New 5th Generation Honda Stepwagon

Carbon82

Hi kmttan, vincar has a marooned coloured in sgcarmart which is a 8 seater version. Or you may indent one which takes about 3 to 4 months delivery time.

For the flip up seats, there is no need to remove items in the boot well. Bcos the seats are flipped up to the sides, thats what i mean. We hardly put things on the seat except cushions.

But boot well, i always put umbrellas, my steering wheel lock, jumpstart cables and one bottle of polish, toolkit ...hehehe..all these little things.

Wildaltum, I just went to Hup Long's fb page to verify, their silver G model has got double auto doors. The sgcarmart pics are for the unit from Autolink with only passenger side auto door.

Thanks for the detailed reply, I share a lot of your similar thoughts before deciding to book a Stepwgn. Very nearly a Toyota minivan owner if this model wasn't launched this year.

kmttan, the Stepwgn does come in 8 seater format but will have to be on indent basis as this isn't a high volume car like the vezel. Downside of that is a 3-4 mth wait, upside is that you can specify the colour variant that you want.

Hi kmttan, vincar has a marooned coloured in sgcarmart which is a 8 seater version. Or you may indent one which takes about 3 to 4 months delivery time.

For the flip up seats, there is no need to remove items in the boot well. Bcos the seats are flipped up to the sides, thats what i mean. We hardly put things on the seat except cushions.

But boot well, i always put umbrellas, my steering wheel lock, jumpstart cables and one bottle of polish, toolkit ...hehehe..all these little things.

ah...today, i am keeping those items at the center basin of the spare tyre. I guess that even for Triplets, these items will look very messy if they are not hidden away. In my previous Chrystal Grand Voyage, the third row also folds into a lobang, which I kept umbrellas. For small items, the seats can still fold down. So, it depends on the clearance of the lobang. Hope that SW won't have any issue.

I test drove the Biante.have to agree the skyactiv is very nice to drive.passengers also feedback good comfort.for stepwagn.no one drove it yet I guess...

But I still go for stepwgn bcos of the waku waku door.

Hope it's engine is good as well.

Noob question again - when the car arrive, need to send to LTA for inspection right? Normally it will be sent after all setup ( leather seat, HU, sensors, solar film etc etc) are completed? Or before that? And normally Lta inspection take how long?

Some info that I think it's worth to share with everybody - where do you prefer the rear sensor to be installed - On the rear door (since it has no bumper)? Or more towards the side? The picture in the Honda website shows its more towards the side.

post-162386-0-88724600-1441693946.jpg

post-162386-0-47616000-1441693958.jpg

Noob question again - when the car arrive, need to send to LTA for inspection right? Normally it will be sent after all setup ( leather seat, HU, sensors, solar film etc etc) are completed? Or before that? And normally Lta inspection take how long?

All accessories typically are installed before LTA inspection so as to cut down time.

As how long it takes, depends on number of cars. All PI cars needs to be inspected due to multiple sources which they get their car from Japan. Short is less than a month, long takes about 3 months.

Solar film are installed after the inspection to prevent misunderstanding between PI and LTA.

If you notice, all our collection for Stepwgn is about Nov for pioneer batch of owners.

Edited by Vinljp

I doubt there is English version since the car is only meant for Japan market currently. I asked before for Toyota sienta if to add the Toyota sense C (similar function), was quoted 1.5k. Toyota sienta is equipped with "multi information" display (in Japanese I guess) but Honda sensing still need to add on the multi-info display since the default variant does not come with it. So I guess will cost slightly more. My guess only. If anybody got the exact quotation can share here :)

Honda sensing - there is a function where the car can detect the sign board eg speed limit and adjust the speed accordingly. Dun think can be use here since the sign board are different. I feel it's a waste to install this function and part of it cannot be used.

Eh my bad. Stepwgn is also available in hk by the authorized dealer. Not sure if the Honda sensing is available there though...

Spada Cool Spirit cones with it according to my pi who is a car importer

Hmmm... According to the specs it's an optional item for all variant leh. Unless your PI add it in when he make the order? Btw, any PI bring in cool spirit? Interested to know the price (kaypo). Would it be close to 150k?

post-162386-0-94562200-1441699268_thumb.jpg

The 20th anniversary odyssey comes with Honda Sensing though yet to see anyone discuss if theirs manage to convert to english...will be problematic having to understand the words while toggling ACC LKAS etc...

Edited by Tayspiderx

For those make supplied to HK, since it is from authorized dealer I was hoping to see it come with original factory fitted head unit (in English), have the option to install the 360 camera, park assist etc and Honda sensing in English (same like Sg AD highest spec odyssey which comes with everything in English). But doesn't seems to have these option in their brochure, and I read their forum seems these options are not offered. So meaning although it's from their authorized dealer but it's actually exactly the same as what we are getting from our PI. A bit funny...

Comparing Stepwgn ad Biante:

Stepwgn cost the same as Biante

Stepwgn has lower road tax, which translate to $5280K saving over 10 years.

Stepwgn has better fuel efficiency,17km/L vs 13.5km/L, which means 20% saving in fuel cost, which is another $5K saving over 10 years.

Stepwgn has Honda's reliability and popularity among the worshops in SG.

Biante's 2nd row is more flexible.

Stepwhn's 3rd row is more flexible.

Stepwgn is PI...more scary.

Some thoughts:

Stepwgn has no rear bumper, and its door extends all the way down. This means that the long door cannot be opened sufficiently high enough to access the boot when parked against a wall in our MCP. Hence, the waku waku door is the only way to access the boot. Without the bumper, this car is very low, hence, passenger can actually enter and exit from the waku waku door.

Edited by kmttan

Problem without rear bumper could also mean a simple rear end will damage the waku waku door mechanism which may be costly as car is not a B&B car...thus insurance premium affected

Edited by Tayspiderx