inlinesix Hypersonic March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 What type of SUV? I am that close to discounting your above view on the E Class if normal SUV is able to allow you to "corner at higher than high speed". [laugh] What is normal SUV? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ictruall 5th Gear March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 What type of SUV? I am that close to discounting your above view on the E Class if normal SUV is able to allow you to "corner at higher than high speed". [laugh] heehee ,....so right, so right 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 What type of SUV? I am that close to discounting your above view on the E Class if normal SUV is able to allow you to "corner at higher than high speed". [laugh] I heard from reviews that the Porsche Macan does allow the driver to do that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissan833 5th Gear March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 (edited) the Benz E series never dissapointed me the least bit, all 4 of them over the last 20 years,....it only got better with each series, never broke down, extremely comfortable and the rest all,... and yes taking the corners too. ..........perhaps you just need to have the experience and know your car well enough to take it around the corners ....having staggered tyres does help somewhat if you need to corner at higher than high speeds. but with age, I into SUVs now I have driven quite a few cars, E-class variants both the saloon and cabriolet are just part of them. The rest handles themselves v well when you chuck it into the corner. Not the E class. Not to mention the faint "whurrr" sound when you accelerate, even slowly, sounding like a very refined diesel but you still get that sound. It's not what I call engine note. More like engine noise. But I can understand why one is so defensive of the brand. Just like my dad. Only drives Merc and think it's the best. Drive the whole range already except for the SUV ones, latest A and CLA series and most high end ones. Maybe you should drive competitor offerings like a Panamera (vs S class), Audi A6 or BMW 5er (vs E class), Audi TT or BMW Z4 (vs SLK) then you get what I mean, because honestly I have. No offence Edited March 19, 2015 by Nissan833 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 (edited) I have driven quite a few cars, E-class variants both the saloon and cabriolet are just part of them. The rest handles themselves v well when you chuck it into the corner. Not the E class. Not to mention the faint "whurrr" sound when you accelerate, even slowly, sounding like a very refined diesel but you still get that sound. It's not what I call engine note. More like engine noise. But I can understand why one is so defensive of the brand. Just like my dad. Only drives Merc and think it's the best. Drive the whole range already except for the SUV ones and latest A and CLA series. Maybe you should drive competitor offerings like a Panamera (vs S class), Audi A6 or BMW 5er (vs E class), Audi TT or BMW Z4 (vs SLK) then you get what I mean, because honestly I have. No offence Actually hor, I'm somewhat keen to consider the 5 series too. But heard from too many people it breaks down easily and/or have too many electronic issues that keep surfacing. Do you think this is true? Anyway I drove couple of Audis and I'm unimpressed with its handling esp at cornering. It is bad, way worse than Mercs. Not because I'm a supporter of Mercs. Edited March 19, 2015 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissan833 5th Gear March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 Actually hor, I'm somewhat keen to consider the 5 series too. But heard from too many people it breaks down easily and/or have too many electronic issues that keep surfacing. Do you think this is true? I tell you my family experience lah. It's only 1 car so not a true sample size. Within 1 month of collection from PML (523i F10), air con spoil. Go in workshop many times, unable to trace the fault, waste alot of time but no repair costs since under warranty. Air con still blowing warm air after awhile. Never had it past a year then sell already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 I tell you my family experience lah. It's only 1 car so not a true sample size. Within 1 month of collection from PML (523i F10), air con spoil. Go in workshop many times, unable to trace the fault, waste alot of time but no repair costs since under warranty. Air con still blowing warm air after awhile. Never had it past a year then sell already. Now even you tell me this, apart from a few of the cases I heard. think I will most likely stay away. I'm in sales and cannot afford to have car that keeps breaking down. very disruptive to my work Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 What is normal SUV? You very atas on cars, so my normal SUV is probably scrap metal to you. haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissan833 5th Gear March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 You very atas on cars, so my normal SUV is probably scrap metal to you. haha... For SUV handling, my 2 cents. One of my family member bought and drove a VW Tiguan 2.0TSI Sports for 6 month (upgraded soon after). I drove it quite a bit. Now my daily work horse is the latest Nissan Qashqai. Last time, I drove the Tiguan out, chuck it into the corner.. alamak going to flip already. Now the Qashqai's handling is better, more confidence inspiring. It handles like a hot hatch lol Now even you tell me this, apart from a few of the cases I heard. think I will most likely stay away. I'm in sales and cannot afford to have car that keeps breaking down. very disruptive to my work Regarding Audi, I am only familiar with TT and the recent A3 (almost bought one). The TT handles v well, power is good but practically is nil. I need to amputate my passengers' legs if they want to fit in the rear seats. The new one looks like from the TRON movie but at 270k or so, have better options. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 Actually hor, I'm somewhat keen to consider the 5 series too. But heard from too many people it breaks down easily and/or have too many electronic issues that keep surfacing. Do you think this is true? Anyway I drove couple of Audis and I'm unimpressed with its handling esp at cornering. It is bad, way worse than Mercs. Not because I'm a supporter of Mercs. I test drove the A6, the handling is behind the E. Quattro is better but is too pricey, so it is not a fair comparison. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 What is normal SUV? Every other SUV except the Macan ... 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 I test drove the A6, the handling is behind the E. Quattro is better but is too pricey, so it is not a fair comparison. Yes, even A4 I tried before and handling behind C class. Hence, I'm not convinced with Audi. I heard the Q5 maybe not bad (can give X3 a run for their money). Anyone tried? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 Every other SUV except the Macan ... 😂 Actually I have not test drove any Porsche SUVs, there is only 1 type of normal SUV I know, the suka suka flip type (it is just inherent in the high CG design), I called them normal SUV. No offence to SUV lovers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissan833 5th Gear March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 Yes, even A4 I tried before and handling behind C class. Hence, I'm not convinced with Audi. I heard the Q5 maybe not bad (can give X3 a run for their money). Anyone tried? I tried X6.. Big and bulky and the recent X4.. the X4 is so creamy smooth and nice even for the XDrive20i version. My next SUV hopefully. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 I tried X6.. Big and bulky and the recent X4.. the X4 is so creamy smooth and nice even for the XDrive20i version. My next SUV hopefully. Yes the X4 is surprisingly good. I really liked it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 I tried X6.. Big and bulky and the recent X4.. the X4 is so creamy smooth and nice even for the XDrive20i version. My next SUV hopefully. I like X4 too. but as it is so new, the prices will be cut throat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 Actually hor, I'm somewhat keen to consider the 5 series too. But heard from too many people it breaks down easily and/or have too many electronic issues that keep surfacing. Do you think this is true? Anyway I drove couple of Audis and I'm unimpressed with its handling esp at cornering. It is bad, way worse than Mercs. Not because I'm a supporter of Mercs. Look for @detach8. He drives PI 520d. For SUV handling, my 2 cents. One of my family member bought and drove a VW Tiguan 2.0TSI Sports for 6 month (upgraded soon after). I drove it quite a bit. Now my daily work horse is the latest Nissan Qashqai. Last time, I drove the Tiguan out, chuck it into the corner.. alamak going to flip already. Now the Qashqai's handling is better, more confidence inspiring. It handles like a hot hatch lol Regarding Audi, I am only familiar with TT and the recent A3 (almost bought one). The TT handles v well, power is good but practically is nil. I need to amputate my passengers' legs if they want to fit in the rear seats. The new one looks like from the TRON movie but at 270k or so, have better options. SUV is not meant to be driven that way except Macan/Cayenne. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissan833 5th Gear March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 Look for @detach8. He drives PI 520d. SUV is not meant to be driven that way except Macan/Cayenne. Ok sorry boss. I'll only do that in my Boxster. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...