even care about politics. Some of us, despite the political differences, just want to shut off the online detractors, at a time like this. Some of us feel that a dead man, or any dead man for that matter, should be treated with due respect during the mourning period, and whatever else can wait. Some of us know we will never see another man like this, in Singapore’s history, and that leaves a profound sense of loss, grief and emptiness.

Some of us know life will go on, as practical Singaporeans, something has changed, but nothing has also changed. Some of us wonder if the current political holders are as dedicated or care as much about Singapore as Mr Lee did. Some of us wonder what instructions were left in the red box on 4 Feb 2015 before Mr Lee was admitted to SGH till his deathbed. Some of us wonder whether we ourselves have such a “red box” tucked somewhere within us, in our hearts. Some of us are inspired and wonder what we can do for Singapore, as a citizen, in whatever small measure. Some of us still cannot imagine that he is gone.

Mostly, we are impressed beyond words, by our fellow countrymen who came and bond together, and the unspoken heroes who provided drinks, cakes, bread, flowers and more along the queues. We are amazed by the quiet queues that just kept forming, and the quiet resilience displayed through a simple action like this. We are impressed by the seemingly seamless arrangements made by the authorities, and the amount of work and sleepless nights for those on duty.

We are touched by the love, care, respect and the wonderful "Singapore Spirit" displayed by Singaporeans, in this difficult time. A spirit we never really knew existed until now.

We did not practise this, nor did we choreograph this. It is just so simply...Singapore.

We have always been searching and asking about the Singaporean identity. This is it.

Fifty years ago, a man brought us together as one united people.

Fifty years later, he brought us together again, and we stand united as a nation.

This is Singapore.
This is Home.
And I am so proud of being a part of it.
Fruits for thought...

-_--_-

Admired deeply ...

the fire in his eyes were for the survival of Singapore,not meant to be first world at beginning.

you should read up on state of Singapore at point of time when we were kicked out of Malaysia.

survival was the word.

many young punks now only know how to enjoy the life given to them by LKY.

any setback and curse Govt particularly LKY.

ungrateful is understatement.

put them in US and they are dead.

fire in his eyes because at the end of day he wanted us to go home instate of the coffin.

• Praise 12