Darryn Turbocharged March 15, 2015 Share March 15, 2015 This is a good read, and in light of CSI vigilantes I think there are lessons for all of us. http://mobile.nytimes.com/2015/02/15/magazine/how-one-stupid-tweet-ruined-justine-saccos-life.html?referrer=&_r=0 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic March 15, 2015 Share March 15, 2015 Lucky i dont have tweeter...nor do i use instagram. Nowadays i seldom post on fb which have no employers info and only the few in my fb knows where i worked.....next i think i will go live in a cave! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 15, 2015 Author Share March 15, 2015 Just remember....you dun need facebook or whatever to get caught in an off moment, out of context, provoked or whatever and then be on stomp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged March 15, 2015 Share March 15, 2015 Conclusion is...if you have no use for certain social media platform, then don't even have an account on it. You will never know who is watching Is there a real need to have twitter, Facebook, instagram, etc, etc? Would anyone lose their connection to the world if they don't have these accounts? I bet not. I think people need to draw a clear line between convenience and internet hazard and security. There is always a price to pay for convenience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged March 15, 2015 Share March 15, 2015 Conclusion is...if you have no use for certain social media platform, then don't even have an account on it. You will never know who is watching Is there a real need to have twitter, Facebook, instagram, etc, etc? Would anyone lose their connection to the world if they don't have these accounts? I bet not. I think people need to draw a clear line between convenience and internet hazard and security. There is always a price to pay for convenience. Deleting my MCF account NAOW!! Haha... I don't use certain social medium, but I do have an account there that I keep for seeing what happens, mostly. To answer your question, there's no real need for Twitter, FB, Insta or others. There's also no real need for computers, laptops, smartphone, etc. We really just need air, water, food and shelter. But those things that we have no real need for does improve our lives. So, I'd say, becareful of what you share, and becareful of who you share with. I see a lot of people using Facebook timeline to share things that should be just between two people. Couldn't a PM just work as well? No, what they're looking for is approval from others in the form of "likes" and "comments", the same way some MCF-ers like having praise points and hate having dislike points. Ultimately, social media is a tool. Just like a gun or a car. It can kill people, or it can help people. Just depends on the person using the tool. Cheers! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic March 15, 2015 Share March 15, 2015 moral of the story, STFU if one has nothing good to say 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 15, 2015 Share March 15, 2015 Times have changed, technology progressed but people remains the same The internet is the Colosseum in the Information Age 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byteslurve Supersonic March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 A lesson taught but a lesson never learn 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 The lesson is don't be an idiot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 The lesson is don't be an idiot.but....but....the modern social media makes a common docile man on the street becomes a social media narcassistic idiot! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 The lesson is don't be an idiot. I think the impt thing is to cut down on leaving internet footprints all over. It's actually better to be an observer and a lurker than an empty vessel just to announce your existence to the world with useless comments. Also if we must, make sure to leave comments that have some sort of maturity or being political correct. It may be boring but it's much safer than saying (eg: ccb ft! Fap fap fap... Etc ) At the moment it seemed amusing especially to the regular folks who get the meaning. But if referenced out of context can be seen as a offensive harassment. Note: Mockngbrd not saying you hor.. :p 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 (edited) but....but....the modern social media makes a common docile man on the street becomes a social media narcassistic idiot! not really, social media just helps to weed them out. ccb pap! Edited March 16, 2015 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 Deleting my MCF account NAOW!! Haha... I don't use certain social medium, but I do have an account there that I keep for seeing what happens, mostly. To answer your question, there's no real need for Twitter, FB, Insta or others. There's also no real need for computers, laptops, smartphone, etc. We really just need air, water, food and shelter. But those things that we have no real need for does improve our lives. So, I'd say, becareful of what you share, and becareful of who you share with. I see a lot of people using Facebook timeline to share things that should be just between two people. Couldn't a PM just work as well? No, what they're looking for is approval from others in the form of "likes" and "comments", the same way some MCF-ers like having praise points and hate having dislike points. Ultimately, social media is a tool. Just like a gun or a car. It can kill people, or it can help people. Just depends on the person using the tool. Cheers! Cos there is. If some people don't take a picture of what they are eating they will die. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 Social media is a tool of democracy it brings down dictators. Because of social media so many dictators fell like flies in the Arab Spring. If people are idiots and social media exposes them then take it as a lesson to improve their behaviour. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 not really, social media just helps to weed them out. ccb pap! hahaha.....social media is fast becoming the death of society......eh...how come pap suddenly comes into the picture. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 hahaha.....social media is fast becoming the death of society......eh...how come pap suddenly comes into the picture. Today then you know him har ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 Just be wiser from the lessons shared though I know there will always be some who thinks they are above all and can take whatever shaming that come their way. Privacy is a soon disappearing privilege and it's ironical that freedom of speech has a often forgotten side, freedom's brother is responsibility. Freedom comes with responsibility. Or should I say freedom comes with consequences. Share private thoughts with yourself. That's why it's called private. Loved ones may not always agree or understand those thoughts let alone total strangers. Written words can be easily twisted out of shape and misunderstood. Words can also be thoughtlessly penned without an iota of malice or poor joke.... we say never go through big brain. Nevertheless, dun be quick to judge and dun be a judge especially in the absence of full facts from all parties or angles. The bully always taste his/her own medicine sooner than later. Good to be busy but not a busybody.....life so short rather do more meaningful stuff like spending more time with loved ones and less time on these social platforms. I dun miss anything in the absence of these. No twitter or instagram. Facebook has been dead since sign up. I enjoy my privacy and will guard it as well as i can too. That's just me. I know that these platforms may be a really good way to keep in touch but just not for me. MCF already can liao because on the whole the folks here are humans not cowards. Safe ride Cheers 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byteslurve Supersonic March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 (edited) Social media is a tool of democracy it brings down dictators. Because of social media so many dictators fell like flies in the Arab Spring. If people are idiots and social media exposes them then take it as a lesson to improve their behaviour. nice explanations Edited March 16, 2015 by Byteslurve ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...